View Poll Results: A18 Developer Diary

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • A18 Stable is Out!

    0 0%
  • 0 0%
Page 2097 of 2702 FirstFirst ... 10971597199720472087209520962097209820992107214721972597 ... LastLast
Results 31,441 to 31,455 of 40518

Thread: Alpha 18 Dev Diary!!

  1. #31441
    Fun Pimps Staff faatal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2,232
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by MajorMunchy View Post
    I think it may be because i have an AMD CPU, heard Intel works wonders better with unity over AMD Processors
    I have a Ryzen 1800x. Works just fine with Unity. Do you have a pre Ryzen CPU?

  2. #31442
    Fun Pimps Staff faatal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2,232
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by agrastiOs View Post
    Snakes are kind of hard to hit, however, and they clip a lot into blocks, not sure if this is a bug so not putting in a bug report about this.
    Not really a bug, but a limitation of how their animation moves, yet the snake has to be close to the ground. He ain't got no legs!

  3. #31443
    Colony Founder Odetta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    The Wonka Factory
    Posts
    1,237
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    That was the idea. I figured brawlers are going to get hit a lot so I made it more viable with this design.
    I never get hit using fists. You wait until they swing first then close the gap and wail on them. I also power hit their legs and the fall every time.
    left left right hook. Even runners and ferals can't touch me. I noticed on youtube though that peoples aim is way off. You should be focused on the crosshairs not the zombie. I might make a video showing techniques so you can fight safely and effectively.

  4. #31444
    Navezgane's Perv SnowDog1942's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,882
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    Probably a gig of unstreamed textures just sitting there clogging up space. I'm still finding lots of them. I can't believe we missed this. Anyhow low hanging fruit!
    It happens. Just get me that patch before I do something drastic like peel the tag off my mattress that explicitly says "Do Not Remove".

  5. #31445
    Fun Pimps Staff madmole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    16,233
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Infected226 View Post
    Hurry up with this update i want to leave my base again.
    Two LOL's from you in a couple of days. Keep it up!

  6. #31446
    Fun Pimps Staff faatal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2,232
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Syrex View Post
    The settings that i have finalized to both in game and nvidia's globals (mine is a 2070), that work for me now ThAnKs to some members from the community/forums, helped get me to more than i expected fps (~90). Admittedly i started with 4k res which was causing issues in the snow biome at night 8-12 fps, I reduced to 2k and that similar night setting, improved a bit (20-24fps) , and lastly lowered to 1080p (with applicable settings) -- if this helps anyone great, otherwise my apologies for extra text. And just so Faatal sees i took his advice with the texture streaming this alpha LOL..

    Back to gaming
    Thanks for the info.

  7. #31447
    Colony Founder wolfbain5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    pimple on the ass end of texas
    Posts
    2,657
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarod_Silverstar View Post
    Tissues? Get this man a bath towel, stat!!
    nah, a tissue will more than cover his

  8. #31448
    Fun Pimps Staff faatal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2,232
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Anthonydevidal View Post
    I am answering.


    I have a computer with which I played at 16.4 and it did not work with 17 or 18 and I am not here giving the wand, I hope they solve it, to see if the only one with problems is going to think
    Can you describe "did not work"? Did not launch? Crashed? Bad FPS? Error message spam?

    Giving us your log file will let us see some of what is going on.

  9. #31449
    Colony Founder wolfbain5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    pimple on the ass end of texas
    Posts
    2,657
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    Maybe, I 'll need to think about it. In the meantime I've added steel harvesting to safes, street lights some containers and that power pole thing with transformers on it.
    actually, this compromise is a decent stop gap til rngesus sends you some trader love. would suggest adding steel to the hoist as well. that is a solid piece of metal

    better than snowdog love tho. your choice
    Last edited by wolfbain5; 4 Weeks Ago at 08:52 PM.

  10. #31450
    Reconstructionist unlike them's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Яussia
    Posts
    731
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    You buy a mature rated game from "The Fun Pimps" and get offended?
    Aww, that's a good one!

  11. #31451
    Inventor Trankitas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    819
    Rep Power
    1
    MM have you thought on giving Time charges the same explosion that grenades have? They look kind of under-powered IMO

  12. #31452
    Colony Founder JCrook1028's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    TB area Florida
    Posts
    1,092
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    I think they do, but it takes about 4 forges running most of a day to get a screamer.
    I have one forge and 3 torches at my base. I got a screamer after 40mins forge time(at 120min days). Just for info

  13. #31453
    Fun Pimps Staff madmole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    16,233
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Ti2xGr View Post
    So,

    Madmole - Can you make a new post/thread with specific tweaks to video settings on NVidia and AMD cards, and in the game that are currently helping users with frame rates/performance please? I have been going through the game settings (RWG) and trying specific things to help determine what is nerfing frame rates so bad and already posted in the bug section on it. I have just adjusted some of my settings based upon what I've been reading in the general discussion and this thread. I'd like to filter out what "really" helps from fiction. Do you have a confirmed list of tweaks we can make to help out the stability while your team is working on actual fixes?

    Appreciated in advance
    I'd rather focus on the software than work arounds. Faatal is making ground with terrain and I found hundreds of textures that were not streaming so they were just eating vram, which is why *most* everyone is bottlenecked when they look at terrain. I'm sure some users can post some known workarounds, you can start a thread if you like but this problem should be resolved very soon. I've found hundreds of textures that were not streaming and eating up full vram constantly, so I expect some serious improvements in the next patch.

  14. #31454
    Ranger Ti2xGr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    320
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    I'd rather focus on the software than work arounds. Faatal is making ground with terrain and I found hundreds of textures that were not streaming so they were just eating vram, which is why *most* everyone is bottlenecked when they look at terrain. I'm sure some users can post some known workarounds, you can start a thread if you like but this problem should be resolved very soon. I've found hundreds of textures that were not streaming and eating up full vram constantly, so I expect some serious improvements in the next patch.
    Thank you for the response. If there is anything we as a community can do to help you bug fix faster, don't hesitate to ask. I don't mind going through detailed testing on anything if it helps the cause.

  15. #31455
    Zombie Hunter
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Above dirt
    Posts
    474
    Rep Power
    1
    Game day 26, still have not found a desert biome. This really sux because the biomes.xml indicates oil shale has zero chance of spawning anywhere but desert biome. All the other ores have a small chance to spawn in non-preferred biome, why not oil shale?

    How about a small chance of spawning oil shale, at least in the burnt forest if not all biomes.

    This going to bite folks and certainly biting here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •