Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Just finished a frustrating session with the electricity system. I have some requests

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0

    Just finished a frustrating session with the electricity system. I have some requests

    First off, overall I'm very much enjoying the electrical system. It's a great addition to the game and you've done kickass work with it. With that said, I have beef, mainly about the control circuits. (I have aesthetic quibbles about the wire spaghetti, but that's a small thing.)

    In my electrical horde base, I've got the zombies coming down a long hallway with dart traps at the end. I wanted to connect a series of pressure plates to the dart traps so that they would continue firing as the front line advanced down the hall. But that's impossible with the circuitry rules as they currently are. Currently, a device can only accept one connection from any kind of switch, which means each dart trap can only be controlled by a single trigger plate.

    Therefore, the main request: I would like to see the electrical system allow multiple switches to control a single device using logical OR rules: if any of the switches are on, then the device is on.

    And a couple of other, lesser requests spawned by the same session:

    I would also appreciate if the wire tool showed wires that were hidden from view while held. Making sense of the wire spaghetti can be plenty hard enough without also losing track of wires as they go through walls and devices. : D

    And at some point in the future, I really want multiplexers, or insulated wires, or something to let us run multiple sets of control signals down a single line of wire relays. Having a base coated in relays is so ugly that it makes me a sad panda.

  2. #2
    Inventor wordwaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    the way you are trying to engage poo is counter productive.
    Posts
    869
    Rep Power
    1
    a) because wires can be run through blocks, you can dig a tunnel underneath your electrical things to hide wires.

    b)use a motion sensor instead

  3. #3
    Inventor KingSlayerGM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    962
    Rep Power
    1
    An OR gate is the first thing I asked when A16 came out. It turned out that they actually thought about it and it is already in the game!! It is called "passthrough triggering" and there is an specific entry in this in the "tips" tab of the game.
    This is how you should connect your devices:

    GENERATOR ------> PRESSURE_PLATE_1 ------> PRESSURE_PLATE_2 ------> DART_TRAP

    In this example just one of the pressure plates is enough to trigger the trap. I know, it is counter intuitive, but once you get the hang of it, it really simplifies things a lot.



    Seeing wires behind and inside walls while you are holding the wiretool seems a pretty good idea, as long as you cant see someone's else wires. (for PvP reasons)

  4. #4
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Woden View Post
    First off, overall I'm very much enjoying the electrical system. It's a great addition to the game and you've done kickass work with it. With that said, I have beef, mainly about the control circuits. (I have aesthetic quibbles about the wire spaghetti, but that's a small thing.)

    In my electrical horde base, I've got the zombies coming down a long hallway with dart traps at the end. I wanted to connect a series of pressure plates to the dart traps so that they would continue firing as the front line advanced down the hall. But that's impossible with the circuitry rules as they currently are. Currently, a device can only accept one connection from any kind of switch, which means each dart trap can only be controlled by a single trigger plate.

    Therefore, the main request: I would like to see the electrical system allow multiple switches to control a single device using logical OR rules: if any of the switches are on, then the device is on.

    And a couple of other, lesser requests spawned by the same session:

    I would also appreciate if the wire tool showed wires that were hidden from view while held. Making sense of the wire spaghetti can be plenty hard enough without also losing track of wires as they go through walls and devices. : D

    And at some point in the future, I really want multiplexers, or insulated wires, or something to let us run multiple sets of control signals down a single line of wire relays. Having a base coated in relays is so ugly that it makes me a sad panda.


    I have about 20+ hours just in wiring my base and still not done, I have found so far that the lighting needs major fixing, it causes major lag spikes with many lights and Trigger Plates, if you want to see some complex wiring jump on the server I play on I'll show you..
    Server: Addicts For Blood
    Last edited by Necrophobic; 08-12-2017 at 09:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Colony Founder Vedui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1,155
    Rep Power
    1
    As highlighted already, you can chain multiple sensors, pressure plates and trip wires with passthrough triggering.

    Plate 1 --> plate 2 --> plate 3 --> trap works fine, either plate being stepped on will activate.

    It does mean you have to use a relay in between to interrupt, if you want to do something like motion sensor (zombie) --> Pressure plate --> trap and only activate if it was a zombie in view... stick a relay in between such as motion sensor --> relay --> pressure plate --> trap

    It's a bit clunky, but it generally works fine

    /Vedui - Tutorial: A16 Auto Turret

  6. #6
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    43
    Rep Power
    0
    I've been experimenting and can't find a way of using Passthrough Triggering to let me do the following:
    Have a Trip wire/Trigger plate that activates trap, while also having a manual override switch to activate trap. This is in case the trip wire/trigger plate is destroyed (curse exploding cops!).

    Any ideas for a solution?

  7. #7
    Colony Founder Vedui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    1,155
    Rep Power
    1
    I don't think you can no.

    What I would like to see possibly is to separate "power" from "triggers" ... ie, you can wire everything up for power however you want, but then each item can take x number (3-5 or whatever) of trigger inputs. Not only would it make it much cleaner to run power wires, you could then easily have different types of triggers for each trap. A pressure plate, a manual switch, a sensor, at timers and delays as you choose, and it'd work nicely. After all, this is how IRL works. You don't connect your main power to an IR sensor which goes to you camera or alarm/speaker. You power everything. Then you hook up the inputs to the alarm, and the conditions for trigger.

    But, that's sadly not how the system is made up right now

  8. #8
    Reconstructionist ElCabong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    681
    Rep Power
    0
    Fix it so you only see the damn wires when you hold the tool. They are my pet peeve or the electrical system

  9. #9
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Somewhere Around LA - Nuke Bait
    Posts
    1,132
    Rep Power
    1
    * Show wiring through walls and powered items when a tool is held.
    * Ideally add a color aura to each powered item: Green aura for Well Powered. Red for Unpowered. Bonus Yellow aura when the power line or a power source is running at 90% capacity.
    * Let me use the wire tool on a Block directly and turn it into a "Wired block", only capable of powering a block touching it. OR. Let me turn a block into a Relay Block with a wire tool and a Relay item in my inventory. Then let me run wires from that block to another block. You know. Running wires through the walls. Like... a civilized person...
    Last edited by Jackelmyer; 08-23-2017 at 05:43 PM.

  10. #10
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    112
    Rep Power
    0
    really like Jackelmyer's idea's about the electricity, a "wired block" could just be marked with a black stripe on it, and a "relay block" could have the same black marking and a round shiny marker at the middle (or something) ..

  11. #11
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    6,820
    Rep Power
    1
    Oh look...

    It's another zombie....


    BOOM - Headshot!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •