View Poll Results: Developer Diary for Developers

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • Newly Updated

    0 0%
  • Check out the newest reveals by Madmole

    0 0%
  • Over 100 new perk books with set collecting and bonuses

    0 0%
Page 3300 of 3417 FirstFirst ... 2300280032003250329032983299330033013302331033503400 ... LastLast
Results 49,486 to 49,500 of 51254

Thread: Developer Discussions: Alpha 17

  1. #49486
    Survivor LilMissNorti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Wardronex View Post
    As far as the poi reset yes that is all true and TFP's did it for obvious reasons.
    I have never seen this... but you said it was on a server...
    Is it yours or run by someone else?
    I know there is a way to set a timer to reset areas.
    This might be why the cars respawn.
    Loot timers can only respawn loot from containers that are not destroyed.
    So resetting areas in a multiplayer game is the only way to ensure that those items will be there for all.
    Some items can only be wrenched from certain things like cars.<(at least that is how it used to work)
    still all and all it is still a prefered way to ensure everyone can possibly get what they want or need.

    Whether TFP's did this for MP IDK
    Sorry...
    I do know server admins had been doing it themselves for awhile
    The server is run by someone else (although I am part of a mod team on it), but I know that nothing had been set up to reset regions etc as this was something that was being discussed (we had a lot of "trees bugged at trader" issues that was considering resets prior to 17.1).

    Would be interested to find out from someone more 'in the know'...Bueller?

  2. #49487
    Ranger NukemDed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    nz
    Posts
    269
    Rep Power
    1
    community - how about if we find an error in syntax we quietly pm the devs so they can look at it and change the code as required. if they dont know they cant fix.
    devs - if there is a comma instead of a point that poxes stuff up how about we fix it, respond to the one who found it, give rep whatever, and quietly move on.
    we dont need to have #gate over typos
    i cant imagine how many lines of code you have to deal with. i know that everyone thinks differently therefore programs differently.
    if modders can remedy crossed wires then surely that can be incorporated into vanilla.
    at least if it is a known issue, chime in and tell us it is fixed.
    or is as designed.
    i could tell you some stories of 'by design' claims of jde developers who were speaking out their arse btw...

  3. #49488
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    127
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wardronex View Post
    As far as the poi reset yes that is all true and TFP's did it for obvious reasons.
    If the quest is in a local where it was already ransacked.
    I won't get into they shoulda or coulda done it this way or another way.
    Basically I think it was the easiest and quickest way to do it. so that's what they did.
    As far as cars respawning outside of this...
    I have never seen this... but you said it was on a server...
    Is it yours or run by someone else?
    I know there is a way to set a timer to reset areas.
    This might be why the cars respawn.
    Loot timers can only respawn loot from containers that are not destroyed.
    So resetting areas in a multiplayer game is the only way to ensure that those items will be there for all.
    Some items can only be wrenched from certain things like cars.<(at least that is how it used to work)
    still all and all it is still a prefered way to ensure everyone can possibly get what they want or need.

    Whether TFP's did this for MP IDK
    Sorry...
    I do know server admins had been doing it themselves for awhile
    There are car respawning mods even back on a16.4 and possibly even earlier. If you wrench a vehicle and then see a stone or some grass or something where the vehicles were then you are likely dealing with vehicle respawning mods. If you destroy the object left behind, the vehicle will not respawn.

  4. #49489
    Beloved Curmudgeon DaVegaNL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,939
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by beerfly View Post
    Don`t forget to throw a rock at the bouqet when the new wife throws it backwards for the single ones. Then run, just run.
    I'll just call a taxi.. running is not my thing!

  5. #49490
    Colony Founder JaxTeller718's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Ravenhearst
    Posts
    4,260
    Rep Power
    1
    What is this concern over breaking saves all of a sudden? Random Gen is in a terrible state and the sooner we get a nicer working one Im sure people will be ok with save breaking. Besides, who ISNT near mid - end game by now ANYWAY?

    Is save breaking concerns going to hold up ALL updates from here on out?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by NukemDed View Post
    community - how about if we find an error in syntax we quietly pm the devs so they can look at it and change the code as required. if they dont know they cant fix.
    devs - if there is a comma instead of a point that poxes stuff up how about we fix it, respond to the one who found it, give rep whatever, and quietly move on.
    we dont need to have #gate over typos
    i cant imagine how many lines of code you have to deal with. i know that everyone thinks differently therefore programs differently.
    if modders can remedy crossed wires then surely that can be incorporated into vanilla.
    at least if it is a known issue, chime in and tell us it is fixed.
    or is as designed.
    i could tell you some stories of 'by design' claims of jde developers who were speaking out their arse btw...
    Yeah, these things HAVE been reported. And they are STILL broken. What more can people do? Harass them to look at something that's been posted?

  6. #49491
    Fun Pimps Staff Gazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    In your brains. Thinking your thoughts.
    Posts
    8,630
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by dcsobral View Post
    I've got a request to make... can you PLEASE add rotations to wooden signs
    I did last week.


    Quote Originally Posted by Gareee View Post
    I just hope this means we have rivers and bridges in the next update.
    What? No way?
    Bridges first, then maybe rivers in A18.


    Quote Originally Posted by NukemDed View Post
    community - how about if we find an error in syntax we quietly pm the devs so they can look at it and change the code as required. if they dont know they cant fix.
    Clockwork Orange has a topic for this.

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...cial-XML-Fixes

  7. #49492
    Leader Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    6,246
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by LionsDen View Post
    There are car respawning mods even back on a16.4 and possibly even earlier. If you wrench a vehicle and then see a stone or some grass or something where the vehicles were then you are likely dealing with vehicle respawning mods. If you destroy the object left behind, the vehicle will not respawn.
    here along for the A17 Modlet
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...l=1#post924171
    Car respawner
    Boulder respawner
    (Release soon) Stuff respawner (Animal Gore piles, Trash bags, Bird nests over cross)
    Last edited by Royal Deluxe; 01-25-2019 at 01:14 PM.

  8. #49493
    Colony Founder The Gronk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,778
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    I've been wanting flat bridges for a while. We have 2 tasks for this improvement tagged as A17 must fix, but don't know when it will be addressed. I think there are issues with breaking saves. Maybe the new RWG can address this, since I know Kinyajuu is working on roads/bridges over water this week.
    We're told to wipe saves during experimental anyway. People complaining about broken saves from using worlds generated in a previous experimental or alpha have often been given short thrift around here.

    The only problem I can really see is a Nave world where a bridge is half-spawned on one save and the rest is spawned on another. Given how small Nave is and how far apart the bridges are that should be within tolerable limits.

  9. #49494
    Colony Founder The Gronk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,778
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by JaxTeller718 View Post
    Yeah, these things HAVE been reported. And they are STILL broken. What more can people do? Harass them to look at something that's been posted?
    I love the smell of pessimism in the morning, smells like JaxTeller... :-)

    It might be an idea to move towards a more formal and organized bug reporting system. The current system of a rambling thread that gets reset every release is swiftly becoming more of a hindrance than a help.

    Let's not pretend the game is closed-source. It's certainly proprietary but anyone who gets serious into modding eventually works out how to decompile DLL's. Gotta love commentless code. If people are going to provide you with free bugfixes I can see no sane reason why you wouldn't take advantage of that.

  10. #49495
    Fun Pimps Staff Gazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    In your brains. Thinking your thoughts.
    Posts
    8,630
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by The Gronk View Post
    We're told to wipe saves during experimental anyway. People complaining about broken saves from using worlds generated in a previous experimental or alpha have often been given short thrift around here.
    Yes, but the 17.0 experimental is over.
    It's a very reasonable expectation that a 17.0 -> 17.1 patch does not break your savegame.

  11. #49496
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    737
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by JaxTeller718 View Post
    Ah yes, but you see this is EXACTLY why i am NOT releasing it to the public. It will be In Ravenhearst when you get it yes, but since there has been radio silence, I'll just assume they think it is fine, and actually i do believe in Experimental they SAID they were looking into it but meh, who cares right?

    Over and over we hear from Roland and others how modders are NOT expected to fix game bugs. Well I'm living up to that very expectation. Modders have been told its NOT our job or are we expected to ever fix anything since Pimps got this. I AM enjoying the pages and pages of mathematical equations and testing though. Carry on gents.

    Is this a good time to ALSO point out that prob in rwgmixer is incorrectly spelled "prop" thereby breaking spawns of pois? Or that fixing the map names displayed as xuieditotblahblah is literally a 30 second tweak? or should modders fix that too?
    Sounds bizarre they would not fix such simple things you outline. You think they are trolling us or something? I know ♥♥♥♥ about code but maybe there is something deeper than this?

  12. #49497
    Colony Founder The Gronk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2,778
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gazz View Post
    Yes, but the 17.0 experimental is over.
    It's a very reasonable expectation that a 17.0 -> 17.1 patch does not break your savegame.
    Wait, wut? Experimental is over? What are we still doing here then? Shouldn't we be spamming the A18 thread?

    Make a bunch of other prefabs, use the ones we have now in Nave and the new ones in RWG. That buys you time to crossover, a separate area to test bridges, and an audience far more amenable to the prospect of a wipe.

    I'm pretty sure the addition of bridges and integration of the new node system in RWG is going to require a wipe anyway.
    Last edited by The Gronk; 01-25-2019 at 03:09 PM.

  13. #49498
    Leader Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    6,246
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by HungryZombie View Post
    Sounds bizarre they would not fix such simple things you outline. You think they are trolling us or something? I know ♥♥♥♥ about code but maybe there is something deeper than this?
    I GUESS that some bugs are simply not on the to do list because they need rework after a upcoming change anyway.

  14. #49499
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1,019
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gazz View Post
    Yes, but the 17.0 experimental is over.
    It's a very reasonable expectation that a 17.0 -> 17.1 patch does not break your savegame.
    Then stable should have waited for RWG fix, right? No way a new RWG update won't need a new game.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Gazz View Post
    Yes, but the 17.0 experimental is over.
    It's a very reasonable expectation that a 17.0 -> 17.1 patch does not break your savegame.
    And as long as the A is in front of the number anyone playing should expect possible wipes and restarts anytime the number after it changes.

  15. #49500
    Leader Royal Deluxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    6,246
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Gnomaana View Post
    And as long as the A is in front of the number anyone playing should expect possible wipes and restarts anytime the number after it changes.
    Lets say it so
    Major patches can break the savegames allways and on intention.
    Minor patches should try to avoid that. But sure if it is necessary it is necessary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •