Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Zombie spawn

  1. #1
    Refugee Ryan666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Zombie spawn

    I know it discussed already many times , but is there any option to stop zombie respawn so far, at least inside the base youíve built, because it is not logical when you working hard to make your base safe , building walls and stuff and they still Spawn Inside, I know bed can stop the spawn but itís not cover whole area I built , so if itís could be fixed or if there were any option to prevent it , would be just great

  2. #2
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    0
    I have heard fertilizer would stop them from spawning there.

  3. #3
    Refugee Ryan666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0
    Is that worked ?

  4. #4
    Tracker OneArmedBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    1
    Don't know exactly, but fertilizer sounds as it should have been a joke.... :P

    the last bedroll you put down (the one where you could spawn when you die and which you can see on the radar/minimap) prevents sleeper-respawns and other zombie-spawns in a radius of....I don't know exactly. enough for a normal building anyways.

    thats the theory however. it seems as if this doesn't work all the time and nobody seems to know why that is. I trust in TFP to fix this until gold


    I have anothother thought in that matter:
    I know of course that in vanilla there should not be the possibility to put down more than one active bedroll regarding spawn-prevention. but can this be modded? can the property "zombie spawn prevention" be added to other blocks or items via xml? that would really help on our coop server where we have several small hideouts in different cities...any ideas/thoughts?
    Last edited by OneArmedBandit; 02-22-2018 at 09:32 AM. Reason: spelling

  5. #5
    Refugee Ryan666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0
    Donít even know man, but thank you for some thoughts!

  6. #6
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    7,265
    Rep Power
    1
    Yes, one of the only blocks they won't spawn on is fertilized farmland.

    Keep in mind though that if you build on a POI, that won't help anything. POI spawns are set in the POI code, and replacing all the blocks won't make a difference.

    Also if your base is large enough, region or screamer spawns may ignore it as well.

  7. #7
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,428
    Rep Power
    1
    @SylenThunder
    Afaik the default value for CanMobsSpawnOn is false. So there aren't many blocks which allow regular zombie spawns. Ofc screamer spawns and sleepers are a different story.

    @Ryan666, @SylenThunder
    If you know where the sleeper spawn points are, you can replace the corresponding air blocks (this was fixed in one of the post experimental patches: "Sleepers spawn inside blocks that the player had placed").
    Last edited by Pille; 02-22-2018 at 12:33 PM.

  8. #8
    Colony Founder Maharin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,725
    Rep Power
    1
    Here's a trick you can use. If you take over a single floor POI then fill it in with blocks. Nothing will spawn there. Then build on top of it and reinforce the walls of the bottom floor. Drop a sleeping bag. It works.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    @SylenThunder
    Afaik the default value for CanMobsSpawnOn is false. So there aren't many blocks which allow regular zombie spawns. Ofc screamer spawns and sleepers are a different story.
    There are three blocks with CanMobsSpawnOn set to false by default. Two involving fertilizer and radiated ground.

  9. #9
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,428
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Maharin View Post
    There are three blocks with CanMobsSpawnOn set to false by default. Two involving fertilizer and radiated ground.
    'Default' means the CanMobsSpawnOn property is not set in the blocks.xml. Therefore, only the terrain blocks do have CanMobsSpawnOn set to true. Otherwise we would observe strange spawns on top of streetlights, trees, plants, cars and other weird positions.

    From the xml.txt:

    <property name="CanMobsSpawnOn" value="true" />

    The default value for a block is now FALSE.
    Last edited by Pille; 02-22-2018 at 04:21 PM.

  10. #10
    Inventor Cadamier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Winnetka, CA
    Posts
    872
    Rep Power
    1
    A bit of clairfication...

    From what I saw when examining the blocks is that there is a block that is called: "Fertilized Farmland" and I believe it has nothing to do with fertilizing ground, but I could be wrong. If what I am saying is true then just fertilizing ground won't help. So don't confuse them.

    Air blocks?!?

  11. #11
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,428
    Rep Power
    1
    As far as I remember:

    Fertile Farmland = Hoed ground
    Fertilized Farmland = hoed + fertilized ground

    The CanMobsSpawnOn property is explicitly set to false for both blocks. So regular spawns shouldn't happen.
    Last edited by Pille; 02-22-2018 at 04:29 PM.

  12. #12
    Colony Founder Maharin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,725
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    From the xml.txt:
    I keep forgetting about that file. There needs to be comments pointing to it more frequently throughout the XML files.

  13. #13
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,428
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Maharin View Post
    I keep forgetting about that file. There needs to be comments pointing to it more frequently throughout the XML files.
    It may be better to forget the comments in the XMLs.^^ Afaik they are sometimes outdated or just incorrect but in this certain case they are correct imo. I made some tests regarding the CanMobsSpawnOn thing but I can't remember for which version (A15 or A16).

  14. #14
    Colony Founder Maharin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,725
    Rep Power
    1
    It's probably too much to hope for a modding manual some day...

  15. #15
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    19,191
    Rep Power
    1
    That's what the xml.txt is; gazz's how to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •