PDA

View Full Version : Crash SHOW STOPING BUG: When you don't render part of the map it kills the game permanently



oldgun99
11-25-2014, 05:16 AM
Tested on two different servers. I came to a part of the map that wouldn't render. I logged out after my avatar became frozen and when attempting to log back in everything appeared to load but the game hangs on the last portion of the map load and you never get the message to hit "ENTER" to join the server. The only way out is to force quit the game.

The0n3
11-25-2014, 06:22 AM
I think this is what happened to one guy on are server, now when ever he joins he does not get into the game and it hangs the same way you are saying except for players in game it shows " joined game " and then the game crashes every time he joins, instantly all zombies stop walking - map no longer renders and we all cant get into boxes and must restart every time ( blackbox server ) admin console throws error

2014-11-25T01:16:03 176.363 RequestToEnterGame: 2/=BRC=Serious*Injury

(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d63dfc6385190b60/artifacts/StandalonePlayerGenerated/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 49)

2014-11-25T01:16:03 176.367 GMSG: =BRC=Serious*Injury joined the game

(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d63dfc6385190b60/artifacts/StandalonePlayerGenerated/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 49)

2014-11-25T01:16:05 177.868 RequestToSpawnPlayer: 198, 2, =BRC=Serious*Injury, 7

(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d63dfc6385190b60/artifacts/StandalonePlayerGenerated/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 49)

2014-11-25T01:16:05 178.010 Created player with id=198

(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d63dfc6385190b60/artifacts/StandalonePlayerGenerated/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 49)

2014-11-25T01:16:05 178.013 Adding observed entity: 2, (507.8, 64.0, 4447.1), 7

(Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/d63dfc6385190b60/artifacts/StandalonePlayerGenerated/UnityEngineDebug.cpp Line: 49)

Exception: Err
at C87AA.9AAA0 (System.Random 0AAAA) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at C87AA.397AA (ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks, .EntityPlayer _thePlayer, System.Random _rnd) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at World.C77AA (ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at GameManager.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

(Filename: Line: -1)

Exception: Err
at C87AA.9AAA0 (System.Random 0AAAA) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at C87AA.397AA (ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks, .EntityPlayer _thePlayer, System.Random _rnd) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at World.C77AA (ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at GameManager.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

(Filename: Line: -1)

the-phil
11-25-2014, 07:50 AM
Same issue here. Was running in a certain portion and we were experiencing the "end of the world issues", where the world drops off and only a square segment is available.
Large images of what it looks like
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/2014-11-24_00001.jpg
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/2014-11-24_00002.jpg
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/2014-11-24_00003.jpg
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/2014-11-24_00004.jpg

The server we have is currently dead. From the player perspective this is what happened.
1. end of world appeared
2. logged out and back in to re-render map
3. stuck with console flashing (rolling up and down) while turning into a tasty meal for doggies :)
4. logging out to get the console to stop flashing after death by doggie.
5. upon logging back in no doggie auto death
6. failed to re-spawn, log in and out no enter key on log in.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If a dev is interested in debugging this or duplicating the following may help
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've found the end of the world to happen quite a bit when in this main.ttw file. Easiest with god mode on running/flying to the west or east and back and forth between the three biomes.
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/main.ttw
The area that seemed to cause the most grief with the ttw is around r.-9.1.7rg
These areas seemed to be the most notably buggy.
971n 4373w
629n 4012w
486n 3666w
706n 3679w
703n 2973w

Here is a character in the area
http://www.hilands.com/hilands.com/img/extern/7dtd/char.ttp
replace "char" with the 17 digit character ID.

related threads:
http://7daystodie.com/forums/showthread.php?18824-Map-bug-A10-server-non-functional-Cannot-play-%28even-after-a-reboot%29

CLYDE FROG
11-25-2014, 08:36 AM
My server is still down because of this bug and I'm waiting for a fix...

To confirm it's the same bug, when you see the end of the world, see if you can use a campfire or if it doesn't work. Also, if you mine a block, no diamond block item will fall for you to pick up.

rentechd
11-25-2014, 12:33 PM
We have had this issue on a MP server. Sometimes leaving the game and re-entering works. Sometimes that person can't get back in. Since they can after deleting their player files I guess the ttp or map file is corrupted? We also had this happen once where everyone said it was happening and after a server restart no one could get in the game. Apparently the game had corrupted because after starting a new world everyone could.

mmmmark
11-25-2014, 12:50 PM
I've had this happen to me on two servers. Both times there was no render, but it was near a stream -- I thought I was on top of a waterfall, so I walked on over. In one case, the server can't function when I enter again (confirmed with friends playing on that server.) I don't know about the other server, because I don't know anyone IRL that plays there.

When the game loads, I never get to a "Press [Enter]" prompt, but I can press keys and hear the corresponding sounds. If I press M, I hear the map coming out. If I press I, I can hear my bag unzip AND I can mouse over the inventory slots to show what's in my bag. (Imgur link)
(http://i.imgur.com/Zy8QnOx.png) I can even hit the ESC key and quit, although I can't see where the QUIT button is (I blindly click around.)

Since this is the second server, and the second restart, I really don't want to put any time into this game until it gets sorted.

Badmoon
11-25-2014, 02:37 PM
Do you by chance have DroponDeath set to 2? I had this same issue and set that back to 0 and everything seems to be running fine.

oldgun99
11-25-2014, 04:35 PM
Yes, same bug Clyde Frog. In my case it was bushes I was breaking apart for sticks but the bug was the same.

the-phil
11-26-2014, 09:51 AM
Do you by chance have DroponDeath set to 2? I had this same issue and set that back to 0 and everything seems to be running fine.
Thank you, changed the serverconfig.xml DroponDeath to 0. Had the end of world and one of the clients had the console flashing, if I recall correctly it was a NullReferenceException. Client had to log out, server did not crash. Slightly different circumstances as there was no death this time.

I'm sure we'll see it more as we're hooked with the new patch!

Another thread that may have some information : http://7daystodie.com/forums/showthread.php?19266-10-1-Client-Log-NullReferenceException

CLYDE FROG
11-26-2014, 02:57 PM
My server seems to be running perfectly since the hotfix. The first issues it fixed seem to be the ones i was having problems with, so this thanksgiving im thankful for the fun pimps and their quick hotfix allowing me to play my favorite game again lol. Such a tease waiting for a10 to come out and have issues right off the bat. Now i can actually play! Hope 10.1 fixed all of your issues too guys. Have a good holiday.