PDA

View Full Version : [Custom Cell] Navesgane National Forest (by Laz Man)



Laz Man
10-14-2015, 12:26 PM
10/14/15 - Version 1.0 - Alphas 12.5 Compatible

Hello Survivors,

Looking to explore and scavenge more locales other than cities and small towns? Or maybe you just miss the presence of lakes? Well look no further, I bring to you the Navesgane National Forest for Random World Generation!

This cell consists of 16 prefabs (8 vanilla, 8 custom) arranged within a custom hub layout that is compatible with all terrain types. I look forward to hearing your feedback.

As always, installation instructions are included. See download link below. Enjoy!


Sample Cell Layout:

http://i.imgur.com/rlOiCuh.png

Screenshots:

http://imgur.com/a/bl0jq

Video:


https://youtu.be/zrW1ACD3WWE

Download Link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9agbjeadli2r540/Navesgane%20National%20Forest.zip?dl=0

Magoli
10-14-2015, 01:02 PM
great work Laz

It looks very natural.

Can I extract the 8 custom-buildings and use them to spawn singely in woody-towns too ???

Mag

JaxTeller718
10-14-2015, 01:46 PM
my new home!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Laz Man
10-14-2015, 04:47 PM
great work Laz

It looks very natural.

Can I extract the 8 custom-buildings and use them to spawn singely in woody-towns too ???

Mag

But of course Mag. You may want to check them out first though.

Gazebo, Lake, Lodge, Restroom, Patio, Shower, Sign 1, and Sign 2.

DieTillDay7
10-14-2015, 04:51 PM
ok so first, i just wanna say i like what you do and the prefabs that you have made. So great jobs.
A suggestion for this one if you dont mind. The pond you have here, looks kinda boxy.. just something to maybe modify a little to make it look more natural. that was it, but great job on everything that you do and keep doing what you do bro!

Laz Man
10-14-2015, 04:54 PM
ok so first, i just wanna say i like what you do and the prefabs that you have made. So great jobs.
A suggestion for this one if you dont mind. The pond you have here, looks kinda boxy.. just something to maybe modify a little to make it look more natural. that was it, but great job on everything that you do and keep doing what you do bro!

Thanks! I will see what I can do.

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 05:51 AM
MAN awesome work. Can you imagine the shizz we be able to do once the game is done how fantasric would it be for LAZ MAN to create his walking dead prefabs and not have to redo it or any prefab for that matter. Compo pack just have to add new prefabs to it. Oh mah god the enjoyment be building

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 07:09 AM
Ok :-(

I have a problem :-(. added this to my rwgmixer. Now i get the key exception generate chunks error :-(. Before this No problems. will ul my output log and rwgmixer.

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 07:11 AM
did you remember to include the custom prefabs in a prefab group?

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 07:14 AM
RWGMIXER - https://www.dropbox.com/s/en39971vqyf13mi/rwgmixer.xml?dl=0

Output - https://www.dropbox.com/s/5p6l2vq1vs4aqh4/output_log.txt?dl=0

Like I said prior to this all hubs (cells) worked

- - - Updated - - -


did you remember to include the custom prefabs in a prefab group?

prefab rules group yes i am gonna go over it again tho lol

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 07:23 AM
Might have something to do with the cell size maybe???? As i changed mine from 1200 to 1800 as it stated in the readme

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 07:42 AM
Might have something to do with the cell size maybe???? As i changed mine from 1200 to 1800 as it stated in the readme

If its a new save that won't matter.

Only thing I can spot is:
<lot min_x_y="-20,100" prefab="campsite_01" rotation_to_road="0"/>kk

But that won't cause a null error (it in Laz's download too), as there are many cases of extra text like that in vanilla.

Without having your prefab folder all I can think of is the prefabs folder is missing one or more of the prefabs. Maybe double check they all copied over (Or zip and upload and steam message me the link and I can load it into my tool to check :)

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 07:45 AM
Might have something to do with the cell size maybe???? As i changed mine from 1200 to 1800 as it stated in the readme

So far your rwgmixer file looks good. Have you tried using the rwgmixer.xml file that I included? At least that would further isolate the problem. Regarding the cell size, feel free to change it to the default value of 1200 to see if that has any effect.

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 07:52 AM
FYI you've got a few of the cell rules with prob=0 not as the first or last ones listed in the ruleset. That will actually cause them to additionally be spawned at positions other than the ones defined.

I made a detailed post Here (https://7daystodie.com/forums/showthread.php?32817-Hub_Layout-Guide-(by-Laz-Man)&p=324780&viewfull=1#post324780) in case you were interested in trying to make sense of how the prob setting work :)

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 07:54 AM
Hey Stompy, was curious if you tried out the hub. If so did everything work okay for you? Thanks.

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 07:56 AM
Laz Man ever think about making prefabs to fit mods ?

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 07:59 AM
Here is my prefab folder - https://www.dropbox.com/s/pm68adytz2a1z8k/Prefabs.rar?dl=0

- - - Updated - - -

I have removed the prob bits of the cell rules.

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 08:01 AM
Laz Man ever think about making prefabs to fit mods ?

Actually I have been approached by a few folks before and have created some custom prefabs on request. My main limitation is just time. So I guess, it all depends the scope of the request and the time frame that it is needed.

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 08:01 AM
Hey Stompy, was curious if you tried out the hub. If so did everything work okay for you? Thanks.

Have been pretty busy with training and working on a tool so haven't really had a chance to play much last few days. I'll load it up now and have a look ;)

Also ended up chatting to Valmar for a couple hours last night :)

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 08:06 AM
valmar is a good friend like that guy allways helping

- - - Updated - - -

well I don't know about requesting certain things, but maybe you can drop by my mod and check it out see if it sparks a interest to make some kinda prefab for it and id be glad to put that in and also my mod supports navy map as well. that's short cause I hate typing that maps name out lol.

- - - Updated - - -

i should shorten it to this spelling nai-vy, probably better the navy sense that's a word

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 08:11 AM
i actually got your old mall working on the game. Had to open her up and change blocks but it works on the nai-vy map setup i have. I actually had to fix alot of prefabs wonder if anymore are of your i cant remember but if you get my mod you can grab um and re-post them.

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 08:16 AM
valmar is a good friend like that guy allways helping

- - - Updated - - -

well I don't know about requesting certain things, but maybe you can drop by my mod and check it out see if it sparks a interest to make some kinda prefab for it and id be glad to put that in and also my mod supports navy map as well. that's short cause I hate typing that maps name out lol.

- - - Updated - - -

i should shorten it to this spelling nai-vy, probably better the navy sense that's a word

Navy as in Navesgane map? :) I see your already using Mag's Compo-Pack. If so you already have several of my prefabs (Apartment Stores, Brownstone Houses, TWD Prison, etc.)

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 08:21 AM
i used the older version on most of it and moved the newer maps in, but yes

- - - Updated - - -

i accidentally had a prefab i added i was making in my last version

- - - Updated - - -

you know you could finish that for me if you want ? we can go halves on the credit ? its a military base allmost done but i have sadly no time to finish her?

- - - Updated - - -

if your interested ill send ya a PM to the file so u can see it

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 08:24 AM
Im on your server right now... :)

- - - Updated - - -


i used the older version on most of it and moved the newer maps in, but yes

- - - Updated - - -

i accidentally had a prefab i added i was making in my last version

- - - Updated - - -

you know you could finish that for me if you want ? we can go halves on the credit ? its a military base allmost done but i have sadly no time to finish her?

- - - Updated - - -

if your interested ill send ya a PM to the file so u can see it

Sure send to me and I will take a look.

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 08:26 AM
<prefab_rule name="UniquePrisons">
<prefab rule="TWDprisonRWG"/>
</prefab_rule>

<prefab_rule name="UniqueHospitals">
<prefab rule="xcostum_Hospital(by_Limodor)a12_v1" />
<prefab name="hospital_01" prob="0.2"/>
</prefab_rule>

All the prefabs are there that you have used in rules, however I did spot these two errors. They should both be name= not rule= as they are prefabs and not prefab_rules :)

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 08:28 AM
i sent that to you by the way

um if you change it to name does the error continue?

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 08:34 AM
the prefab i was making comes from this pic


http://theartofjeffmd.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/military_base.jpg

Also we could do somthing else if you want, i can host aprivate server password lock it and we can both work on it together speed it up ? but eather way doesnt matter.

- - - Updated - - -

i have a database for hosting. so she will never go down

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 09:07 AM
Hey Stompy, was curious if you tried out the hub. If so did everything work okay for you? Thanks.

Hey Laz, Had a run through and everything runs fine :)

One thing I did notice is all the windows on the big building I couldn't shoot them out with a shotgun (didn't try other guns). Not sure if its the window itself or just a glitch on that particular instance.

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 09:26 AM
Hey Laz, Had a run through and everything runs fine :)

One thing I did notice is all the windows on the big building I couldn't shoot them out with a shotgun (didn't try other guns). Not sure if its the window itself or just a glitch on that particular instance.

Cool thanks for testing it out. First time I have used that window type. Might be a bug with that window.

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 09:39 AM
nope :-( changing rule to name didnt fix it unfort :-(

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 09:47 AM
id have to actually try it myself to give a fix.

- - - Updated - - -

sorry laz is slacking lol he is playing my mod you can go talk to him if you want there
162.218.67.162:26111

- - - Updated - - -

no download needed u just wont see the icons

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 09:53 AM
nope :-( changing rule to name didnt fix it unfort :-(

I think i figured it out. You have the vanilla prefab "campsite_02" commented out within your "campsites" prefab group for some reason.


<prefab_rule name="campsites">
<prefab name="campsite_01" />
<!-- <prefab name="campsite_02" /> -->
<prefab name="campsite_03" />
<prefab name="campsite_04" />
<prefab name="campsite_06" />
<prefab name="campsite_06a" />
<prefab name="campsite_07" />
<prefab name="campsite_07a" />
</prefab_rule>

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 09:57 AM
the prefab i was making comes from this pic


http://theartofjeffmd.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/military_base.jpg

Also we could do somthing else if you want, i can host aprivate server password lock it and we can both work on it together speed it up ? but eather way doesnt matter.

- - - Updated - - -

i have a database for hosting. so she will never go down

Where is this picture from? Would be nice to have more from different angles.

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 10:00 AM
I think i figured it out. You have the vanilla prefab "campsite_02" commented out within your "campsites" prefab group for some reason.


<prefab_rule name="campsites">
<prefab name="campsite_01" />
<!-- <prefab name="campsite_02" /> -->
<prefab name="campsite_03" />
<prefab name="campsite_04" />
<prefab name="campsite_06" />
<prefab name="campsite_06a" />
<prefab name="campsite_07" />
<prefab name="campsite_07a" />
</prefab_rule>

Oh weird ok will try that ty.

StompyNZ
10-15-2015, 10:03 AM
Where is this picture from? Would be nice to have more from different angles.

https://vimeo.com/33823839

http://theartofjeffmd.com/

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 10:04 AM
its only pic of it but ill look

- - - Updated - - -


https://vimeo.com/33823839

nice, i sent him most of that structure im hopeing he can finish it seeing as i have no time

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 10:10 AM
i also put color coded blocks on inside to attempt to make a "go this way"

- - - Updated - - -

but it looks liek thats the only angle

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 10:16 AM
if you can finish this itll be one of the hottest prefabs out

- - - Updated - - -

a REAL Military base not camps anymore lol

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 10:16 AM
i also put color coded blocks on inside to attempt to make a "go this way"

- - - Updated - - -

but it looks liek thats the only angle

Looks like a fun build. I would imagine there is a naval ship access port on the back end.

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 10:18 AM
yeah id say so

- - - Updated - - -

i didnt notice this before but it looks like there is a mountain behind the tower

- - - Updated - - -

a did like a cut out of the main structure. not the entire side as you can see when u load it up

Laz Man
10-15-2015, 10:25 AM
More angles here:

http://jeffmdart.blogspot.com/

Edit: would be nice if we could mod in oceans.... Otherwise, it might be better to do a land only variation of the base. I suppose I could add a lake next to the base instead but feel it might not have the same effect. As a side note, the base will look better once Hal releases his next editor version for Alpha 13. I am really looking forward to using his new block density function that will allow for smoother transitions between blocks (i.e. square blocks to diamond blocks)

stallionsden
10-15-2015, 10:32 AM
I think i figured it out. You have the vanilla prefab "campsite_02" commented out within your "campsites" prefab group for some reason.


<prefab_rule name="campsites">
<prefab name="campsite_01" />
<!-- <prefab name="campsite_02" /> -->
<prefab name="campsite_03" />
<prefab name="campsite_04" />
<prefab name="campsite_06" />
<prefab name="campsite_06a" />
<prefab name="campsite_07" />
<prefab name="campsite_07a" />
</prefab_rule>

Ok ty that was the problem lol. I dont know why that was commented out for weird

DieTillDay7
10-15-2015, 10:36 AM
you can start a another post about a upcoming military base made by you and me i took some screenies you can call like just the begining or whatever. screenshots of what i had is here

http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198142268714/screenshots/

TehAgent
10-15-2015, 03:18 PM
Super cool stuff :)