PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible/has it been done?



Gobarg
12-19-2016, 07:56 AM
We have been mucking around with prefabs and I thought of a pretty cool thing I'd like to do.

archaeology dig site in the desert biome.

I'd like to prefab in a building or network of buildings that are mostly buried in the dirt and rock.
Perhaps an old bunker left to ruin after the cold war or maybe even a quite well preserved potential base could be unearthed.

My questions is then... Is it possible to sink a prefab into the world so that it must be excavated to be revealed?

LuckyStar
12-19-2016, 08:54 AM
Yes that's absolutely possible.

You'll have to simulate the terrain. Just copy an area of desert and then have the edges of your prefab taper off like a pyramid.

Don't copy air blocks, and then it'll sink right into the surrounding terrain like it's meant to be there.

This idea of yours sounds freaking great! I can't wait to see what you come up with.
The desert really needs more biome specific prefabs.

Gobarg
12-19-2016, 09:52 AM
First idea is a small stone pill box stick halfway out out the ground(1block) that leads to an old Cold War C&C bunker. Complete with war room, accom, stores and work areas.

The second is more an Aztec-ish city buried beneath the sand with passages leading to chambers both large and small.

So yeah a bit of thinking and a lot of work might see it happen soon.
Unfortunately I am on a Mac and I haven't seen an editor for this platform so I'm relying on my awesome brother to do the actual work.
I'll be more the creative director, you know, the guy that gives you a vague outline of what he wants then totally rejects the 17 hours of work you did and tells you to listen next time. ��

Guppycur
12-19-2016, 03:12 PM
Another method is to build it above ground, export it, change the air blocks to terrain blocks in the layers you want sunken, manually touch up the above ground layers, done.

Gobarg
12-21-2016, 08:30 PM
Do you have any advice on how to determine correct rotations for blocks?
In game is easy just click like hell until you accidentally get it right then go and destroy the 14 blocks that are wrong. 😕
Not sure how to determine what the rotation is in the editor though.

Guppycur
12-21-2016, 09:50 PM
I make the rotations I want in game, export to the editor, the copy/paste the blocks with the rotations I want from those blocks I purposely included for that purpose.

Or, you can alt tab into the game, grab the block from creative, and begin counting from 0 as you click... Then alt tab to the editor to set it.

Theoretically, one of the things to be unified in a16 is the rotations, so that ALL blocks will have the same rotations. We will see.

Gobarg
12-22-2016, 03:30 AM
Update
My brother has worked out the editor so we are in the design and build stage.

Cold War Command and Control
UG area almost complete
First floor ditto
Second floor in design

Sunken Ruins
We are going to make a few small re-usable prefab elements and join them together using a simple corridor system.
Each room prefab is joined by the premade corridors to make a sprawling underground city.
Each section must be excavated to reveal he true extent of the ruins.
Included a few surprises for the determined.

My Brother is fast becoming a bit of an expert at making my crazy utterings somehow appear in game.

Speaking of which, I'm not sure this has been done before as I haven't seen it in any vids I watch, we have used a drawbridge set into the ground to cover a large ramp going down into our base to drive the mini bikes. When closed it sits flush with the ground and so far no crawlers have been able to get through the gap

Slaan
12-23-2016, 05:59 PM
Or, you can alt tab into the game, grab the block from creative, and begin counting from 0 as you click... Then alt tab to the editor to set it.



Ditto, working in the editor is waaaay faster but sometimes the simple things work. A little annoying when you have those blocks which try to play nice and like to always face a particular way regardless of how you turn... or the good old business glass pane that does not like you to know which way its facing till after it's placed lol.

Defo an interesting idea, maybe getting prefabs in this style in as biome decorations for the 'ancient burial' stuff and do the more modern but buried in the traditional wilderness/hub way with connecting paths/roads.

Gobarg
12-24-2016, 08:17 AM
Update

Somewhere in the desert there is a corner of a concrete block just barely visible at the surface.
It leads to a Cold War era command bunker.

Next up we begin work on the buried city.

Thanks for all the help and advice guys. I've been reading and viewing a lot of information and finding a depth of knowledge that is invaluable.

You guys are really a very helpful mob.

Now I just need to work out how to get drop bears into the game!

Mortelentus
12-27-2016, 06:07 PM
Sounds cool :)

Gobarg
01-02-2017, 05:22 AM
Ok. We now have a few prefabs done.

Cold War bunker
Buried in the side of a mountain somewhere in the south of the navezgane map.
It contains everything needed to survive a nuclear/zombie apocalypse

The Lake House
A beautiful retreat sitting idyllically on the shores of the lake boasting great views and a location to truly die for.

Ancient ruins
Deep in the desert there lies the buried ruins of a long lost civilisation. Travellers once spoke of pillars rising out of the desert like the teeth of ancient beasts. Many have searched and few have returned with any other tale than one of woe and suffering. Yet there are still those that insist the city exists and has riches beyond measure for the intrepid.

We are very new to this but if anyone wants to use these prefabs please don't hesitate to ask.

I would also like to see some kind of prefab list so we can share these things around

Guppycur
01-02-2017, 06:17 AM
Zip them and post the link here, then also post links to photos.

Mana
01-04-2017, 12:38 PM
I have noticed that underground prefabs are visible on the map once the area has been discovered. Is there a way to "hide" the underground sections? I have thought about covering the construction in stone to hide the layout but would prefer that the construction is hidden on the map.

This is a few I have done. Still learning. https://www.dropbox.com/s/yipttpjzquzywtm/Prefabs.rar?dl=0

Guppycur
01-04-2017, 04:36 PM
Got any pics?

Also, I don't see my underground mines on my map; perhaps the terrain you're using on "top" is a different terrain than the surrounding area, so it looks like it's uncovered?

LuckyStar
01-04-2017, 07:35 PM
Yeah post some pics of your prefabs.

Let's see how you did. ^_^"

Gobarg
01-04-2017, 09:00 PM
With regards to seeing an underground structure it is the same with the POI bunkers, they show on the map as an underground structure and you can see the layout.
The terrain that we used is desert terrain and as you dig you can see the strata so it it the right terrain for the area.
We still need to sculpture the top so that it isn't just a flat featureless surface of sand.
Would a layer of stone over the top hide the structure in the map do you think?
Will try to get some pics up asap but until then thank you all for the help and support.

We feel a bit like the 5 year old child of a famous artist showing him our finger painting of a tree!

Mana
01-05-2017, 07:34 AM
Lakehouse https://www.dropbox.com/s/ggqnkt8ei8kb59d/Screenshot%202017-01-05%2016.19.25.png?dl=0

Loot warehouse (getting rotations sort of right)https://www.dropbox.com/s/yhyoe5bgf8nww9o/Screenshot%202017-01-05%2016.22.47.png?dl=0

Base (with surprises) https://www.dropbox.com/s/y057w7pw0rqw46q/Screenshot%202017-01-05%2016.24.33.png?dl=0

Castle (WIP) https://www.dropbox.com/s/3zx3mzlb1h5s7y0/castle.jpg?dl=0

Guppycur
01-05-2017, 03:13 PM
@Go

Everyone started somewhere, so no one will disparage your work (even if it does look like poo poo). We are cool like that, and rest assured, should someone talk smack, we will beat them down with you, because new and fresh prefab ideas are Just to important.

Gobarg
01-05-2017, 08:18 PM
@Go

Everyone started somewhere, so no one will disparage your work (even if it does look like poo poo). We are cool like that, and rest assured, should someone talk smack, we will beat them down with you, because new and fresh prefab ideas are Just to important.

Thanks Guppy
It's all good mate we are having a great deal of fun and that's all that matters to us.

The two underground structures we have built are difficult to get pics of as you can imagine especially as one of them is completely filled with rock. ��

The Navegane council have finally approved our plans for a redevelopment of the island across from the Lakehouse which we hope will encourage more tourism and boost the local economy. Unfortunately there are still hordes of protesters gathering at the site but we will be employing extra security measures to ensure the safety of the public so rest assured. ��

Guppycur
01-06-2017, 06:02 AM
I've got an ocd digger that would love the rock filled one...

Mana
01-08-2017, 07:03 AM
Got the Castle completed after much swearing and gnashing of teeth. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip41e6baaKo

LuckyStar
01-08-2017, 08:08 AM
Got the Castle completed after much swearing and gnashing of teeth. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip41e6baaKo

That's amazing!

You going to make that into a prefab so we can have it in our games?

I know just where to put your castle! ^_^"

Well done! I love it!

Mana
01-08-2017, 09:33 AM
That's amazing!

You going to make that into a prefab so we can have it in our games?

I know just where to put your castle! ^_^"

Well done! I love it!

Thanks. I was remiss not to share the tts. https://www.dropbox.com/s/cqp1pw78jg1q9nx/castle.tts?dl=0

Mana
01-08-2017, 10:33 AM
Cold War Bunker (all that is visible above ground) https://www.dropbox.com/s/3cu0p48m0bfkxxi/Bunker.png?dl=0 but map shows there is a structure below https://www.dropbox.com/s/43zgh1ixxg08sp9/BunkerMap.png?dl=0 not sure how to hide it.

Ancient Temple (still working on ground level to hide fact something is there) https://www.dropbox.com/s/3srkhgdecwrnu1x/Archdig.png?dl=0 but again underground structure is visible on map https://www.dropbox.com/s/la1yuqqkhr3ojlu/ArchdigMap.png?dl=0

LuckyStar
01-08-2017, 10:34 AM
Thanks. I was remiss not to share the tts. https://www.dropbox.com/s/cqp1pw78jg1q9nx/castle.tts?dl=0

Your download is missing the XML file.

I just need to know the Y-Offset and I'll just make my own.
[Although I guess I can use Hal's editor and have a look.]

^_^" Looking forward to exploring this.

Mana
01-08-2017, 10:39 AM
Your download is missing the XML file.

I just need to know the Y-Offset and I'll just make my own.
[Although I guess I can use Hal's editor and have a look.]

^_^" Looking forward to exploring this.

oops <decoration type="model" name="castle" position="-1651, 42, 700" rotation="0" /> there is I think 17 blocks below waterline.

Guppycur
01-08-2017, 03:14 PM
Ah, you're building in nav. Different xml. No biggie, anyone who downloads these has the skill set to make one.

Gobarg
01-08-2017, 10:39 PM
Would it help if we* made these things in RWG?

*We ... as in Mana does all the work and I rock up and make suggestions. ;)

Mana
01-10-2017, 06:00 AM
Is it possible to spawn forges with anvil caliper and tool die set, and pre stock with ore?

Guppycur
01-10-2017, 11:52 AM
Nope. You can work around it sort of, by building a special block, new loot item, and/or a quest, but that's all beyond the scope of the editor, and still wouldn't get the ore smelted /in/ the forge.

That data is likely stored in the chunk.

- - - Updated - - -

Build in nav, build in Rwg, the import and export process is the same. Nav just has two options, and the prefabs xml is exclusive to nav.

Mana
01-10-2017, 03:04 PM
Ok thanks.