PDA

View Full Version : Horde Mode prefabs



Guppycur
01-13-2017, 01:13 PM
So in anticipation of stompys mod bringing back horde mode, I've been working out a few prefabs for the map... My maze being one that I already use, and an arena setting for another.

I wanted to start a thread for other contributions... Maybe make a horde mode pack.

The way it looks like it's shaping up, is you import the prefab into your game, set up the area trigger using stompys not quite yet but close to working mod, a user enters the area, and some event triggers the waves coming.

I'll be posting my prefabs here, but if others want to make some, feel free! The major consideration in design is allowing zombies in from every direction, but making it hard for them to come out.

I will make and post a template I use for my maze, that works really well... Build inside the blue lines or something, I dunno.

Guppycur
01-13-2017, 01:32 PM
Another consideration is not building elements that naturally defeat zombies... They path well (better than I do through my maze), but we all know standing on top of them makes them pool. So although stairs are good (two blocks wide or more) overhangs are not.

The idea is to get hordes, not defensively defeat them.

LuckyStar
01-13-2017, 05:04 PM
Uh... questions;

Okay so... I'm building an arena?

What dimensions are we talking about?

Does it need areas for zeds to come out of?

Will they still spawn if there's lots of concrete?

Did my dog eat too much turkey and I need to walk her somewhere remote? [Cuz I'm not picking THAT up!]

Things like that.

Guppycur
01-13-2017, 07:14 PM
You can. Whatever your imagination desires. Mine is pretty big, and the zs spawn outside and walk/run in. If it's a little dog, yes. Big dogs are worth keeping though.

Guppycur
01-13-2017, 07:41 PM
What I'm doing: basically testing things, see how they work in a real environment.

https://youtu.be/mpzQDXQuGho

StompyNZ
01-13-2017, 07:57 PM
Will they still spawn if there's lots of concrete?

I have the option to ignore the canmobsspawnon flag with the spawner

Guppycur
01-19-2017, 07:28 AM
Template:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/m0upntvcjvm93wc/HordeModeArenaTemplate.zip?dl=0

King of the Hill:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dw2zjk1uo3g5fdq/HordeModeKingoftheHill.zip?dl=0*

*Uses custom blocks, the code is here:
blocks.xml


<block id="2011" name="steelBlockbuffHealth">
<property name="Extends" value="steelBlock"/>
<property name="Material" value="MstoneNoGlue"/>
<property name="DowngradeBlock" value="steelBlockbuffHealth"/>
<property name="StabilitySupport" value="false"/>
<property name="BuffsWhenWalkedOn" value="firstAidblock"/>
</block>

<block id="2012" name="steelBlockbuffPain">
<property name="Extends" value="steelBlock"/>
<property name="DowngradeBlock" value="steelBlockbuffPain"/>
<property name="BuffsWhenWalkedOn" value="bleedingBlock"/>
</block>

<block id="2013" name="steelRampbuffPain">
<property name="Extends" value="steelBlock"/>
<property name="Material" value="MstoneNoGlue"/>
<property name="StabilitySupport" value="false"/>
<property name="Shape" value="Wedged"/>
<property name="Place" value="TowardsPlacer90"/>
<property name="Texture" value="356"/>
<property name="DowngradeBlock" value="steelRampbuffPain"/>
<property name="BuffsWhenWalkedOn" value="bleedingBlock"/>
</block>


buffs.xml


<buff id="bleedingBlock" duration="3" type="bleeding" requires="isPlayer" actions="debuff(fullBuff);debuff(firstAid);debuff(firstAidL arge);damage(0,5,0,0)" icon="ui_game_symbol_critical" name_key="bleedingOut" description_key="bleedingOutDesc" tooltip_key="bleedingOutTooltip" cures="bandage,firstAidBandage,firstAidKit">
<modify id="0" stat="stamina" amount="-1" rate="1"/>
<modify id="1" stat="health" amount="-1" rate="1"/>
</buff>

<buff id="firstAidblock" duration="3" stack="extend" type="healthup" requires="isPlayer" icon="ui_game_symbol_medical" name_key="firstAid" description_key="firstAidDesc" tooltip_key="firstAidTooltip" causes="firstAidBandage">
<modify id="1" stat="health" amount="1" rate="1"/>
</buff>



The Pit:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nepa1993r6lcs84/thePit.zip?dl=0*

*Straight up stole the idea from Stompy; I'm sure his will be better/larger.

The Maze:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/la0stwvrlflyajj/HordeModeTheMaze.zip?dl=0

Guppycur
03-15-2017, 03:11 PM
This post is for you, Shop.

JayzenFreeze
05-22-2017, 05:14 PM
I like this idea but taking this long I think its gone forever. I keep asking for it. Even tried an old installer to play it but I dont know how to get it to work.

Guppycur
05-22-2017, 07:22 PM
I was promised it's coming back. I will hold them to that promise. :-)

Kubikus
05-23-2017, 03:56 PM
I made a horde mode mod, not updated for A15, but will at some point for A16:

https://7daystodie.com/forums/showthread.php?49609-Stranded-in-Limbo-A-Horde-Mode-Mod

A thing that I have noticed in A15, without researching it much, just some experiments that veryfied the issue, is that you do not seem to be able to spawn a prefab in the center of the map anymore. Have you tried and does it work? Might also have to do with the ringworld, but when I use the code that works fine for custom hubs elsewhere, no building shows up in the center.

Guppycur
05-27-2017, 05:32 AM
I cheat and add prefabs in manually via Hal's.