PDA

View Full Version : Using heat-generating blocks to spawn screamers or hordes



Pille
10-16-2017, 03:56 PM
I would like to hide some burning barrels beneath my prefabs in order to spawn some screamers but it doesn't work. I don't see any screamers. What am I doing wrong?

This was my test setup:

- Used a cubic 10x10x10 test prefab containing 32 burning barrels (player made, id 1774).
- The day counter was set to day 18.
- I used Hal's tool to spawn the prefab in a random gen world (in a city).
- Test duration was 8 ingame hours (40 realtime minutes)

Guppycur
10-16-2017, 05:29 PM
Do barrels even increase heat?

Pille
10-16-2017, 05:31 PM
Yes. :)



Found one of them. I thought I made a better one with more information somewhere. Can't find it right now, and I should be getting ready for work.





HeatMapTime
HeatMapFrequency
HeatMapStrength


AnimalGore
1200
1
4.0


Campfire
1200
25
1.5


Chem Station
1200
25
1.5


Forge
1200
25
1.5


Candle
1200
15
1.0


Torch
1200
15
4.05


Cement Mixer
1200
25
0.5


Workbench
1200
25
0.5


Burning Barrel
1200
15
4.05



HeatMapTime is in "ticks".
One tick is about 2 seconds IIRC. You can see the ticks if you go into DM and hit Esc.

Guppycur
10-16-2017, 05:38 PM
Then hit f8(?) And watch the heat rise, when it gets to 100 th3 console log should say what's happening.

- - - Updated - - -

Single player and assuming the chunk is loaded.

Pille
10-16-2017, 05:40 PM
Then hit f8(?) And watch the heat rise, when it gets to 100 th3 console log should say what's happening.

- - - Updated - - -

Single player and assuming the chunk is loaded.

Ok, thanks!

Guppycur
10-16-2017, 05:45 PM
And make sure you're using burningbarrelplayer not burningbarrel.

- - - Updated - - -

<block id="1774" name="burningBarrelPlayer">
<property name="Extends" value="corrugatedMetalNoUpgradeMaster"/>
<property name="CreativeMode" value="Player"/>
<property name="CanPickup" value="true"/>
<property name="Shape" value="ModelEntity"/>
<property name="Model" value="Entities/Industrial/barrel03_burningPrefab"/>
<property name="IsTerrainDecoration" value="true"/>
<property name="Stacknumber" value="50"/>
<property name="Class" value="TorchHeatMap"/>
<property name="HeatMapStrength" value="4.05"/>
<property name="HeatMapTime" value="1200"/>
<property name="HeatMapFrequency" value="15"/>
<property name="Group" value="Building"/>
<property name="DescriptionKey" value="torchPlayerGroupDesc"/>
</block>

<block id="1775" name="burningBarrel">
<property name="Extends" value="burningBarrelPlayer"/>
<property name="CreativeMode" value="Dev"/>
<property name="CustomIcon" value="burningBarrelPlayer"/>
<property name="Class" value="Torch"/> <!-- no effect on the heat map -->
<property name="Stacknumber" value="500"/>
<property name="CanPickup" value="true" param1="burningBarrelPlayer"/>
<property name="DescriptionKey" value="torchGroupDesc"/>
</block>

Pille
10-16-2017, 05:52 PM
Yep, it's the right block. Thanks again. I am going to check it later.

Royal Deluxe
10-16-2017, 05:53 PM
And make sure you're using burningbarrelplayer not burningbarrel.


- Used a cubic 10x10x10 test prefab containing 32 burning barrels (player made, id 1774).


I think this heat value need to be written in the chunk.
Now i IMAGINE that this never happend in your test setup.
Maybe because Hals tool dont do that (like Coppies mod dont add Sleepers if you spawn a Prefab in A15)
Maybe because the trigger is only available if a player place a block

Pille
10-16-2017, 05:55 PM
Maybe because the trigger is only available if a player place a block

I suppose this is the reason. Would be very annoying. ^^ Thanks Royal Deluxe.

Guppycur
10-16-2017, 07:38 PM
Yeh but once the prefab is inserted the heat value should go up, because the chunk would then see new blocks...

...ask Stompy, or use his insert instead of Hal's? Or djkroses?

Because yeh, in theory, your idea should work... but you'll know when you hit f8(?) and look at the heat rising or not rising.

Royal Deluxe
10-16-2017, 08:01 PM
If the heat dont rise try to place only one additional heat block, (or take one away)
maybe the Chunk recalculate the Heatblocks then.

Pille
10-17-2017, 06:49 AM
Lol, I don't get it. ^^

30 manually placed burning barrels -> No heat

30 burning barrels placed with Hal's bbb command -> No heat

30 manually placed torches -> No heat

30 torches placed with Hal's bbb command -> No heat

5 manually placed forges -> seem to work as intended.


And yes, I've used the correct block ids.

stallionsden
10-17-2017, 10:23 AM
Gonna be an annoyance but you can add a heat map to them if you want. Altho I can not remember where to find the line that you need lol.

Waiting ...... waiting..... Stompynz come to my rescue lol.....

The above has been Left in here lol cause i feel it not right for me to laugh at myself only lol.

Oh wait lol... guppy has it in his code he posted. Maybe increase the heat on both lines see if that does anything.

Guppycur
10-17-2017, 12:16 PM
Could just be that you're too cool...

;)

(I got nothing.)

Pille
10-17-2017, 11:46 PM
Could just be that you're too cool...

;)

(I got nothing.)

Guilty as charged. :cool-new:


@stallionsden
I'll try this. Need a solution that works without mods though.