Page 72 of 72 FirstFirst ... 2262707172
Results 1,066 to 1,077 of 1077

Thread: Native Linux server (with management scripts)

  1. #1066
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    0
    I am attempting to set up a server on Ubuntu. I get through everything and go through the setting up an instance. However, I then get a bunch of issues with xmlstarlet. I tried to figure it out, but now it is 1 am and I am frustrated, so I am parking this here to see if anyone has a solution.

    Screen cap of output https://prnt.sc/nz5da1

    Also, I have installed it, though using apt did not work, I had to use snap.
    Last edited by Hammerofheaven; 06-08-2019 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Forgot link

  2. #1067
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,156
    Rep Power
    1
    ok, that's odd. I just install it via apt.

    You should run all of these commands under root.

    apt-get update
    apt-get install xmlstarlet
    apt-get install lib32gcc1
    apt-get install lib32stdc++6
    apt-get install make
    apt-get install gcc

    That should take care of it nicely


    I assume you're using Ubuntu server, and not desktop version though.

  3. #1068
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    ok, that's odd. I just install it via apt.

    You should run all of these commands under root.

    apt-get update
    apt-get install xmlstarlet
    apt-get install lib32gcc1
    apt-get install lib32stdc++6
    apt-get install make
    apt-get install gcc

    That should take care of it nicely


    I assume you're using Ubuntu server, and not desktop version though.

    I am running Ubuntu server, I have run the above commands. This is what happens when I try to install xmlstarlet - http://prntscr.com/nzcxuz

    I have installed it with snap, however, it is in a different place. I did mess around with using 'ln' to link the two locations, but that was not working as the examples I found online.
    Last edited by Hammerofheaven; 06-08-2019 at 09:12 PM.

  4. #1069
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,156
    Rep Power
    1
    Seems like something is messed up with where it's getting the repository from. I've got it set to defaults, and don't have any issues getting it with apt. Just ran it a bit ago, and I get ...

    Code:
    [email protected]:~# apt-get install xmlstarlet
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    xmlstarlet is already the newest version (1.6.1-2).
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.

  5. #1070
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    Seems like something is messed up with where it's getting the repository from. I've got it set to defaults, and don't have any issues getting it with apt. Just ran it a bit ago, and I get ...

    Code:
    [email protected]:~# apt-get install xmlstarlet
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    xmlstarlet is already the newest version (1.6.1-2).
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.
    I don't know what to tell you. This has been an issue for a long time across multiple VMs on my end and so far has only impacted my 7 days server. It started as an issue when I made a server for a17 experimental and ended up just needing to use steam cmd as this script did not function properly... Back then I assumed it was because the script was not updated or some such.

  6. #1071
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,135
    Rep Power
    1
    What version of Ubuntu is this? Maybe you need to enable some of the additional packet sources (universe, multiverse).

  7. #1072
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    I've recently used the scripts provided to install a 7dtd server, it's working really well except for when I attempt to shut it down, here's what that looks like: https://i.imgur.com/qMfzaZp.jpg

    Just curious as to whether this is normal behavior or not, I feel as though failing a graceful shutdown isn't a good thing but I'm new to all of this.

    This is on google cloud using Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by shieldme; 2 Weeks Ago at 07:06 PM.

  8. #1073
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,135
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by shieldme View Post
    I've recently used the scripts provided to install a 7dtd server, it's working really well except for when I attempt to shut it down, here's what that looks like: https://i.imgur.com/qMfzaZp.jpg

    Just curious as to whether this is normal behavior or not, I feel as though failing a graceful shutdown isn't a good thing but I'm new to all of this.

    This is on google cloud using Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch).
    Either the server did not shut down fast enough (in that case it *could* be an issue if it was not finishing saving data) or it did not properly end all threads (which would only be not so nice behaviour on the server's end that we should get fixed).

    Would be interesting to see the log of such a terminated session. For more information.

    Also you can increase the timeout in /etc/7dtd.conf, if it was the first case that should help.

  9. #1074
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the response, I'll try increasing the timeout but I've been running into more problems, now I can't connect to the server because I'm receiving the error "server is still initiating, please try again in a minute."

    Here's the log: https://pastebin.com/mmYSbwPi

    When the server is up and I run status this is the result:

    Instance: sha

    Status: Running
    Open ports:
    26902 (udp)
    8081 (tcp)
    /usr/local/lib/7dtd/common.sh: line 234: nc: command not found
    Players:

    Game info:
    Server name: Shieldme's Humble Abode
    Password: ----------
    Max players: 6
    World: Navezgane

    Network info:
    Port: 26900
    Public:
    Control Panel: off
    Telnet: Port 8081, Pass

    It was running fine until I got stuck with that "creating player" message. I thought it was client side but decided it couldn't hurt to do an instance restart, not sure what's going on now.

  10. #1075
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,135
    Rep Power
    1
    Looks like your decoration.7dt is borked. It's mostly about trees, so shouldn't hurt a lot to just delete it. Though it would be appreciated if you could first upload it somewhere.

  11. #1076
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Alright deleted decoration.7dt and it started up and is running great. I tested a 30 second shutdown with the same failure result. I'm not sure if this is the logfile you're looking for but I believe this is from a failed graceful shutdown https://pastebin.com/DuHbHnVH

    Here's the decoration.7dt: https://mega.nz/#!qyJxBAjR

  12. #1077
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,135
    Rep Power
    1
    Oh stupid me ... Of course it won't properly shutdown for you as the shutdown command is issued to the 7dtd process with the netcat (nc) program and it looks like you don't have that installed. I noticed that before but ignored that as not important right now, but obviously shutdowns won't work without it (that's also the reason why you don't see any mention of "Telnet" connection being established and a console command issued in that log)

    Thanks for the deco file though, maybe we can find what is causing it to fail

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •