Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Squishy's Random Gen App

  1. #1
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0

    Talking Squishy's Random Gen App

    Hey all,

    So I'm working on my own random gen app as I'm really not happy with the latest iteration from TFP.

    Here's my first pass at Biome.png (this is a thumbnail of a 4k png, the desert color is not correct)


    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_F...XexX_IqnBc9CzZ

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    Here's my first cut at a Desert Canyon like Biome.

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-L...efPjaE1wOgeBz6

  3. #3
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    So just a bit of a rundown on this project.

    With this generator, I'm aiming to create some truely interesting "biomes". And I mean that in a sense that is seperate to TFP "Biomes". The first one is the DesertCanyon one that I posted a pic of, then a more flat desert one. Each of my "Biomes" will have it's own Biome.png that can contain multiple TFP biomes, in the case of the Desert ones, I intend on adding some green oasis. Each of my biomes will have it's own dta.png, splat, prefab.xml etc.

    Right at the end of the generation process, all the biomes will be mixed and blended together. (That is going to be tricky).

    I figure this process will take ages to generate, but if your a dedicated server hoster, or someone that just likes a good seed, then you wouldn't mind generating overnight.

    I've got a few ideas for "Biomes" I want to create :

    Nasty biome : Think the maze in Maze runner. The base biome would be burnt, but with different decorations (e.g. no fires etc), just black trees and dead bushes, all the water is toxic. Sub biomes would have thick burnt trees (to the point where they would block the way). This is an endgame biome.

    The "Green" : When I do the "green" biomes, I intend on making areas of thick forest and areas of only grass. Put trees along rivers. Have cleared areas for farm land.

    Another idea is to have a kind of Badlands concept, sort of a more extreme desert canyon, but the canyons are deep and more frequent. Then I wanted to make some cave like prefabs that would create "cut outs" and tunnels in the cliff walls.

    I think the worlds now are far too easy to get around. In most cases, you can run up most mountains without much effort. I love exploring, but I'd prefer to have to work for it a bit more, there should be landscape obsticles just like in real life.

    I'm open to more ideas.

  4. #4
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    So, I tried to fix the stepping last night and a bit today. I refactored the code that wrote the png to use 16bit greyscale PNG, which is is now outputing (as evidenced by Krita detecting it as such), however after all that effort it still doesn't work. The stepping persists.

    New screenshot : https://drive.google.com/open?id=1A2...0Kg7S1BeWjCVvL

    At this point I have two options,
    1) Try and output to a tga (TARGA) file format and see if that makes any difference,
    2) Try and output directly to the Raw format.

    Number 2 would obviously be the better option going forward, but given I don't currently have software that reads it it's going to be difficult.

  5. #5
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    Started working on the next Biome concept, the nasty biome. This is the first go at the heightmap for it. Looks pretty cool.

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1uh...UuPbCVf-EyDfWg

    Would make for some interesting PVP action.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, looks like I've found the code that loads a tga.raw file. So now I just need to understand it so that I can write one.

  6. #6
    Colony Founder SlicksGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Texas, pre-apoloclypse
    Posts
    1,315
    Rep Power
    1
    good job!

    here i am making designs in 8 colors with a completely different approach..

    i too would like to see clusters of trees and wide open meadow.. so making two forest biomes.. one with trees and one without and making the one with trees a densely populated some biome of the meadow one

    then repeating this idea for each of the others..

    because plants dont just grow everywhere in real life, they are clustered aroudn resources.. or wear a tree kept reseeding itself into a forest.

  7. #7
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,046
    Rep Power
    1
    You're describing sub-biomes, fyi.

    So you'd just add the "fewer" or "more" tree blocks spawning in the subbiomes of the main biome in biomes.xml.

  8. #8
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SlicksGirl View Post
    here i am making designs in 8 colors with a completely different approach..
    I thought about doing what you're doing, but I hate doing things by hand. Although your post re biome editing will be invaluable when I need to create new ones. Like now actually with the Nasty biome.

    Quote Originally Posted by SlicksGirl View Post
    because plants dont just grow everywhere in real life, they are clustered aroudn resources.. or wear a tree kept reseeding itself into a forest.
    Yeah I know right! In any populated area Trees have been cut down etc.

    Same same for roads too, the don't randomly cut through anywhere, they follow paths of least resistance, span across gaps with bridges or go through hills with tunnels when there's no other option.

    Not looking forward to road generation, that is going to be tricky.

    PM me SlicksGirl if you want the code, it's C#

  9. #9
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    So, just a quick update.

    Looks like the dta.raw file is a 16bit Little Endian encoded file with no file headers. The code that I found that reads the file looks a little odd (maybe due to converting from IL) but there's some seemingly redudant lines of code that deal with how the file is looped through that I need to look at further, but from a glance, it looks to be really easy to write a raw file.

  10. #10
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    You're describing sub-biomes, fyi.

    So you'd just add the "fewer" or "more" tree blocks spawning in the subbiomes of the main biome in biomes.xml.
    So "subbiomes" are a real entity in the biomes.xml, I didn't realise that. I'm almost at the stage now that I'm going to start poking around in there. Do they have their own color though? Like how do you control where they are?

  11. #11
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey all, I've fixed the smoothing!! I now write directly to dtm.raw and can now have perfectly smoothed landscapes. Here's the latest screenshot of the Desert Canyon Biome

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1LI...rIykJQfcUP-w4R

  12. #12
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Hamburg - Germany
    Posts
    183
    Rep Power
    0
    Sounds like an interesting project. May I ask, what programming language do you use? Just curious

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •