Page 49 of 71 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast
Results 721 to 735 of 1053

Thread: [Tool] NITROGEN , a random world generator for 7DtD

  1. #721
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    Roads take a large time to generate, especially with many cities and settlements. With the default settings a 16k world is even quite a bit faster to generate. Took me 30 mins last time i ran it.

  2. #722
    Colony Founder Jugginator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,201
    Rep Power
    1
    Generated a 4k world in like 45 seconds... I missed this wonderful tool somehow. Will let you know if I find issues.

    *update*

    Works absolutely wonderful! I tried generating a 2048 map (min claimed to be supported in the 7days config) to see if it works (program said experimental ofc), but it generated a 4k map instead and ignored my request lol. No biggie, was just curious if it worked. There are some random 2x2 smooth holes, but they're rare. They kinda look like something was supposed to go there.
    Last edited by Jugginator; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:41 PM.

  3. #723
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    A18 version: added a small tool calld "SplatFixer".
    (-> all other parts are the same as 0.411, no need to update if you dont need this tool.)

    This can be used to convert incompatible splat3 (road) images to the correct A18 format. (also fixing older A17 splat3).
    Its easier to edit those images.

    It can also output a debug image, that is easier to look at in the windows explorer, or use as layer in photoshop.

    So you can also use it to make correct splat images "visible" again.

    The debug image should not be used ingame!
    Last edited by Damocles; 3 Weeks Ago at 09:37 AM.

  4. #724
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Not sure if I'm doing something wrong here, but when I try either link nothing downloads?

  5. #725
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    Check your browser download tab (Control-J usually) Maybe the browser or AV program block the download.

  6. #726
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    Check your browser download tab (Control-J usually) Maybe the browser or AV program block the download.
    Nevermind I think it was Firefox, working in Chrome. Cheers
    Last edited by Hockallz; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:52 AM.

  7. #727
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0
    What settings should be used to get as close to a vanilla experience as possible?

    IE: City structure

    Would also like to know if it is possible to import the vanilla game splat maps? Basically would like to use your generator (it is faster) to make a 16k map with vanilla style cities, POI's, and splatmaps, but have nitrogen biomes.

    War and Peace,
    UnknownSoldier

  8. #728
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by UnknownSoldier View Post
    What settings should be used to get as close to a vanilla experience as possible?

    IE: City structure

    Would also like to know if it is possible to import the vanilla game splat maps? Basically would like to use your generator (it is faster) to make a 16k map with vanilla style cities, POI's, and splatmaps, but have nitrogen biomes.

    War and Peace,
    UnknownSoldier
    If you also want the same city structure, in this case you could generate a world of the same size (8k or so), and copy over the biomes.png to the RWG generated world to have more variation in the biomes.
    But that would not mix visually well with the terrain in RWG (the topography is linked to the local biome).

    The splat map does not spawn POIs in nitrogen, and thus it does not work with the terrain and such.
    (I might make a version, where you can import edited splat maps, to spawn cities and use the roads)

    Overall NitroGen makes a full world, its just not the same as RWG does it. You have to check wich approach you like more.
    Last edited by Damocles; 3 Weeks Ago at 02:41 PM.

  9. #729
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,614
    Rep Power
    1
    Never Mind lol downloaded wrong one lol first time got the right java now.
    Last edited by stallionsden; 3 Weeks Ago at 01:28 AM.

  10. #730
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,614
    Rep Power
    1
    Went str8 for the juggler lol created a 16k map.. first attempt game kept kicking me on initializing. So redid the generating and 2nd time I am in. Wow amazing and great work this has blown my experience higher :-)

  11. #731
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    I updated the stamps in the A18 version a bit, to have more flat surfaces. The landscape will have more plateaus, but this allows more foilage (trees especially) to spawn on mountains in general. Looks nicer when in those areas.

    A18 skips vegetation a lot more in terrain with slopes. This should counter that a bit.

  12. #732
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,614
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    I updated the stamps in the A18 version a bit, to have more flat surfaces. The landscape will have more plateaus, but this allows more foilage (trees especially) to spawn on mountains in general. Looks nicer when in those areas.

    A18 skips vegetation a lot more in terrain with slopes. This should counter that a bit.
    Any chance for a pure flat world or is the flatter option it.

    Like I mean not even a bump lol other then ores and trees etc ofc

  13. #733
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,093
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by stallionsden View Post
    Any chance for a pure flat world or is the flatter option it.

    Like I mean not even a bump lol other then ores and trees etc ofc
    For a totally flat land: just create a aquare image like 256x256, and fill it with grey (40,40,40).

    Then rename it import_HM.png and place it in the resources folder (overwriting the example)

    Then use gen mode use import_HM.png.

    -> completely flat land

    You will have only the forest biomes then.
    You could just replace the biomes.png with one from another run (same world size)

  14. #734
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,614
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    For a totally flat land: just create a aquare image like 256x256, and fill it with grey (40,40,40).

    Then rename it import_HM.png and place it in the resources folder (overwriting the example)

    Then use gen mode use import_HM.png.

    -> completely flat land

    You will have only the forest biomes then.
    You could just replace the biomes.png with one from another run (same world size)
    You lost me after - for a totally flat land lol.

    I wouldn't know how or where to do this

  15. #735
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello..We are trying Nitrogen for the first time, Using Greenland only with a desert border on a 4k map, The map preview looks good but ingame we are only getting wastelands...any idea's why?....Thanks

    Edit ok we have it running now as planned....
    Last edited by Tim2500; 3 Weeks Ago at 02:01 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •