Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Blocks are supposed to collapse and not simply poof out existence, right?

  1. #1
    Tracker Weazelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    186
    Rep Power
    0

    Blocks are supposed to collapse and not simply poof out existence, right?

    I'm currently playing on an MP server, and we are at day 800+ or so. I've started noticing that when building, and when the SI isn't good. Rather than the blocks collapsing like normal and ending up with debris. They just go poof out existence. I guess my question is could be indicative of anything that could affect the server? I'm not an admin or owner of the server but simply a player.

    See video: https://youtu.be/6CY6SPz9KY8

  2. #2
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    127
    Rep Power
    0
    That happens to me as well on a couple of public servers. I'm a pretty sure its a dedi server mod that's commonly used because drop mining has a negative effect on performance. In case you don't know, Drop Mining is when you dig out from under a bunch of blocks with the intention of having them all collapse.

  3. #3
    Tracker Weazelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    186
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzybub View Post
    That happens to me as well on a couple of public servers. I'm a pretty sure its a dedi server mod that's commonly used because drop mining has a negative effect on performance. In case you don't know, Drop Mining is when you dig out from under a bunch of blocks with the intention of having them all collapse.
    Today I learned and yes, you are correct it was indeed the a mod that the server owner recently turned on.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    7,926
    Rep Power
    1
    Yep, I use this on my servers to keep drop miners from tanking system performance. Have actually seen people intentionally drop buildings for the sole purpose of crashing the server.

  5. #5
    Colony Founder SlicksGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Texas, pre-apoloclypse
    Posts
    1,308
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    Yep, I use this on my servers to keep drop miners from tanking system performance. Have actually seen people intentionally drop buildings for the sole purpose of crashing the server.
    ooooh which mod is this?

  6. #6
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    0
    CSMM a server manager does this

  7. #7
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    7,926
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Spiked_Coffee View Post
    CSMM a server manager does this
    Actually it's CPM that does it. CSMM just has the option to enable the feature if you are using CPM. Both of them work very awesome together though.
    Botman also has a feature for this, but I'm not sure if it vanishes the blocks the way CPM does.

    Links.
    CSMM Patrons Mod (CPM)
    CSMM Main site. US, EUR, or AU
    CSMM Docs

  8. #8
    Colony Founder SlicksGirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Texas, pre-apoloclypse
    Posts
    1,308
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Spiked_Coffee View Post
    CSMM a server manager does this
    oh ok, i must need the paid version then, thanks

  9. #9
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    127
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SlicksGirl View Post
    oh ok, i must need the paid version then, thanks
    CPM is free.

  10. #10
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    7,926
    Rep Power
    1
    You don't need the paid version for anything.

    The only bonus you get with donating for CSMM is some extra tele and command slots. All features are available with the free setup. (I take that back, the one thing you don't get with the free plan is inventory tracking data.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •