Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 49

Thread: DMT Modding Tool

  1. #16
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Guppy I guess I Am confused then. I have been out of the modding loop for a bit. So we still use sdk for blocks? or we use DMt now ? Another question is. Why use the DMT anyways.. I see that most mods like audio or block files is just a drop in mods folder and thats it.

    So if I made a simple block in unity.. export it with the script, create my mod info and all the scripts.. I dont need to use anything to patch it? right? very confused on this process.

    Its my understanding that sdk changed the assembly file and added it to the game ...

  2. #17
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,504
    Rep Power
    1
    7days now supports import of .unity3d files without sdx. Check the tutorial section.

    Sdx/dmt changes the assembly to allow scripts to be included, it's no longer necessary for anything else.

  3. #18
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    41
    Rep Power
    0
    With a fresh install of the 7 Days To Die client, and dedicated server for Windows, DMT causes the client to endlessly throw a single error when connecting to the dedicated server, preventing the player from spawning in. This does not happen in single player.

    This is with the latest 7 Days To Die, version 17.4.

    Client log: https://pastebin.com/0GMguLRg

    Server log: https://pastebin.com/NJzMja1C


    When starting a game through the client (I.E, not connecting to a dedicated server to play), everything proceeds as expected with no errors thrown: https://pastebin.com/PsBaqquu

    This is with no mods, just an absolutely plain install after running the DMT tool, pointing it to the client and server folders.

    Edit: Disregard. The issue was that I increased the view distance in the registry, beyond the default maximum of 7.
    Last edited by FiftyTifty; 10-01-2019 at 06:43 AM.

  4. #19
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Belarus, Minsk
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, is there any info about how to get all game classes/objects within description?

    Does any idea how to hook recipe searching mechanics?

  5. #20
    Refugee stone00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    hey, just tried to use this on a freash install of 16.4 and noticed you added like a 16 version one in your video, does this actually work with 16?

    as i just keep getting

    Running BackupFiles

    Unhandled Exception: System.NotImplementedException: Instruction is not an i4 opcode
    at DMT.Extensions.GetValueAsInt(Instruction i)
    at DMT.Tasks.BackupFiles.GetVersionInfo()
    at DMT.Tasks.BackupFiles.Patch(PatchData data)
    at DMT.PatchData.Patch()
    at DMTViewer.Program.Main(String[] args)

    process exited with error code -532462766

  6. #21
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    1
    Have a look on the Github page and under Releases grab v1.2. That should be compatible with A16. I'll have a look at backwards compatibility for the next release

  7. #22
    Refugee stone00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HAL9000 View Post
    Have a look on the Github page and under Releases grab v1.2. That should be compatible with A16. I'll have a look at backwards compatibility for the next release
    Hey Hal tried right back to 1.0 same error, hopefully backwards compatible is actually a viable option cause this'll be awesome, I'll be looking forward to next release xD

  8. #23
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by stone00 View Post
    Hey Hal tried right back to 1.0 same error, hopefully backwards compatible is actually a viable option cause this'll be awesome, I'll be looking forward to next release xD
    hi stone00,

    Give this a go: https://github.com/HAL-NINE-THOUSAND...7235.19353.zip

    Cheers,

    Hal

  9. #24
    Refugee ExtremeLurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Burrowed
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    How do you get started with modding the C# assembly? I'm a programmer, but what tool is best to use to view the assembly source? Do you just use ILSpy?

  10. #25
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    1
    dnSpy is what most of us use. It allows manual edits of the DLL for debugging and helping figure stuff out

  11. #26
    Refugee ExtremeLurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Burrowed
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HAL9000 View Post
    dnSpy is what most of us use. It allows manual edits of the DLL for debugging and helping figure stuff out
    Thanks a lot for the info. Looks like a really great tool. Exactly what I'm looking for.

  12. #27
    Colony Founder Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1,164
    Rep Power
    1
    Lets write some Bandit AI then

  13. #28
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ExtremeLurker View Post
    Thanks a lot for the info. Looks like a really great tool. Exactly what I'm looking for.
    The latest version has an experimental option to try running the game in debug mode so you can hit breakpoints placed in dnSpy



    Go to About->Experimental->Enable Debugger and then click the "Debug Exe" button. It will download a modded version of dnSpy and (fingers crossed) get debugging running

    I've had mixed results, sometimes it works and others it crashes but if you're needing extra info about something not working right it's a good place to start.

  14. #29
    Refugee ExtremeLurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Burrowed
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HAL9000 View Post
    The latest version has an experimental option to try running the game in debug mode so you can hit breakpoints placed in dnSpy
    Hey, I'm currently doing debugging just with dnSpy. Does this offer any benefit over that?

  15. #30
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ExtremeLurker View Post
    Hey, I'm currently doing debugging just with dnSpy. Does this offer any benefit over that?
    No, either is good. It just handles swapping to the debug dll and starts the game through dnSpy so you can hit breakpoints. Just saves a few clicks and for those that don't want to start messing with the dlls

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •