Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 52

Thread: Type "gfx pp enable 0" in the console for a huge performance boost.

  1. #16
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    153
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jazztickets View Post
    For servers you need to add

    Code:
    <permission cmd="gfx" permission_level="1000" />
    To the permissions section inside serveradmin.xml (it's where the saves are stored). Then players can run it.
    Is there any specific place I should drop that line in the serveradmin.xml file? At the beginning, in the middle, last line? Iam not familiar with that kind of changes?

  2. #17
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Amanitasec View Post
    Is there any specific place I should drop that line in the serveradmin.xml file? At the beginning, in the middle, last line? Iam not familiar with that kind of changes?
    Anywhere in the <permissions> section

  3. #18
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,143
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    This is almost becoming as important as the "Gluten Free" tag you see everywhere even on things that couldn't possibly be a derivative of wheat....

    I feel I should put a big banner at the top of my mod:

    "Fully Compatible with gfx pp enable 0"

    so people will look at it and say, "Wow, we should try HIS mod. Ravenhearst doesn't claim to work with that".




    Hmmm...I guess I have a short window of time where I could say, "The ONLY MOD claiming FULL COMPATIBILITY with gfx pp enable 0"...

    BUT !!!!

    Does gfx pp enable 0 work on A17.2?

  4. #19
    Reconstructionist Aerial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    1
    Is there an equivalent command to the server config one for multiplayer co-op so the joining player(s) can use the gfx pp enable 0 setting?

  5. #20
    Super Moderator Roland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    On a Zipline
    Posts
    14,940
    Rep Power
    2
    Itís the same one but the server admin must give them permission. The how to is already posted above.

  6. #21
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey I've just tested the command and I found the exact shader is killing the performance, at least for me. No surprises here, the shader is Screen Space Reflections (ssr) and halves my fps by 50% indoors with a GTX 1080:

    You can disable just this one and leave all other shaders enabled:

    Code:
    "gfx pp ssr 0"
    And thats all. This way your game will not go that ugly as typing gfx pp enable 0. The visual difference is very minimal. Display FPS with F8 key to discover it by yourself. Can you report if I'm not alone here?


    I was reporting that in the bug thread in the past with more detail:

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...l=1#post953052

  7. #22
    Fun Pimps Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,796
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLKnight View Post
    Hey I've just tested the command and I found the exact shader is killing the performance, at least for me. No surprises here, the shader is Screen Space Reflections (ssr) and halves my fps by 50% indoors with a GTX 1080...
    SSR can be pretty bad. It works fine for me, but I have a RTX 2070 and play at moderate resolutions (1080 or 1440). Disabling SSR at 4k I get a 33% FPS boost.

    I just fixed a slow memory leak issue, so there is a good chance we will be putting out a 17.4. If so it will also contain:
    Changed gfx command default permission, so all clients can use.

  8. #23
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    96
    Rep Power
    0
    Works like a charm... Gone from 25 to 70 FPS on average on my old potato. Only thing noted is really bad graphics on tilled soil. wasnt to great before either though...

  9. #24
    Reconstructionist Aerial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    It’s the same one but the server admin must give them permission. The how to is already posted above.
    So if I'm hosting one other player on my game I am technically running a server? Where is the server config file I need to modify located?

  10. #25
    Fun Pimps Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,796
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Aerial View Post
    So if I'm hosting one other player on my game I am technically running a server? Where is the server config file I need to modify located?
    On Windows 10 mine is here:
    C:\Users\<name>\AppData\Roaming\7DaysToDie\Saves

  11. #26
    Survivor Wigbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    0
    This game is weird.

    I have 8GB of ram. Windows 7 64bit. AMD Phenom(tm)II X 4 820 processor 2.80GHz. NVIDIA GeForce GTX-970. Brick slow HDD.

    I have every graphics option in 7DTD turned up all the way.

    I have super slow internet access. ( Whatever the rate is when you have used all your interwebz bandwidth and they throttle your connection )

    I have Zero performance issues. Smooth as butter.

    My only performance issues is it takes an extremely long time to make a RWG map.( With this new update it is quite a bit faster eg. 15 minutes to make an 8K. )

    The performance issues in 7DTD are all over the map. Weird I tell you.

  12. #27
    Reconstructionist Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    630
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLKnight View Post
    Hey I've just tested the command and I found the exact shader is killing the performance, at least for me. No surprises here, the shader is Screen Space Reflections (ssr) and halves my fps by 50% indoors with a GTX 1080:

    You can disable just this one and leave all other shaders enabled:

    Code:
    "gfx pp ssr 0"
    And thats all. This way your game will not go that ugly as typing gfx pp enable 0. The visual difference is very minimal. Display FPS with F8 key to discover it by yourself. Can you report if I'm not alone here?


    I was reporting that in the bug thread in the past with more detail:

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...l=1#post953052
    Yes that does it for me.
    Turning off the SSAO would be overkill and make the game look pretty flat inside.

  13. #28
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    SSR can be pretty bad. It works fine for me, but I have a RTX 2070 and play at moderate resolutions (1080 or 1440). Disabling SSR at 4k I get a 33% FPS boost.

    I just fixed a slow memory leak issue, so there is a good chance we will be putting out a 17.4. If so it will also contain:
    Changed gfx command default permission, so all clients can use.

    Hey faatal, thanks for your answer and the effort. Would be possible to reduce the quality of reflections in "low" and "medium" settings, and/or maybe disable in the surface of blocks or if not possible reduce the precision of reflections in blocks? Fps cuts in half switching from off to low indoors, but not when looking at water surfaces.

  14. #29
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    591
    Rep Power
    1
    nVidia 1060 proprietary drivers
    32GB Ram, client currently using 16GB.
    3 SSDs with lots of spare space.
    Swap file utilization: 0
    Linux - Slackware 64 bit 4.19.37 kernel. xfce

    I picked an indoor scene with a few torches and shadows and a view out the window. Nice sunrise.

    Eye candy maxed out including shadow settings. Vsync off. FPS: 4 (yes, four).

    gfx pp enable 0: Scene becomes washed out, fps increases to 4.5

    At this point, something else is sucking FPS so badly that enabling/disabling this makes no difference:

    Change reflection quality from Ultra+ to off. FPS changes from 4 to 6
    Reflected shadows from yes to no: no change in FPS
    Shadows distance from far to near: FPS changes from 6 to 8

    Shadows distance off: fps increases from 8 to 45

    Now I try gfx pp ssr 0. FPS increase from 45 to 50
    gfx pp enable 0: fps increase from 50 to 60

    Motion Blur, SSAO and Depth of Field settings do not seem to have an appreciable effect on FPS

    So what I'm seeing is that shadows are a severe FPS sucker. I can max out everything else and get great fps, but turn shadows on and the game is not playable.

    Changing the shader settings doesn't help when shadows are on makes no significant difference. Changing shader settings with shadows off gives me a 15 fps boots, but at that point I don't really need it.

    Shadows. They are death to FPS.

    Note that I'm using a linux client, and it's very possible the optimization level for linux client is very different than Windows clients. Remember A14? How they seriously screwed the lighting, and for a while the shaders, for the linux client? I had to use Wine and play the windows version on linux, as the linux client back in A14 was mostly unplayable.

  15. #30
    Fun Pimps Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,796
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by HeLLKnight View Post
    Hey faatal, thanks for your answer and the effort. Would be possible to reduce the quality of reflections in "low" and "medium" settings, and/or maybe disable in the surface of blocks or if not possible reduce the precision of reflections in blocks? Fps cuts in half switching from off to low indoors, but not when looking at water surfaces.
    Low already has extremenly basic reflections going on. The main difference in the reflection settings is how fast it renders the faces of the reflection cube map. The resolution of those is not that high and lowering it make little difference.

    The reflection probe system needs to be redesigned to use multiple probes that blend together instead of constantly updating one, but that is a bunch of work and don't know when someone can get to it.
    Last edited by faatal; 4 Weeks Ago at 06:19 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •