Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 7 Days to Die Mod Localization loader

  1. #1
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    1

    Post [TOOL] 7 Days to Die Mod Localization loader

    7 Days to Die Mod Localization loader v4.6a
    Coded by mr.devolver

    Hello everyone!

    This is my first contribution to the mod community.

    For those of you who are like me and want to play with a lot of mods installed, but don't feel like
    adding all those mod localization files manually to your game, I created a simple batch script
    to automate the process. I know I'm not the best coder, so this script is not perfect and it's highly
    experimental, but feel free to improve it and share your improved version with us!

    Description:
    This script is supposed to go through all of your 7 Days to Die mods
    and automatically load their localization.txt and localization - quest.txt
    files into the original game localization files.

    Before making any changes, this script creates a backup of your original
    game localization files.

    Warning:
    It does NOT keep track of your changes, so if you want to keep your
    current backup, you should save it to a special directory somewhere
    outside of its original location.

    Please note that this script must run from your Mods directory.
    If you're running it from a different location, it will not work.

    UPDATE #1
    Please note that for the best experience, you should always make sure that all installed mods that use localizations have their localization files properly named and formatted.

    Proper file names are localization.txt and localization - quest.txt (if available).

    I've seen at least one mod which did not use proper format and I had to edit it manually to make it work with my script. It was a mod called Sol_RabbitTraps which is a cool mod, but its localization file name was not a proper one and its format assumed that you will manually edit the localization file when adding this mod.

    This was the format:
    Replace:

    perkTheHuntsmanRank1Desc,progression,Perk,New,Harv est 20% more resources from animals using any bladed tool or weapon. Learn to craft Primative Rabbit Trap.,,,,,
    perkTheHuntsmanRank4Desc,progression,Perk,New,Harv est 80% more resources from animals using any bladed tool or weapon. Learn to craft Reusable Rabbit Trap.,,,,,

    Add:

    Herbivore_Bait_Desc,items,Resources,New,Used to craft Baited Traps.,,,,,
    Unbaited_Primitive_Rabbit_Trap_Desc,items,Resource s,New,Add Herbivore Bait to this.,,,,,
    Baited_Primitive_Rabbit_Trap_Desc,blocks,Block,New ,Place on terrain within sunlight and wait.,,,,,
    Unbaited_Reusable_Rabbit_Trap_Desc,items,Resources ,New,Add Herbivore Bait to this.,,,,,
    Baited_Reusable_Rabbit_Trap_Desc,blocks,Block,New, Place on terrain within sunlight and wait.,,,,,
    Huntsman_Rank_1_Desc,items,Book,New,"For players who already had the perk when the mod was added because they wont have the recipes.".,,,,,
    Huntsman_Rank_4_Desc,items,Book,New,"For players who already had the perk when the mod was added because they wont have the recipes.".,,,,,
    As you can see, this is not something you could just add at the end of the game localization file. Thankfully, my script can deal with this kind of situation automatically, because it automatically replaces the lines starting with the same key word and adds the ones that don't exist yet, so all you have to do in this case is rename the file to localization.txt and my script will add it for you!

    !!!! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!!
    This script is provided AS IS. At this point it's a highly experimental
    alpha version and may damage your game files.

    Feel free to improve it and share your improved version with other users!

    Thanks!

    Update log (v4.6a):
    Fixes:
    * There was a problem which caused that some lines wouldn't be handled properly in some situations.
    Added:
    * Script now checks whether the backup was already created or not and gives you a chance to prevent any changes to it.
    Changed:
    * Script now clears the screen before it does its thing, so that user will be aware of the fact that the process of updating the files already started.
    * Small improvements here and there, not really visible to the user.


    Current version is v4.6a

    Download the current version from here!

    Old versions:
    Download v4.0a from here
    Last edited by mr.devolver; 06-22-2019 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Updated Warning section

  2. #2
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,036
    Rep Power
    1
    Love me some fancy .bat files!

  3. #3
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,745
    Rep Power
    1
    Cool. I'll probably be checking this out in the future.

  4. #4
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    1
    Updated to version 4.6a. Enjoy!

  5. #5
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Canadian Eh
    Posts
    115
    Rep Power
    1
    this is fabulous! Makes it much easier to go through the rebuilding process!

  6. #6
    Hunter Russiandood's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    106
    Rep Power
    0
    Neat! This looks more polished than my batch script :P

    Nice one!

  7. #7
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Drconfused View Post
    this is fabulous! Makes it much easier to go through the rebuilding process!
    Quote Originally Posted by Russiandood View Post
    Neat! This looks more polished than my batch script :P

    Nice one!
    Thank you guys, I'm very happy that you find my creation useful!

    Russiandood, I've heard of your script, but never saw it. Could you point me to it?

  8. #8
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Canadian Eh
    Posts
    115
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.devolver View Post
    Thank you guys, I'm very happy that you find my creation useful!

    Russiandood, I've heard of your script, but never saw it. Could you point me to it?
    Any of my mods have it, I think most if not all of Russiandood's mods have it in there too. I believe that Mayic is using it as well. Not sure whom else has utilized it?

  9. #9
    Ranger bdubyah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    339
    Rep Power
    1
    Now that I got off my butt and decided to do some localization for my stuff, I'll probably include this in my mods if that is okay.

  10. #10
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bdubyah View Post
    Now that I got off my butt and decided to do some localization for my stuff, I'll probably include this in my mods if that is okay.
    Sure, it's ok, but since my script doesn't come with readme text, please let the users know about this thread, so that they can read some informations, advices and recommendations here in case they aren't sure how to use it or if they have some problems using it. I tried my best to cover some stuff in the first post to help with some issues people may run to and I updated the post to let the people know that there is at least one mod which may need some basic manual editing to make it compatible with my script. So far this script has been doing very good job for me, but I haven't heard anything from others yet, so hopefully it works for everyone. Feedback is always welcome.

  11. #11
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Okay well i am doing something wrong and i dont really know what. I am placing the bat file in the directory where vortex stashes the mods and then running it, but every line that goes by in the command prompt has can not open in front. The percentage goes up and will eventually finish but i do not get any results in game, the prefix on all the firearms 2 weapons are still there.

  12. #12
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Chaotic_Knightmare View Post
    Okay well i am doing something wrong and i dont really know what. I am placing the bat file in the directory where vortex stashes the mods and then running it, but every line that goes by in the command prompt has can not open in front. The percentage goes up and will eventually finish but i do not get any results in game, the prefix on all the firearms 2 weapons are still there.
    You have to put the bat file into the base directory called Mods. No subfolder just <GAME DIRECTORY>\Mods\7d2dModLocLoader_46a.bat.
    Also, do you use 7 Days To Die Mod Launcher? If so, make sure to only use it once (to apply SDX mods if applicable) and then use my bat file to install all translations and then run your game directly (avoid running your game through Mod Launcher because it WILL revert ALL the translations back to default).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •