Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Private Server setup Question

  1. #1
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    60
    Rep Power
    0

    Private Server setup Question

    Hello,

    Wife and I are replacing our two computers for ones we can play more resource hungry games on more moothly. However now we have Two (2) systems left and both are the same...

    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core Processor
    Speed 3.8 GHz
    CPU ID 178BFBFF00600F20
    Family 15
    Model 02
    Stepping 0
    RAM 8.0 GB <===( I assume 16 or 24 GB would be ideal for server)
    Video Card: Radeon(TM) RX 460 Graphics
    Manufacturer Chipset: Radeon(TM) RX 460 Graphics
    Dedicated Memory 2.0 GB
    Total Memory 6.0 GB
    Operating System Windows 10
    Service Pack 0
    Size 64-bit

    My question is could i used them to set up a quality server, not lag on server end? If no or yes, what upgrades would you suggest to make them/it better?

    Also here is my Internet speed test, would this be good to handle a server of perhaps 8-10 people?
    107.0 Mbps Download and 10.8 Mbps Upload.

    Thank you for advice and input.

    Chaplain

  2. #2
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,351
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Two Penguins View Post
    Hello,

    Wife and I are replacing our two computers for ones we can play more resource hungry games on more moothly. However now we have Two (2) systems left and both are the same...

    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core Processor
    Speed 3.8 GHz
    CPU ID 178BFBFF00600F20
    Family 15
    Model 02
    Stepping 0
    RAM 8.0 GB <===( I assume 16 or 24 GB would be ideal for server)
    Video Card: Radeon(TM) RX 460 Graphics
    Manufacturer Chipset: Radeon(TM) RX 460 Graphics
    Dedicated Memory 2.0 GB
    Total Memory 6.0 GB
    Operating System Windows 10
    Service Pack 0
    Size 64-bit

    My question is could i used them to set up a quality server, not lag on server end? If no or yes, what upgrades would you suggest to make them/it better?

    Also here is my Internet speed test, would this be good to handle a server of perhaps 8-10 people?
    107.0 Mbps Download and 10.8 Mbps Upload.

    Thank you for advice and input.

    Chaplain
    I don't think a headless server really needs a lot of memory, A17 further reduced memory usage. GPU is totally irrelevant, CPU also looks quite capable for the workload unless you want to invite a lot of people on your server (IO bandwidth could be the limit eventually). I would put in a SSD if you don't have one already.

    What is insufficient is your upload speed. At least in A16 we tried to host games ourselves and the low upload speed of our internet connections always made it suck for the players coming from outside, even if only one (while machines on the LAN naturally worked perfectly). We finally succumbed and rented a server.

  3. #3
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    666
    Rep Power
    1
    Windows 10 - strike 1
    8GB ram - strike 2

    8GB ram is probably not enough if you are running under Windows 10. Even with Linux that would be pushing it depending on your map size. I run a 16K map, and Navezgane. I don't have access to my servers atm, but in a bit I'll check them and post exactly how much memory they consume. My server has 32GB ram, and two 7D servers eats up a huge chunk of ram.

    10Mbps upload? I only have 3, and I run two servers with no bandwidth problems at all. You have way more than enough bandwidth to run a server.

    An SSD can make a big difference in server startup and join times, but you won't see much difference once the user is logged in. I'm running on an SSD cause I grabbed a handful of 128 and 256GB SSDs dirt cheap, but when I was running on a physical hard drive, performance was excellent. It just took the server a bit longer to startup.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,310
    Rep Power
    1
    Switch the OS to a headless Ubuntu Server 18.04, and you'll want to use an SSD.

    8GB RAM should be enough for a Vanilla server with no more than the supported 8 players with the current version of the game.

    I agree with Zootal on the upload speed. Your server likely isn't going to push more than 7Mbps at most. (At least, in my testing in 17.2 with a 16k map, the upper limit was around there, and the client has been optimized since.) I'm hosting 2 public 17.4 servers, 2 private servers, 1 a16 server, The Forest, Conan Exiles, Out of Reach, and management bots for all of the above. I pay for 400/10, but actually get about 350/20 and have never had an issue. This includes other people on the network streaming YouTube, Netflix, and playing online games at the same time.

  5. #5
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    666
    Rep Power
    1
    My Navezgane server is currently using 3.5GB.
    My RWG 16K server is currently using 8.3GB ram

    I used to run two 16K maps, and that used up half of the boxes memory.

    This box currently runs:

    (4) Minecraft servers
    (4) Half-Life Opposing Force servers
    (2) 7D2D servers
    (1) Ark server
    (1) DST Server
    Web server, lightly used on non-standard port
    Noip client
    EJabber xmpp server

    Total memory consumption for all of the above is only about 20GB out of 32GB. Half-Life servers use next to no resources, I used to run those on an old Athlon socketA board with ... 512K ram? I had dsl at 256k/256k and I could host 8 players.... ahh the good old days. Minecraft servers are not that bad, either. I don't get a lot of traffic because with the exception of the half-life servers (which use next to zero resources), these are friends and family private servers. Which is how I get away with running so much stuff on one box with my 30/3GB Internet pipe.

    At this point the real resource pigs are:

    First place - 7D2D at 8GB
    Second place - Ark at about 5GB.

    FWIW, the 7D2D is one of the easiest of servers to setup and get going. Kudos to TFP for this. I heavily modify the xml files, which brings me to my only real grief with the 7D server - if you bork an xml file, it might tell you which one, but it won't tell you the offending line. Sometimes I have to restore the file and start all over because I can't find the one thing it doesn't like. It would be really nice if the server could tell us what line of the xml file it is barfing on....

    On the other end of the spectrum, Ark has got to be the most time consuming and aggravating piece of sh*t server I have ever run, mostly because of how ARK handles mods. Either you use someone's server manager program (which I refuse to do), or you go through some annoying and time consuming contortions to get mods working. Mods on ARK on linux are just beyond stupid....

    tl;dr ...

  6. #6
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,351
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by zootal View Post
    10Mbps upload? I only have 3, and I run two servers with no bandwidth problems at all. You have way more than enough bandwidth to run a server.
    Surprising. We tested it with the server being on different PCs in our co-op group (in all there were 3 locations, in the same country but at least partially different providers) and it never worked well. Maybe it was because of packet loss problems or something else then.

  7. #7
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    666
    Rep Power
    1
    3mbps is a HUGE amount of bandwidth for a game server. I find it hard to believe that 7D server is that inefficient. All of my other game servers combined - half-life, dst and minecraft, don't come anywhere close to that.

    I'm curious what the "official" recommendation is...

  8. #8
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,310
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by zootal View Post
    3mbps is a HUGE amount of bandwidth for a game server. I find it hard to believe that 7D server is that inefficient. All of my other game servers combined - half-life, dst and minecraft, don't come anywhere close to that.

    I'm curious what the "official" recommendation is...
    It's not that it's inefficient, it's the huge amount of data being transferred tot he client. The other games you mention aren't Voxel games with a fully destructible 3D Voxel terrain, and have nowhere near the hardware requirements of 7 Days.

    In the current version, connecting to a server for the first time can send the client near 1.5GB of data for the map file on 8k+ sized RWG maps.

    Our min specs for bandwidth haven't been updated in a while. I think everyone is waiting for a18 to re-visit the Min Req for the client and server. Currently is just states "Broadband Internet Connection" which is assumed to be 1.5-3Mbps DSL. That's been the thing since 2013 though.

    As I stated earlier, in actual testing I was able to verify an upload rate of 7Mbps from the server to multiple clients in a17.2. The size of the world maps hasn't changed, so I don't see that number changing much.
    That is just for the initial connection though. Once the main map is downloaded, average rate of data is usually only about 256kbps. I currently have three people connected to one of my servers, and the bandwidth average for that is a total of 570Kb, of which 322Kb is being pushed from the server.

  9. #9
    Hunter Kaiser502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    109
    Rep Power
    0

    Help with XML

    Quote Originally Posted by zootal View Post
    My Navezgane server is currently using 3.5GB.
    My RWG 16K server is currently using 8.3GB ram

    I used to run two 16K maps, and that used up half of the boxes memory.

    This box currently runs:

    (4) Minecraft servers
    (4) Half-Life Opposing Force servers
    (2) 7D2D servers
    (1) Ark server
    (1) DST Server
    Web server, lightly used on non-standard port
    Noip client
    EJabber xmpp server

    Total memory consumption for all of the above is only about 20GB out of 32GB. Half-Life servers use next to no resources, I used to run those on an old Athlon socketA board with ... 512K ram? I had dsl at 256k/256k and I could host 8 players.... ahh the good old days. Minecraft servers are not that bad, either. I don't get a lot of traffic because with the exception of the half-life servers (which use next to zero resources), these are friends and family private servers. Which is how I get away with running so much stuff on one box with my 30/3GB Internet pipe.

    At this point the real resource pigs are:

    First place - 7D2D at 8GB
    Second place - Ark at about 5GB.

    FWIW, the 7D2D is one of the easiest of servers to setup and get going. Kudos to TFP for this. I heavily modify the xml files, which brings me to my only real grief with the 7D server - if you bork an xml file, it might tell you which one, but it won't tell you the offending line. Sometimes I have to restore the file and start all over because I can't find the one thing it doesn't like. It would be really nice if the server could tell us what line of the xml file it is barfing on....

    On the other end of the spectrum, Ark has got to be the most time consuming and aggravating piece of sh*t server I have ever run, mostly because of how ARK handles mods. Either you use someone's server manager program (which I refuse to do), or you go through some annoying and time consuming contortions to get mods working. Mods on ARK on linux are just beyond stupid....

    tl;dr ...
    Use note ++ sometimes it will show were the broken line is, you can also use the compare plug in to show you the ones you changed. Just do the compare plugin and it will show line for line. Also the breaks or errors will show red on the far left. This will save you from having to redo the whole file.

  10. #10
    Survivor Ti2xGr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm running approx. 7GB of RAM (Server has 16G), I7 3.6 on a 10K map and host 10 users regularly with no issues with 300D, 10U along with other normal traffic on my network (several TVs, computers, phones, Smarthome devices, and PS4s in the background. I would recommend running a program like TCP Optimizer to ensure your system's network card isn't throttling your bandwidth. If your Router or modem are a chokepoint, that is another thing that you can upgrade to help. I went through and ran fresh Coax to my cable modem from the street connection directly to my cable modem (no splitters or anything that could degrade signal). Obviously, an SSD drive will help with some of the performance issues. I'd definitely keep an eye on your memory usage and eliminate any background applications/functions you can. I went through process by process to remove anything not needed and don't even run anti-virus when the server is up. I also recommend rebooting your server regularly to flush memory cache.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •