Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: game is unplayably stuttery with 8gb of ram

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    game is unplayably stuttery with 8gb of ram

    just as it sounds, the game takes up 97% of my ram, [i have 8gb] and is very stuttery because of that, nearly unplayable and with frequent crashing due to memory usage. cant even play the game. amazing.

    windows 7 sp1, latest updates
    amd fx6300 six core processor at 3.5ghz
    8gb kingston ddr3 ram
    1050ti, latest drivers


    jesus christ i just want to play the game at a frame rate above 20

  2. #2
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    635
    Rep Power
    1
    Drop in some more ram. 8GB just isn't enough to play this game, you really need more memory.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,139
    Rep Power
    1
    Using a SSD instead of a slow HDD helps a lot too.

    Your system probably needs some optimization too.

  4. #4
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    i wish i could afford more ram
    just cant happen
    edit: really cant afford to pay 66$ for an ssd+more ram, might not sound like much but just buying the game took some savings
    Last edited by EdwardSmith; 3 Weeks Ago at 10:03 PM.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,139
    Rep Power
    1
    If you want to post a link to a published Speccy report, I can give you a good rundown on how to optimize your system. Instructions are in the Sticky thread.

  6. #6
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    i know how computers work, 'optimizing' my computer wont do anything, 7dtd just devours all of my ram

    - - - Updated - - -

    but you might as well post the link, even though im sure it wont do anything to stop 7dtd from devouring my ram

  7. #7
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,139
    Rep Power
    1
    From the sticky...
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    If it is about a performance, compatibility issue or anything like that provide system stats (Speccy is an excellent tool to publish system information.)
    A screenshot of your video settings for the game may also be helpful.

  8. #8
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    literaly everything is on the lowest, especially texture res and view distance
    edit: bloom is on and the resolution is 1280x1024, everything else is at the lowest
    Last edited by EdwardSmith; 3 Weeks Ago at 09:12 PM. Reason: clarity

  9. #9
    Scavenger ZombieSurvivor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    48
    Rep Power
    0
    Have you tried defragmenting your HDD and if so what kind of defragmenting did you do?
    You have a better graphics card than I do and yet I now run the game smoothly since A17.4
    I only get stuttering when I turn on specific graphic options in game.


    Do you do a custom profile for 7D2D using Nvidia control panel?
    Also can you take a screen shot of your setting in 7D2D. I would like to see your setting, problem might be wrong settings.

  10. #10
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    no, it has nothing to do with my graphics card, its an issue with the game taking up all of my ram for no good reason

    like is said before EVERYTHING is at the lowest possible setting

  11. #11
    Zombie Hunter Exxodous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    496
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by EdwardSmith View Post
    no, it has nothing to do with my graphics card, its an issue with the game taking up all of my ram for no good reason

    like is said before EVERYTHING is at the lowest possible setting
    People with lesser systems than you appear to be running the game fine AND offering solutions and or tools that may help. Instead of stubbornly blaming the game it might be useful to try listening....

    In that manner I'll offer my suggestion. Try turning resolution down. My wife who only has 6 gig of RAM on a 6 year old laptop, found that really helpful and was able to turn textures back up. She has a little stutter but its playable.

  12. #12
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,139
    Rep Power
    1
    A 1050 is bottom-end for it's bracket, but it should still be capable of 40-60 FPS at 1080p with moderate settings.

    The game relies heavily on CPU and RAM, and if your HDD is slow, that will affect gameplay as well.

    I offered to help further, but without detailed information from the Speccy report, there isn't much I can tell you to do other than upgrade the core hardware.

  13. #13
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    it has nothing to do with my gpu or cpu, its an issue with the game taking up all of my rama enwuycbewiucbwe.jpg

  14. #14
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    192
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by EdwardSmith View Post
    no, it has nothing to do with my graphics card, its an issue with the game taking up all of my ram for no good reason
    Does the game use too much memory, or do I not have enough... Deep thought...

    Do games "reason"?... Deeper thoughts...

  15. #15
    Zombie Hunter Exxodous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    496
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by EdwardSmith View Post
    it has nothing to do with my gpu or cpu, its an issue with the game taking up all of my rama enwuycbewiucbwe.jpg
    Ok, your obviously correct, the game is just unplayable. All the rest of us that are playing without issues must be doing something terribly wrong.

    One has to wonder since we all downloaded the same game, what is the difference...hmmmm. If we could just come up with some variables between systems that can and systems that can't play we'd be on to something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •