Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Arrow Slits don't work very well?

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0

    Arrow Slits don't work very well?

    I seem to hit the arrow slit more often than the zombie on the other side and the field of fire width is really quite narrow.

    While this is realistic I am not a medieval archer so a little change to make the slit wider so I can actually hit things rather than having my giant multi-layered defensive tower chewed out from under me while I waste hundreds of arrows hitting nothing would be nice.

    I'm thinking of replacing the double height arrow slits around the periphery of my tower with a single vertical plate and a gap above or double stacked thin columns but this would leave me exposed.

    It seems like a really strong trade-off between being able to hit things or being fully protected.

    Does anybody else have this issue or am I just being dumb.

  2. #2
    Refugee
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Use sideways ramp blocks and iron bars? The arrow slits are kind of useless. I think Grand Spartan puts them in front of dart traps in his shock base thing but I've only ever used them for aesthetics.

  3. #3
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    0
    Not just you, I've tried arrow slits a few times, and generally destroyed them, and used iron bars instead.

  4. #4
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,652
    Rep Power
    1
    I agree. While I have gotten used to it (and set my mouse to 800 DPI setting) and rarely hit the slits anymore, I still think the gap should be slightly widened more. My sister outright refuses to use them because she's too stubborn to lower her DPI settings which makes aiming through a tiny slit like that near impossible.

    Alternatively though, you can use angle blocks one on top of the other in reverse fashion so that the blocks look like they're floating / unsupported, and you can even do corners in that manner too making them even better than arrow slit blocks. Only disadvantage is range... because it's either angled down or up at a 45%, you can only attack short range. You can also do sideways, but it makes the base look weird.
    Last edited by Fox; 07-06-2019 at 01:38 PM.

  5. #5
    Inventor
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    967
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by wizard puke View Post
    Use sideways ramp blocks and iron bars? The arrow slits are kind of useless. I think Grand Spartan puts them in front of dart traps in his shock base thing but I've only ever used them for aesthetics.
    I also use the arrow slits to protect my dart traps. Since they shoot through the arrow slits and the arrow slits can be upgraded to steel, you have a very good protection.

  6. #6
    Colony Founder Cadamier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Winnetka, CA
    Posts
    1,030
    Rep Power
    1
    Not being dumb, just need practice!

    I find them useful in the beginning especially when cobblestone is all you have. I've become accustomed to shooting through them wither it be arrows or guns. But yes the slit is very narrow and so I place them the wrong way. The ones I put against the wall along the roofs are parallel to the wall so I can have a long slit to shoot down against any zeds whacking on the walls.

  7. #7
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, taking on board the comments you've all kindly made I have replaced them with '50' pillars which are also pretty useless so I will be swapping some of them out for iron bars. Kind of steep material cost at 100 iron each, ouchy.

    Strange how all the cobblestone stuff is 4 material units each no matter what physical size or shape it is. The 100 pillar is twice the size of the 50 pillar yet it has the same cost and the same HP. Quite odd?

  8. #8
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,652
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Painless View Post
    Well, taking on board the comments you've all kindly made I have replaced them with '50' pillars which are also pretty useless so I will be swapping some of them out for iron bars. Kind of steep material cost at 100 iron each, ouchy.

    Strange how all the cobblestone stuff is 4 material units each no matter what physical size or shape it is. The 100 pillar is twice the size of the 50 pillar yet it has the same cost and the same HP. Quite odd?
    The devs haven't mastered the concept of balance yet.

  9. #9
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    I've seen far worse in other games.

    I'm still smarting from the discovery that I can't craft flagstone spike traps. Grrr. lol

  10. #10
    Colony Founder SnowDog1942's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1,558
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Painless View Post
    Well, taking on board the comments you've all kindly made I have replaced them with '50' pillars which are also pretty useless so I will be swapping some of them out for iron bars. Kind of steep material cost at 100 iron each, ouchy.

    Strange how all the cobblestone stuff is 4 material units each no matter what physical size or shape it is. The 100 pillar is twice the size of the 50 pillar yet it has the same cost and the same HP. Quite odd?
    The 100 pillar is exactly the same size as the 50 pillar. One voxel.

  11. #11
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    I mean how much space it takes up within the block, they are different sizes.

  12. #12
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0
    In A18 you only can only make the basic block, but then you can change to any shape available before placing it. This will make building a whole lot easier and allow you to make changes on the fly as you build. So all blocks being the same cost in materials will make sense .

  13. #13
    Survivor
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by seagas View Post
    In A18 you only can only make the basic block, but then you can change to any shape available before placing it. This will make building a whole lot easier and allow you to make changes on the fly as you build. So all blocks being the same cost in materials will make sense .
    I mean it looks amazing sure,but it feels kind of cheat . In A16 we could build the majority of the blocks with our hands but needed to craft each block seperately and it would take a little bit of time and inventory space to do so. Then in A17 we had to craft certain blocks from the mixer ,the saw table and the workbench . In A18 this is changed again and we can build all that stuff without the need of a station . Building is easier than any other version because you don't have to prebuild anything anymore.

    I don't know how to feel about this.

  14. #14
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    Cant judge before we try it really. Well, we can but that would be mean. lol

  15. #15
    Zombie Hunter AlyssaFaden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    407
    Rep Power
    1
    the arrow slits were and are garbage. Part of the problem is in medieval times your said archer could lean into the arrowslit space and get close to the arrow slit itself. Visibility and effective width of the slit were considerably better than what we have here. In 7 days your toon can't enter the slit space and therefore get anywhere near close to the firing gap. It basically means you are firing from 1 block over; real archers don't have that restriction.

    it's a design flaw they seemingly didn't think about.

    Tried them once, knocked them out, never used them since.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •