Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Question regarding meshes

  1. #16
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,399
    Rep Power
    1
    You can extract the old textures and if they fit on the new models, just point to the textures.

  2. #17
    Colony Founder KhaineGB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    1,920
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrakicking View Post
    Hi! I'm bumping this thread mainly because, as I had envisioned, I'm stuck on finding ways to make the idea I had come to life (and presently I don't have much time to investigate other trickier, more lengthy routes either), so I guess I'm going to reveal what my goal was.

    So basically, I was wondering if it was posible to somehow add the old zombies back into the game (the ones that the game had before they were replaced with the new ones in A13 or so). My original idea was to see if replacing the meshes of the new zombies with the ones from the old zombies would work, since I figured they were still somewhere in the game and were compatible with the mocap animations.

    I did find the names of the meshes from the old zombies, so I proceeded with the swap out. Sadly and predictably, all I got were many errors.

    I know that if I put enough research in Unity, SDX, Xpath or similar systems, there's a possibility of finding a workaround, but I lack time and knowledge for that right now, so it is time to ask you guys what your thoughts are on this matter.
    Yes and no.

    I've done it.

    I had to rip the zombies + textures, toss them into mixamo to rig them, use mixamo to find appropriate animations, save all the anims, take the lot into unity, animate it, apply textures/materials, export it as a unity3d file and then use animationSDX to load it.

  3. #18
    Colony Founder Xtrakicking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Behind your fridge
    Posts
    4,177
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    You can extract the old textures and if they fit on the new models, just point to the textures.
    I've thought about it, but no matter how you look at it, without the meshes they'll just look like someone just painted over them, especially if you try to reproduce the naked guys.

  4. #19
    Colony Founder Xtrakicking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Behind your fridge
    Posts
    4,177
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by KhaineGB View Post
    Yes and no.

    I've done it.

    I had to rip the zombies + textures, toss them into mixamo to rig them, use mixamo to find appropriate animations, save all the anims, take the lot into unity, animate it, apply textures/materials, export it as a unity3d file and then use animationSDX to load it.
    Well, that sounds like quite the process... I'm guessing that's the only way to do it, unless one finds the original old zombies Unity assets pack and adds them into the game with SDX.

  5. #20
    Colony Founder KhaineGB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    1,920
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrakicking View Post
    Well, that sounds like quite the process... I'm guessing that's the only way to do it, unless one finds the original old zombies Unity assets pack and adds them into the game with SDX.
    That's the only way I managed to do it with success. I mean, your way MIGHT work, but no guarantees

  6. #21
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Alpha 16
    Posts
    2,075
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrakicking View Post
    Hi! I'm bumping this thread mainly because, as I had envisioned, I'm stuck on finding ways to make the idea I had come to life (and presently I don't have much time to investigate other trickier, more lengthy routes either), so I guess I'm going to reveal what my goal was.

    So basically, I was wondering if it was posible to somehow add the old zombies back into the game (the ones that the game had before they were replaced with the new ones in A13 or so). My original idea was to see if replacing the meshes of the new zombies with the ones from the old zombies would work, since I figured they were still somewhere in the game and were compatible with the mocap animations.

    I did find the names of the meshes from the old zombies, so I proceeded with the swap out. Sadly and predictably, all I got were many errors.

    I know that if I put enough research in Unity, SDX, Xpath or similar systems, there's a possibility of finding a workaround, but I lack time and knowledge for that right now, so it is time to ask you guys what your thoughts are on this matter.
    It would be very cool! I dream of doing it.
    But i need to learn Unity better.

    My guess is the old model did not have function of dismemberment and will require manual rework. In addition, the new animation is not suitable for old models(not only technically) - need export from old.
    I think that all this can be done by Xyth - so you need to learn from him.
    https://youtu.be/pX3FjXu7ZlM

    I guess that the old model zombies were more interesting! With what Alpha did You start playing 7dtd?
    Last edited by n2n1; 09-10-2019 at 12:03 PM.

  7. #22
    Colony Founder Xtrakicking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Behind your fridge
    Posts
    4,177
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by n2n1 View Post
    It would be very cool! I dream of doing it.
    But i need to learn Unity better.

    My guess is the old model did not have function of dismemberment and will require manual rework. In addition, the new animation is not suitable for old models(not only technically) - need export from old.
    I think that all this can be done by Xyth - so you need to learn from him.
    https://youtu.be/pX3FjXu7ZlM

    I guess that the old model zombies were more interesting! With what Alpha did You start playing 7dtd?
    I'm an old timer. I played the game since the Pre-Alpha (as my "Original Survivor" badge proudly asserts).

    I also need to learn more Unity. I swear that back when the new animations were making it to the gamebut weren't quite there yet (Alpha 12 or so), you could spawn the old zombie models and they would play the new animations. I'm guessing they were tests; but that basically showed that at least some old models were already suitable for the new animations. This made me think that maybe it was possible to just replace the new models with the old ones.

    But yeah, it's very possible that one would need to completely rework the animations. I wish I had more time to do it myself, cause it would be a kickass mod.

  8. #23
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Alpha 16
    Posts
    2,075
    Rep Power
    1
    Yes, exactly, in A12 along with the old attended the new zombies.
    I know that the new was already working with his new animation, but about the compatibility of old zombies with new animations - i'm not sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •