Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Old version - windows 10

  1. #1
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0

    Old version - windows 10

    Hello, I wanted to run again old version (9.3). Unfortunately, I cant manage to play it. Everytime I wanted to create world, i got error message, screenshot attached.
    I tried everything... delete all saves, all files and re-download it again, compatibility settings..
    I have Windows 10 - 64bit
    Intel Core i7 - 5820k; 32GB RAM, 2x RX 580; and game is installed on SSD disc, system is on another SSD.

    I also tried today to ask on steam forum, but still no help. I tried also to install latest update to win, and to AMD driver. Could someone please look onto it?

    PS: Im asking there, because I dont know where else I could ask, and its old version.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Alpha 16.4
    Posts
    2,041
    Rep Power
    1
    Try to delete the data from the registry, or, delete the UMA-character settings (from saves).

    (Somewhere here is a tutorial on running old versions).
    Last edited by n2n1; 08-11-2019 at 06:55 PM.

  3. #3
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    When I had win 7, I could run that version perfectly. Now under win 10, something went wrong
    Last edited by konva; 08-11-2019 at 07:51 PM. Reason: some changes

  4. #4
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    Pastebin code: https://pastebin.com/Rcrp59Sm - here is the crash log, I did all the clearing which is mentioned on some guide.
    //Second run - worked, also when I want save, "worked" but continuing gives me this message, attached below.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by konva; 08-11-2019 at 07:57 PM.

  5. #5
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,680
    Rep Power
    1
    Was Windows 10 even supported back then? Cuz if not... good luck getting that to work properly or at all.

  6. #6
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    well, it should be. Requirements was win 7 or higher

  7. #7
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok find another clue:
    1) When I start random gen, exit and reload game, that error messages above pops.
    2) When I start Navezgane map, on loadgame list it appears under name: MyGame1 - this means game is renamed, but still I can get in.

  8. #8
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,680
    Rep Power
    1
    Are you running the game in crossfire / SLI? If so, try disabling / removing the card to see if that makes a difference.

  9. #9
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    79
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm currently doing a playthrough of 7.1 and I've had some issues for sure on my Win 10 machine however these tricks have worked for me.

    Don't play A17 it seems to cause some conflicts.....not sure where since A7 doesn't use shared files.
    I created an "Old 7dtd" folder in root of different drive, moved the old version there.
    After each use I have to move it again.....So I get d:\Old 7dtd\A7-1, then a7-2 and whatnot...don't know why but it works for me.
    Always reboot before playing and don't pass go, just start playing. Like I said I don't know why these things work, but so far I've got 4 hours of Alpha 7.1 in over the course of a week.

  10. #10
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    So, you said that When I get the 9.3 version, I can start playing, then after I quit, just move it into another folder? And before another play just reboot PC? I played with same PC like over year, windows 10 I use about month

  11. #11
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,680
    Rep Power
    1
    Reasons why I still stick with Windows 7... it's just better.

  12. #12
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    Reasons why I still stick with Windows 7... it's just better.
    agreed, but win 10 has more stable HTC vive compared to win 7.. unfortunately also I lost install dvd with win 7, and win 10 I bought for about 2,5 dolars

  13. #13
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    79
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by konva View Post
    So, you said that When I get the 9.3 version, I can start playing, then after I quit, just move it into another folder? And before another play just reboot PC? I played with same PC like over year, windows 10 I use about month
    I don't know 100% for 9, but what I'm playing there is no registry use nor App Data, it's all self contained in the download

  14. #14
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, still doesnt solve problems running 9.3 version.
    Lets summary all I have figured out:
    1) Sometimes, when entering new world, it crashes, leaving log in folder.
    2) Sometimes, I can enter random gen world, but when I exit, I cant rejoin
    3) When I create new world (RWG or Navezgane), name of the world changes to MyGame1 and set to naverzage, thats why the 2) occurs
    4) Sometimes, when I enter new world, some error appears in console.

    What I have done:
    1) complete cleanup described in some guide(app data, registry, etc.)
    2) Reinstall, deleting all files, installing fresh 9.3 version.
    3) Tried both games (navezgane and RWG)

    Could use dev help maybe there
    Last edited by konva; 4 Weeks Ago at 02:05 PM.

  15. #15
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    0
    So guess noone can help me :/ sad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •