Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Do i need to upgrade JUST my RAM?

  1. #1
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    149
    Rep Power
    0

    Do i need to upgrade JUST my RAM?

    As the title suggests, i know i need to upgrade my graphics card [thats next month or so though] but to play 7D2D at a reasonable level with A18 do i need to upgrade the RAM urgently?

    Processor - AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Six-Core Processor 3.60GHZ
    Video - GeForce GT 1030
    Ram - 8GB

    I am a total tech noob so a bit of googling said that graphically the game should run fine [but not highest settings] but will lag most of the time unless i upgrade the ram since the game [and most] will use most/all of it?


    Edit: Reason im asking this is because in A17 i was able to fix the FPS issue by reducing the resolution [and having a steady 40>60fps] but trying A18 resulted in snail pace.

  2. #2
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,735
    Rep Power
    1
    Definite GPU upgrade first, ram will run the game fine for a while but you might encounter crashes or other issues when the ram runs out (especially if on Windows 10)... but it is doable at least for a while.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,693
    Rep Power
    1
    I agree, though RAM is pretty cheap to upgrade, you really want to get rid of the potato GPU first.

  4. #4
    Hunter
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    127
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rashnudamz View Post
    As the title suggests, i know i need to upgrade my graphics card [thats next month or so though] but to play 7D2D at a reasonable level with A18 do i need to upgrade the RAM urgently?

    Processor - AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Six-Core Processor 3.60GHZ
    Video - GeForce GT 1030
    Ram - 8GB

    I am a total tech noob so a bit of googling said that graphically the game should run fine [but not highest settings] but will lag most of the time unless i upgrade the ram since the game [and most] will use most/all of it?


    Edit: Reason im asking this is because in A17 i was able to fix the FPS issue by reducing the resolution [and having a steady 40>60fps] but trying A18 resulted in snail pace.
    Currently; servers are running about 8.5GB ram under stress.
    Client runs about 2.5gb

    Your processor seems usable, gfx need an update for sure. If you purchase a ram upgrade, get a single 16gb stick.
    Id prolly look for like a Intel 1050-1060(GT fine) for budget. Many are on sale for a good price if you shop.
    I suggest intel for GFX even tho I also use AMD hardware.

    PS:I gave you an idea of upgrades on a budget.
    If you are looking for a total rehaul; id suggest looking at the new ryzen 8s cuz they are REALLY good.
    MainBoard that has 2 ram slots, use 16gb stick or x2. Make sure it has about 6-8USB ports if yer gaming so you dont have to switch crud around all the time. It also needs 2 PCiE x16+ slots.
    Hard Drive you want a Solid State Drive for your windows files (I use a dedicated for windows files.) and a 2ndary hard drive either HDD or SSD (HDD has longevity, SSD is by far the performance selection but doesnt last 25% of the time)
    PSU i only look for wattage and surge protection. NEVER buy a PSU without surge protection; EVER. Period.
    Last edited by Pichii; 10-09-2019 at 05:10 PM.

  5. #5
    Ranger
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    280
    Rep Power
    0
    Honestly, i wouldn't upgrade anything right now.
    There's a major issue with FPS now, and once that's solved there's no telling how much your FPS might jump.

  6. #6
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,735
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Wulf View Post
    Honestly, i wouldn't upgrade anything right now.
    There's a major issue with FPS now, and once that's solved there's no telling how much your FPS might jump.
    Don't expect miracles...

  7. #7
    Colony Founder Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,993
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pichii View Post
    Currently; servers are running about 8.5GB ram under stress.
    Client runs about 2.5gb

    Your processor seems usable, gfx need an update for sure. If you purchase a ram upgrade, get a single 16gb stick.
    Id prolly look for like a Intel 1050-1060(GT fine) for budget. Many are on sale for a good price if you shop.
    I suggest intel for GFX even tho I also use AMD hardware.

    PS:I gave you an idea of upgrades on a budget.
    If you are looking for a total rehaul; id suggest looking at the new ryzen 8s cuz they are REALLY good.
    MainBoard that has 2 ram slots, use 16gb stick or x2. Make sure it has about 6-8USB ports if yer gaming so you dont have to switch crud around all the time. It also needs 2 PCiE x16+ slots.
    Hard Drive you want a Solid State Drive for your windows files (I use a dedicated for windows files.) and a 2ndary hard drive either HDD or SSD (HDD has longevity, SSD is by far the performance selection but doesnt last 25% of the time)
    PSU i only look for wattage and surge protection. NEVER buy a PSU without surge protection; EVER. Period.
    For some reason 7d2d eats more then 2.5gb of my system ram. Perhaps these are memory leaks?

  8. #8
    Nomad
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    358
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Pichii View Post
    Currently; servers are running about 8.5GB ram under stress.
    Client runs about 2.5gb

    Your processor seems usable, gfx need an update for sure. If you purchase a ram upgrade, get a single 16gb stick.
    Id prolly look for like a Intel 1050-1060(GT fine) for budget. Many are on sale for a good price if you shop.
    I suggest intel for GFX even tho I also use AMD hardware.

    PS:I gave you an idea of upgrades on a budget.
    If you are looking for a total rehaul; id suggest looking at the new ryzen 8s cuz they are REALLY good.
    MainBoard that has 2 ram slots, use 16gb stick or x2. Make sure it has about 6-8USB ports if yer gaming so you dont have to switch crud around all the time. It also needs 2 PCiE x16+ slots.
    Hard Drive you want a Solid State Drive for your windows files (I use a dedicated for windows files.) and a 2ndary hard drive either HDD or SSD (HDD has longevity, SSD is by far the performance selection but doesnt last 25% of the time)
    PSU i only look for wattage and surge protection. NEVER buy a PSU without surge protection; EVER. Period.
    no, dont get a single 16 gig stick

    if youve got 1 stick of 8 gig,MATCH that with another, with exact the same, so dual channel memory works

    yoube probably got at least 4 slots for ram

    so if you have 4 x 2 gig then youll need to replace the whole lot with 2 x 8 or better

  9. #9
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,735
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pichii View Post
    Currently; servers are running about 8.5GB ram under stress.
    Client runs about 2.5gb

    Your processor seems usable, gfx need an update for sure. If you purchase a ram upgrade, get a single 16gb stick.
    Id prolly look for like a Intel 1050-1060(GT fine) for budget. Many are on sale for a good price if you shop.
    I suggest intel for GFX even tho I also use AMD hardware.

    PS:I gave you an idea of upgrades on a budget.
    If you are looking for a total rehaul; id suggest looking at the new ryzen 8s cuz they are REALLY good.
    MainBoard that has 2 ram slots, use 16gb stick or x2. Make sure it has about 6-8USB ports if yer gaming so you dont have to switch crud around all the time. It also needs 2 PCiE x16+ slots.
    Hard Drive you want a Solid State Drive for your windows files (I use a dedicated for windows files.) and a 2ndary hard drive either HDD or SSD (HDD has longevity, SSD is by far the performance selection but doesnt last 25% of the time)
    PSU i only look for wattage and surge protection. NEVER buy a PSU without surge protection; EVER. Period.
    There's so much wrong here, I can't even tell if it's a troll post or someone with no knowledge making guesses.

    First off, the client side uses way more than 2.5GB of ram. Servers vary depending on how many players are playing. So you probably got those 2 mixed up. Single stick of ram is dumb. Dual channel provides a 5% boost in performance with no drawbacks. There's no such thing as Intel 1050-1060, and Nvidia GTX 1050 is a downgrade to what he already has, especially if it's a GT series. Ryzen 8 doesn't exist. Why does it matter how many USB ports a motherboard has? Not everyone uses more than 1 or 2. Why does a gaming machine need 2 PCI-e x16 slots? SLI is dead. SSD's have the same life expectancy as a hard drive now. Only difference is that you can better predict when it will die by how much it's been used where as a HDD can die any time whether it's used much or not. All PSU (as far as I know) have surge protection at least to some degree.

    Overall, a terrible post.
    Last edited by Fox; 4 Weeks Ago at 02:23 PM.

  10. #10
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    149
    Rep Power
    0
    So what i did was upgrade my ram to 24gb and upgraded the graphics card to GTX 1070, now the game seems to run perfectly fine at 60fps at the highest settings, also then had to upgrade my power supply so hope this 400+ upgrade is worth it

  11. #11
    Zombie Hunter Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    448
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rashnudamz View Post
    So what i did was upgrade my ram to 24gb and upgraded the graphics card to GTX 1070, now the game seems to run perfectly fine at 60fps at the highest settings, also then had to upgrade my power supply so hope this 400+ upgrade is worth it
    Sounds like you have a nice system now. Good luck.

  12. #12
    Colony Founder Ghostlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,273
    Rep Power
    1
    This game benefits from a really good hard-drive before any other upgrade. If you haven't got an SSD, get that in there first. If you have got an SSD, get a really good one (eg NVMe). You will get much greater improvement from that than any other upgrade, given the engine here is Voxel.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •