Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 84

Thread: Recommended Video Card for A18e?

  1. #46
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    i have a ryzen 5 2600x / strix gtx 1060 6gb overclocked / 16gb / M2 SSD. i can run alpha 18 in ultra at 40 fps - 60 fps havent tried high and medium settings yet.

  2. #47
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0
    My 960 4gb has me 40-60 on medium on windows 10 and 20-40 on linux mint with a 6 core amd cpu running at 3ghz and 16gb ram on a ssd.

  3. #48
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    0
    I have 2 PC's that I run the game on, one for me and one for my wife. My wife gets the RTX2080 which runs the game fantastically. I was getting over 100+ frames before I locked it at 72 setting vsync to half. There was a small issue with the card sounding like it was going to blast to space when it reached 80c, but I seem to have gotten that resolved. The computer I use has a gtx 1050ti running on an AMD fx-8350 and 16 gb RAM. I get around 40-60 fps with medium settings with a few tweaks.

  4. #49
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    96
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah, TFP made the game unplayable for 90% of their players. A17 and A18 both. Frame rates are so crappy I have not played since A17 was released.

    I have I7 CPU with 16 GB RAM, Geforce 960 with 2GB of video RAM. Was getting 3-5 FPS with default settings. Even tried 1600 x 900 with every setting turned off or to low (what ever lowest setting was) and still barely getting 30 FPS with spikes down into the teens. It doesn't have to be imacculate, but make it playable on the lowest of settings without needing a $1000 video card to play it.

    I even hear the Streamers moaning about the frame rates and they usually have very hihg end computers. Very disappointed with TFP lack of consideration for making the game playable...

  5. #50
    Ranger Ti2xGr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    320
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark97348 View Post
    Yeah, TFP made the game unplayable for 90% of their players. A17 and A18 both. Frame rates are so crappy I have not played since A17 was released.

    I have I7 CPU with 16 GB RAM, Geforce 960 with 2GB of video RAM. Was getting 3-5 FPS with default settings. Even tried 1600 x 900 with every setting turned off or to low (what ever lowest setting was) and still barely getting 30 FPS with spikes down into the teens. It doesn't have to be imacculate, but make it playable on the lowest of settings without needing a $1000 video card to play it.

    I even hear the Streamers moaning about the frame rates and they usually have very hihg end computers. Very disappointed with TFP lack of consideration for making the game playable...
    I get what you're going through. I've been scratching my head since day one at some majorly messed up frame rates randomly. However, it looks like they figured out that a bunch of textures weren't set to stream properly, eating up VRAM. They are working on it now and expect significant improvements on the next minor patch. I did recently purchase a new video card specifically for this game because my 1070 plays all my other games great. It's the price we pay for playing an Alpha game. We just have to be patient. I've been reading through the forums and experimenting, trying to get it working somewhat reasonable. Here is a list of basic things I've been reading and determine help -

    F1 Command Line (in game)
    Followed by:
    GFX DT (To disable draw distance)
    GFX PP ENABLE 0 (Type 1 instead to reenable)


    NVidia Control panel
    AF (Antistropic Filtering) set to 2X
    Texture Filtering Quality set to PERFORMANCE

    In Game visual
    Turn down resolution

    In Quality settings:
    Turn off Shadows and reflections

  6. #51
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,278
    Rep Power
    1
    So you have GTX 960.. If I remember correctly madmole himself bought GTX 970 for his pc several Alphas ago. Not sure if he still uses the same hardware, but maybe someone with the same card could tell you how does it run on their pc. I don't know how much USD that would be for you, but if you have a limited budget, I guess it's either that or save for a better card...

  7. #52
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,505
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Laz Man View Post
    No I didnt know that. That's why I made a post asking for recommendations. Thanks for the insight. 👍
    Ignore any foolish attempts to get you to buy outside of Nvidia.

    ...non Nvidia card users have a plethora of problems with a plethora of games, in 7days there is an Rwg generation issue with amd cards, just as an example.

    Don't. Go. There.

    Nvidia only, homie.

  8. #53
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    96
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm not saying it is impossible to buy a better card. What I am saying is it is rediculous to expect everyone to buy a $1k card to play a video game. A card that is only a couple years old should be able to run the game on low graphics settings. But to put everything on low and turn off many other features and still not get 30 FPS is crap. Otherwise they are alienating many players who have enjoyed the game, but don't have an extra $1k laying around for a new video card. I have hundreds of hours into this game and now it is unplayable.

    For reference, I played A13 and A14 on my old Geforce 460 and got plenty good frame rate. I played A15 and A16 on my Geforce 960 and it ran great. But when they went to A17 and A18, you now need a supercomputer to run the game.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Ti2xGr View Post
    I get what you're going through. I've been scratching my head since day one at some majorly messed up frame rates randomly. However, it looks like they figured out that a bunch of textures weren't set to stream properly, eating up VRAM. They are working on it now and expect significant improvements on the next minor patch. I did recently purchase a new video card specifically for this game because my 1070 plays all my other games great. It's the price we pay for playing an Alpha game. We just have to be patient. I've been reading through the forums and experimenting, trying to get it working somewhat reasonable. Here is a list of basic things I've been reading and determine help -

    F1 Command Line (in game)
    Followed by:
    GFX DT (To disable draw distance)
    GFX PP ENABLE 0 (Type 1 instead to reenable)


    NVidia Control panel
    AF (Antistropic Filtering) set to 2X
    Texture Filtering Quality set to PERFORMANCE

    In Game visual
    Turn down resolution

    In Quality settings:
    Turn off Shadows and reflections
    Thanks for the post. Will give this a try.

  9. #54
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,505
    Rep Power
    1
    Yeh it's super inconsiderate of the pimps... They should release it as a special version you have to manually opt into, with a huge disclaimer about it having potential issues...

    ...oh, then they should acknowledge the problem immediately, and then try and figure out the cause, then they should suggest a few things to try and mitigate the issue, oh yeh and once they figure out a good solution? They should test it a bunch and then release an update for oh, let's call it an "experimental" version...

    Oh, wait.
    Last edited by Guppycur; 10-11-2019 at 12:11 AM.

  10. #55
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    96
    Rep Power
    0
    no need to be rude Guppycar.

    Yes, A18 is in experimental. But A17 was out for a year and for me and my computer, it was unplayable and all the friends that I used to play the game with also can no longer play because of the rediculous hardware needed to run it. No reason to expect A18 to be playable since they never fixed A17 to be playable for many 7 Days players.

    My point is this, a large percentage of the buyers of this game bought it and they could play it great. TFP just keeps upping the system requirements to where people who own the game cannot play it any longer. Just trying to get TFP to consider that the game should be able to still be run (even if on low settings) rather than making it totally unplayable for so many.

    Avid gamers may update their entire rig every 1-2 years. But much of the player base does not want to update their hardware continuously. Maybe for new games, but usually not for a game they already own. At least this is my opinion and the opinion of all the players I used to play with in real life that no longer play because of this issue. And we are not alone since there are dozens (maybe into the hundreds of players) begging in the forums for what settings to choose so they can play.

    I appreciate TFP hard work on A17 and A18. Watching the video on streamers weekend was pretty. I just think they have abandoned a significant portion of their player base with the past two alphas having significant FPS issues...
    Last edited by Mark97348; 10-11-2019 at 01:02 AM. Reason: Fix typo

  11. #56
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,505
    Rep Power
    1
    Yeh sometimes I let my sarcastic side get the best of me...

  12. #57
    Colony Founder Odetta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    The Wonka Factory
    Posts
    1,241
    Rep Power
    1
    Gtx 980ti and Titan X can be bought for under $100, similar to a 1070 in performance with a 980ti slightly surpassing it.

    If you buy used of course. And most retailers offer buyer protection.

    I have even seen used 1080ti's under 330$
    Last edited by Odetta; 10-11-2019 at 02:53 AM.

  13. #58
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,505
    Rep Power
    1
    Yeh the 980ti is a solid card. I upgraded to the 2080 but I didn't need to.

  14. #59
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,736
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Odetta View Post
    Gtx 980ti and Titan X can be bought for under $100, similar to a 1070 in performance with a 980ti slightly surpassing it.

    If you buy used of course. And most retailers offer buyer protection.

    I have even seen used 1080ti's under 330$
    Nope, no thanks. Those cards are often used for mining. That and the GTX 1070.

  15. #60
    Leader Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,030
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi gang, I decided to do a ram upgrade for now as it's the cheaper alternative. Should bump me up to 24gb total, 2 x 8gb (new) + 2 x 4gb dimms (existing). Will report back once its Delivered and installed...😅

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •