Page 3 of 156 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 2326

Thread: Improvements for the dedicated server

  1. #31
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    Hm, might be useful
    I'll see what I can do (shouldn't be too much of a problem)

  2. #32
    Inventor BloodSlinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    782
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Alloc View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by BloodSlinger View Post
    ... an ability to "kill" them would be good since they can't suicide....
    Thanks to HAL9000 the latest rev has a kill command
    Excellent!

    To me that one seemed a huge glaring ommision (by TFP) after they removed suicide. I know (or assume) they did that as part of trying to reduce exploits, but the downside obviously without admins having that ability it creates some terrible situations for players who get stuck due to bugs.

  3. #33
    Survivor Hensley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Russia, Petrozavodsk
    Posts
    63
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, Alloc!


    At 1 server, i see one usefull chat-command: /voteban
    If people see cheater - they can youse /voteban command and start a vote to ban or not to ban the same player.
    look at that screenshots
    If you use "/voteban"

    To start vote, use command and number of player. For ex "voteban 2"

    When vote was started, to vote for ban player need to write in chat "!yes"

    If vote was successful server write the result

    If vote was NOT successful server write that



    So, Alloc, if you can, please, do that thing. To my mind, it will be very usefull.

    Regards, Hensley!

  4. #34
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi Hensley,

    why don't you just use the tool that already provides this feature?
    (I assume it's FRT's Server Manager)

    It would be possible to implement in this mod but somehow I don't feel right about this. Especially as this is misusing the chat while there are no chat-commands yet.

  5. #35
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    having issues installing

    use gameservers.com
    and installed on the server ftp and placed 7dtd-server-fixes.dll & Assembly-CSharp.dll (overwrite the original)
    into this folder
    /*******/7daystodie/7DaysToDie_Data/Managed

    had the server stopped while i was uploading. then restarted server after finished. made no other changed. server would not restart also using fronterunnertek and it remained disconnected from the server the whole time.

  6. #36
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    You are probably not running the dedi build of the game as the server. Check the output_log.txt (with the orig files) for the line "Dedicated server only build". If it's not in there you are running the client build.

  7. #37
    Survivor Hensley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Russia, Petrozavodsk
    Posts
    63
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Alloc,

    FRT's Server Launcher have no that function.

    And, it was no one topic on forum with information about it...

    Regards,
    Hensley

  8. #38
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    i am able to locate output_log.txt in

    /********/7daystodie/7DaysToDie_Data

  9. #39
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Hensley View Post
    FRT's Server Launcher have no that function.
    Might have a look at this. But probably not within the next 1.5 weeks.

    Quote Originally Posted by ColdStranger View Post
    i am able to locate output_log.txt in /********/7daystodie/7DaysToDie_Data
    So what? It's nice you found the log, but the interesting part is its content

  10. #40
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    searched for the word dedicated and these were the results

    0.019 Command line arguments: c:\games\**_***_***_***_25575\********\7daystodie\ 7DaysToDie.exe -quit -batchmode -nographics -configfile=serverconfig.xml -dedicated -ip **_***_***_*** -port 25575 -queryport 25576

    0.098 Starting dedicated server level=Navezgane game name=[66ff00]************

    1.730 GamePref.DedicatedServer = True

  11. #41
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    So you are running the client build -> the mod won't work as stated multiple times before.

  12. #42
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    ok, how do i get the server build installed? contact my server provider?
    or can i do it myself from the ftp? and what can i use to install or download?

  13. #43
    Fun Pimps Staff Alloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Germany - Darmstadt
    Posts
    3,165
    Rep Power
    1
    If you have a hosted server your provider has to install it. Depends on your provider if he'll do that, you just have to ask there.
    Alternatively you can patch the DLL for the client build, but that won't be supported for a long time by the Pimps anyway so your provider would be better of switching to the dedi build right now anyway

  14. #44
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    ok thank you. i was under the assumption that it was the server build.

  15. #45
    Scavenger ColdStranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    USA,Georgia
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    got it working, ended up having to do a full server wipe. backuped all game files so everything was the same.

    might i suggest to go along with remove land protection entering the persons 64 steam id to remove all their land claims?


    also via the list land protection i was able to discover dozens of land claims by this player as well as a floating iron walled structure
    http://www.cursedearth.us/modules.ph...61198116924211

    got another hacker out of all of frontrunnerteks server. we really do appreciate all the help the modders are giving. TFP should hire you guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •