Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Need help with icons

  1. #1
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0

    Need help with icons

    hello i am an experienced modder with 7 and im having issues loading my icons into the game.

    i followed the path instructions

    E:\Steam Library\steamapps\common\7 Days To Die\Mods\MYmod\UIAtlases\ItemIcons

    The Game starts up and says

    Wrn: creating new atlas for MYmods(1)

    but when i start the game all i get is a blank space

    i have tryed the old resolution, (116x80) and the new one (160x160)

  2. #2
    Colony Founder TSBX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    "Welcome to Costco, I love you."
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    1
    The proper path is actually
    Code:
    Mods/YourModName/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas
    The information in the release notes is inaccurate and should be corrected.

    Thanks to Khaine for the proper info!

  3. #3
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TSBX View Post
    The proper path is actually
    Code:
    Mods/YourModName/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas
    The information in the release notes is inaccurate and should be corrected.

    Thanks to Khaine for the proper info!
    E:\Steam Library\steamapps\common\7 Days To Die\Mods\ButcherMod\UIAtlases\ItemIconsAtlas

    Still wont work what are the required dimensions

    am i doing something wrong

  4. #4
    Colony Founder TSBX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    "Welcome to Costco, I love you."
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    1
    Icon should be:
    • A .png
    • 160px x 160px
    • Located in Mods/YourModName/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas

    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hartford, Connecticut
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0
    https://discord.gg/rHSQ7V2 new mod butcher update

  6. #6
    Reconstructionist Subquake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    693
    Rep Power
    1
    As of A18, icons can be any size, but preferably a square, so that the height and width is the same.

  7. #7
    Ranger rewtgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    335
    Rep Power
    1
    Its ItemIconAtlas not ItemIconsAtlas

    Took me 1H to find the typo myself ;p

  8. #8
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    676
    Rep Power
    1
    Does anyone know if this works for the UI icons?

    For instance:

    E:\Steam Library\steamapps\common\7 Days To Die\Mods\MYmod\UIAtlases\UIAtlas

  9. #9
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    88
    Rep Power
    0
    from patch-notes for a18:
    XUi: Reworked adding/overriding UI sprites. ItemIcons now go to “<mod>/UIAtlases/ItemIcons”. The new system can also be used for the regular UIAtlas that is used with generic XUi sprites (“<mod>/UIAtlases/UIAtlas”) or completely new custom sprite atlases (any other folder name in UIAtlases). Added sprites can be any size (a sensible limit would be 10241024 though) and aspect ratio. Created atlases are dumped to disk for inspection when the game is ran with the argument “-exportcustomatlases”

  10. #10
    Zombie Hunter bdubyah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    479
    Rep Power
    1
    So does that mean we can easily add new buff icons and other sprites now?

  11. #11
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,511
    Rep Power
    1
    Yep.

  12. #12
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    I really don`t know what im doing bad. I tried everything, every example of name folder. Still ive got empty window for addon item. Im making simple Auger. Maybe there is something wrong in items file, code is that:

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="DiamondAuger"/>

    so should be okay. Obviously .png file is same like value for CustomIcon.

  13. #13
    Community Moderator xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,051
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by revolvolution View Post
    I really don`t know what im doing bad. I tried everything, every example of name folder. Still ive got empty window for addon item. Im making simple Auger. Maybe there is something wrong in items file, code is that:

    <property name="CustomIcon" value="DiamondAuger"/>

    so should be okay. Obviously .png file is same like value for CustomIcon.
    Icon should be:
    • A .png
    • 160px x 160px
    • Located in Mods/YourModName/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas

    The icon name spelling and capitalization must match the name in the xml property exactly.

  14. #14
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xyth View Post
    Icon should be:
    • A .png
    • 160px x 160px
    • Located in Mods/YourModName/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas

    The icon name spelling and capitalization must match the name in the xml property exactly.
    Its exectly same in xml file like a name of .png file. Im out of ideas. Every three points that you reminded match. Its A.png, 160x160, location is /Mods/DiamondAuger/UIAtlases/ItemIconAtlas

  15. #15
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, so i found out problem exist only in my dedication server. I uploaded mod to single-player game, and icon is working. Any ideas what is the problem? I add that if change icon value to any of stock 7 days to die icons, its working on my server. Only my own, custom icons not working.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •