Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: List of GPU with performance problems

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    List of GPU with performance problems

    Wondering if it is worth collecting a bit of info from different people on what GPU are performing badly since the A18 update.

    I have a Radeon VII 16GB which performs around the level of 1080Ti 11gb , 2080 Super 8GB in most things thanks to it being on water but FPS are about 4x less than they were in A17 making the game unplayable.

    Radeon Pro 555X 4GB -1
    RX580 8GB -1
    Vega 56 8GB -1
    5700 XT 8GB -1
    Radeon VII 16GB -1

    GT640 2GB -1
    GT 755M 2GB -1
    1060 6GB +1
    1070 8GB +1


    `gfx af 0` Doubles FPS on AMD GPU in A18 when it should have no performance impact but FPS are still about half what they were in A17.
    Last edited by dasa; 1 Week Ago at 12:50 AM.

  2. #2
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    I am having a graphics glitch with triangles showing on the ground. It's really difficult to play the game. Here is my video card spec's.

    Card name: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
    Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6719)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Type: Full Device (POST)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6719&SUBSYS_23071787&REV_00
    Device Status: 0180200A [DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_E NUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
    Device Problem Code: No Problem
    Driver Problem Code: Unknown
    Display Memory: 5872 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 2032 MB
    Shared Memory: 3840 MB
    Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    HDR Support: Not Supported
    Display Topology: Extend
    Display Color Space: DXGI_COLOR_SPACE_RGB_FULL_G22_NONE_P709
    Color Primaries: Red(0.641602,0.334961), Green(0.291016,0.635742), Blue(0.153320,0.042969), White Point(0.313477,0.329102)
    Display Luminance: Min Luminance = 0.500000, Max Luminance = 270.000000, MaxFullFrameLuminance = 270.000000
    Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
    Monitor Model: 2752
    Monitor Id: AOC2752
    Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
    Output Type: HDMI



    Also here is a screen shot of what i'm talking about. I really hope the dev's can fix this with an update soon.

    20191107201224_1.jpg

  3. #3
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    1
    My GTX 1060 FTW+ 6GB overclocked performs really well with this game.

  4. #4
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    Can confirm dramatic FPS issues caused by AF on 3 AMD GPUs: RX580 (8GB), Vega 56 (8GB) & 5700 XT (8GB)

    Ultra: AF enabled can use 30-40% GPU of 5700 XT @ 1080p (cannot hit 60fps without `gfx af 0` and lowering few other settings)

    Lowest: AF makes no difference to FPS (unless`gfx af x` does not work on Lowest)

    VRAM not being maxed (it can after some time, but not during testing).

    Would normally agree with Tech Jesus on AF: Anisotrophic Filtering has, basically, no effect on performance, basically ever, for the last couple of years.

    R5 3600
    32GB DDR4 3600
    NVMe install
    Windows 10 (DX11) (testing only) & Fedora 31 (DX11 via Proton) (daily driver)

  5. #5
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    46
    Rep Power
    0
    Vega56, unplayable with af 16 and 8, okay with 4x..

  6. #6
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    147
    Rep Power
    0
    Got issues with an Nvidia GeForce GT640 2 GB. Ever since A17 the game never reaches above 30 FPS except for when Im looking at the sky or something like that. Alpha 15.2 and earlier work flawlessly.
    Last edited by MaxTunnerX; 1 Week Ago at 10:37 PM.

  7. #7
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxTunnerX View Post
    Got issues with an Nvidia GeForce GT640 2 GB. Ever since A17 the game never reaches above 30 FPS except for when Im looking at the sky or something like that. Alpha 15.2 and earlier work flawlessly.
    I'm surprised the game played at all with that horrible graphics card. If you're not spending more than $100 US or CA dollars on a graphics card, you're not going to get 30+ fps no matter the game settings.
    Last edited by Fox; 1 Week Ago at 12:08 AM.

  8. #8
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,703
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    I'm surprised the game played at all with that horrible graphics card. If you're not spending more than $100 US or CA dollars on a graphics card, you're not going to get 30+ fps no matter the game settings.
    The 600-series was kind of one of Nvidia's "super" cards like the old 8800 and 460's were. My MSI 660Ti was still capable of a solid 60FPS in a17, but I haven't dropped it into a system to test a18 with. I've got a 770, and a 650 to play around with too.

    Currently averaging about 80FPS with my EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SSC. I tried overclocking it further, but it makes fireworks on particle effects, and then crashes the client when I start up a forge.

  9. #9
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    The 600-series was kind of one of Nvidia's "super" cards like the old 8800 and 460's were. My MSI 660Ti was still capable of a solid 60FPS in a17, but I haven't dropped it into a system to test a18 with. I've got a 770, and a 650 to play around with too.

    Currently averaging about 80FPS with my EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SSC. I tried overclocking it further, but it makes fireworks on particle effects, and then crashes the client when I start up a forge.
    The GT series cards, no matter the generation, has always been and will always be garbage when it comes to games. The GTX series on the other hand... like the GTX 660 (which I still have one in a box somewhere...) is still pretty decent.



    To add to the list... my sister's GTX 1070 is also running this game without any issues at all. We both own Ryzen based machines.

  10. #10
    Refugee
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    I've been playing 7D2D on my laptop for a couple years now. I have a GeForce GT 755m GPU and with the new build (18.) I cannot play the game using my graphics processor.
    I cannot even get into the menu. I get a "couldn't switch to requested monitor resolution" no matter what I set the resolution to.
    I've updated, rolled back, uninstalled, reinstalled both drivers and the game. The only thing that seems to work is to play the 17. build and go no further. I can get the 18 build to work if I use the direct x 11 driver but the game is so choppy and laggy that it is unplayable that way.

    This is what I am working with...

    Operating System: Windows 10 Home, 64-bit
    DirectX version: 12.0
    GPU processor: GeForce GT 755M
    Driver version: 425.31
    Driver Type: Standard
    Direct3D API version: 12
    Direct3D feature level: 11_0
    CUDA Cores: 384
    Core clock: 980 MHz
    Memory data rate: 5.40 Gbps
    Memory interface: 128-bit
    Memory bandwidth: 86.40 GB/s
    Total available graphics memory: 6102 MB
    Dedicated video memory: 2048 MB GDDR5
    System video memory: 0 MB
    Shared system memory: 4054 MB
    Video BIOS version: 80.07.A8.00.0F
    IRQ: Not used
    Bus: PCI Express x8 Gen3
    Device Id: 10DE 0FCD 380117AA
    Part Number: 2044 010

    And yes, I've read time and time again how the GT chips are garbage compared to blah blah blah... that doesn't help. Thanks but no thanks.

  11. #11
    Colony Founder meganoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,915
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesse Glasner View Post
    I've been playing 7D2D on my laptop for a couple years now. I have a GeForce GT 755m GPU and with the new build (18.) I cannot play the game using my graphics processor.
    I cannot even get into the menu. I get a "couldn't switch to requested monitor resolution" no matter what I set the resolution to.
    I've updated, rolled back, uninstalled, reinstalled both drivers and the game. The only thing that seems to work is to play the 17. build and go no further. I can get the 18 build to work if I use the direct x 11 driver but the game is so choppy and laggy that it is unplayable that way.

    This is what I am working with...

    Operating System: Windows 10 Home, 64-bit
    DirectX version: 12.0
    GPU processor: GeForce GT 755M
    Driver version: 425.31
    Driver Type: Standard
    Direct3D API version: 12
    Direct3D feature level: 11_0
    CUDA Cores: 384
    Core clock: 980 MHz
    Memory data rate: 5.40 Gbps
    Memory interface: 128-bit
    Memory bandwidth: 86.40 GB/s
    Total available graphics memory: 6102 MB
    Dedicated video memory: 2048 MB GDDR5
    System video memory: 0 MB
    Shared system memory: 4054 MB
    Video BIOS version: 80.07.A8.00.0F
    IRQ: Not used
    Bus: PCI Express x8 Gen3
    Device Id: 10DE 0FCD 380117AA
    Part Number: 2044 010

    And yes, I've read time and time again how the GT chips are garbage compared to blah blah blah... that doesn't help. Thanks but no thanks.
    First of all, if the game works in DX11, set it to DX11. Your card says "Direct3D feature level: 11_0" so you can't use DX12 features anyway (AFAIK). Continue from there.

    It seems the graphics card is using 4G of the main memory as shared memory. I don't know much about windows and you didn't post the total size of your RAM, but your CPU could be having low memory problems too and maybe restricting shared system memory to 2G might get your CPU some breathing room (I assume texture size is already set to the minimum?).

    Have you tried "gfx af 0" in the console? AF should be off in your case anyway but doesn't hurt to make sure. Also you might check if the nvidia driver software isn't adding AF or other "features".
    Last edited by meganoth; 1 Week Ago at 03:00 PM.

  12. #12
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    147
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    I'm surprised the game played at all with that horrible graphics card. If you're not spending more than $100 US or CA dollars on a graphics card, you're not going to get 30+ fps no matter the game settings.
    What the hell are you talking about? That card cost me 140 US dollars like 5 years back.

  13. #13
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxTunnerX View Post
    What the hell are you talking about? That card cost me 140 US dollars like 5 years back.
    lol, wow, surprised it cost that much, even when it first released. 5 years ago, I think I spent around that much (maybe a bit more than that) for my GTX 660 which is so much better. Hell, even my 11 year old 9800GTX+ performs about as good as the GT640 and that card cost me $100 CA several years back.

    Anyways, that was 5 years ago. The GT640 was never designed for gaming when it released, and now... it's just even more garbage for gaming. My recommendation is to get anything in the GTX series next time instead of a GT series.

  14. #14
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    30
    Rep Power
    0
    You can also add X555X 4Gb to the list in first post.
    Frame stuttering and absolutely unplayable unless fix af 0...

  15. #15
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    147
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    lol, wow, surprised it cost that much, even when it first released. 5 years ago, I think I spent around that much (maybe a bit more than that) for my GTX 660 which is so much better. Hell, even my 11 year old 9800GTX+ performs about as good as the GT640 and that card cost me $100 CA several years back.

    Anyways, that was 5 years ago. The GT640 was never designed for gaming when it released, and now... it's just even more garbage for gaming. My recommendation is to get anything in the GTX series next time instead of a GT series.
    Well GTX660 costs 140 dollars here right now (same as GT640 5 years ago). 5 years ago, if it even existed, the price must have been much higher. I always buy GPU for this price so if I was to buy a GPU right now Id definitely get the GTX660, but yeah, it was dfefinitely not as cheap back in the day (otherwise id have bought it), nor will it probably be the choice when I do decide to buy a new GPU since a new one may be in stores by then.

    In any case, Im just here to report I have issues with 7DTD on it, which I didnt have until A17. So thats that.
    Last edited by MaxTunnerX; 1 Week Ago at 12:57 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •