Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Alpha 18 blocks breaking

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Alpha 18 blocks breaking

    hi there, currently running a pingperfect server using a nitrogen generated map. server running on alpha 18.1 b6 game on 18,1 b8.
    we have alot of problems on our bases with blocks breaking when augering somewhere else nearby. then when fixing the block / blocks that have fell out you cannot replace them, they just break straight away. we do have underground bases at the bottom of the map, and have like a base on top. but the buildings are all constructed well (alot of supports). does anyone have a fix for this?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Colony Founder meganoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3,039
    Rep Power
    1
    If you have underground dug up DIRECTLY under your base then this can happen

    You could put lots of support blocks (even simple wood blocks) down there directly under your base to repair this. For a column to be a supporting column it simply needs an UNBROKEN vertical strings of blocks from bedrock up to it.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,807
    Rep Power
    1
    I've seen this occur if there is a large amount of bedrock exposed in the area. It will even happen at bedrock when placing blocks.

    So you've got a double whammy. Air space under the base, and bedrock exposed to air.

  4. #4
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    559
    Rep Power
    1
    Dunno it if works or not, but we've always dug to 1 layer before bedrock to keep from exposing it.

  5. #5
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    714
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzybub View Post
    Dunno it if works or not, but we've always dug to 1 layer before bedrock to keep from exposing it.
    Nah, Your supports need to go from bedrock all the way up if you have any gaps under your base things can go bad. If you want something at bedrock under your base it is best build support columns all the way up so you dont accidentally put a gap and ruin your SI up top. Either that or just dont dig under your base, do that nearby. Separate it from your base

  6. #6
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    68
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard69 View Post
    Nah, Your supports need to go from bedrock all the way up if you have any gaps under your base things can go bad. If you want something at bedrock under your base it is best build support columns all the way up so you dont accidentally put a gap and ruin your SI up top. Either that or just dont dig under your base, do that nearby. Separate it from your base

    This.

    If you undermine any block so it is vertically not connected ALL THE WAY to bedrock it is considered structurally unsound, and any block attached to it will not get the full horizontal support statistic of the undermined block's face. Even if you reinforce it on the sides it will not matter.

    Never dig under your base even with a tunnel unless you know what you're doing. If you find the bits that are falling off you can place a block in the undermined bit - any block - and it will once again become structurally sound.

  7. #7
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    559
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard69 View Post
    Nah, Your supports need to go from bedrock all the way up
    While this is true, I'm referring to the "exposed bedrock" causes instability, not the "lack of vertical blocks"
    causes instability.
    Some public servers, for many alpha's, have had a rule that players are not allowed to expose bedrock.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •