Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Dart Trap Tunnel vs. 20+ Demolisher Zombies Simultaneously

  1. #1
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0

    Dart Trap Tunnel vs. 20+ Demolisher Zombies Simultaneously

    I wanted to test my dart trap tunnel against a horde of demolisher zombies to see how it would work. I initially tested on Scavenger difficulty, but scaled it up to Nomad after that test went well.

    I was worried the darts would trigger their explosion, but not a single one did. I'll consider this base design a success!

    Scavenger:
    https://youtu.be/KvC4uw1ZmqU

    Nomad:
    https://youtu.be/_Q-ALhMBkDU

  2. #2
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    After a few more rounds of tests, I found that 16 rows of dart traps is not enough during the night. When the run, they sometimes skip over blocks, causing some to get through. The tunnel either needs to be extended, to 20-24 rows, or take an active approach at shooting them when they come.

  3. #3
    Leader Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,496
    Rep Power
    1
    That's a ton of traps and electrical fencing. 😂😂😂

    You could also switch to trip wire to trigger the darts instead so you can overlap barb wire over the electrical fence as well.

  4. #4
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    That would be less efficient with darts though. Currently itís a 1 for 1, on pressure plates to dart traps. Any other way, and traps would be firing darts into the floor when zombies arenít there.

  5. #5
    Leader Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,496
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by blugold1 View Post
    That would be less efficient with darts though. Currently itís a 1 for 1, on pressure plates to dart traps. Any other way, and traps would be firing darts into the floor when zombies arenít there.
    Ah, didnt realize you were using 1x1 trigger plates...is it possible to place a barb wire on top of the plate? It might look weird but may still work..😂😂😂

  6. #6
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    No, the trigger plate occupies the first block.

    My next idea was to fill the tunnel with water. As cheesy as that is, Iím fairly certain I can fill it without capping the ends.

  7. #7
    Colony Founder wolfbain5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    pimple on the ass end of texas
    Posts
    2,806
    Rep Power
    1
    have barb wire occupy the 2nd block height, stagger them around. the fence and the wiring will pass through them

  8. #8
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    I thought barbed wire was taken out in A18, no? I tried it in A17, but didnít keep using it because my tunnels are more than 2 blocks wide. Meaning I was unable to hit the middle blocks.

    ...Unless you can line the top off the 2nd block with it. Iíll have to try that. I think the darts can shoot through it.

  9. #9
    Leader Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,496
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by blugold1 View Post
    I thought barbed wire was taken out in A18, no? I tried it in A17, but didnít keep using it because my tunnels are more than 2 blocks wide. Meaning I was unable to hit the middle blocks.

    ...Unless you can line the top off the 2nd block with it. Iíll have to try that. I think the darts can shoot through it.
    They took out the flat barb wire but the other kind is still in game and is very effective on slowing down zeds.

  10. #10
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    1,593
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Laz Man View Post
    They took out the flat barb wire but the other kind is still in game and is very effective on slowing down zeds.
    Did you ever test that with the demolisher? When I tested it the demolisher destroyed the barbed wire fences while walking through. So it would only work for a limited time.

  11. #11
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    Iíve had similar experiences in the past with barbed wire, so I havenít tested it yet. Next time Iím in game I will try to put them in.

    I do think that if I filled the tunnel with water, 2 blocks deep, that would also slow them down enough where the night run speed wouldnít be an issue. Pretty sure all electronics will work in water. Iíve loosely tested this before.

  12. #12
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0
    Donít use barbed wire fence. Since the trigger plate is in the lowest block, the fence is 2 high. Zombies see it as an obstacle and start bashing everything.

  13. #13
    Leader Laz Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5,496
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by blugold1 View Post
    Donít use barbed wire fence. Since the trigger plate is in the lowest block, the fence is 2 high. Zombies see it as an obstacle and start bashing everything.
    Thanks for the confirm!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •