Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Self-Hosted Linux Server: Can connect locally, not online, ports are forwarded

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Self-Hosted Linux Server: Can connect locally, not online, ports are forwarded

    Hello, descriptive title is descriptive. Basically, I've spent the last month or so teaching myself how to run a linux server to run games (among other things) and this game's my latest attempt. I downloaded it through SteamCMD and kinda got varying results throughout the night. For about the first 30-60 minutes of my last attempt, I could not connect from my own computer on the same network. I fiddled with the iptables firewall a bunch during that but ended up resetting it as I was watching a movie with my family and found it to be working. To make it clear, I watched the logs and knew it had finished starting up before connecting.

    Anyways, at that point it was working on my local machine. I had already looked up and opened the ports externally (I've hosted tons of servers, just usually not from linux) and expected it to work fine for my friends. Nope. They were told to enter the password (usually a good sign) but the connection timed out after that. Here are the logs from my server' and a friend who was trying to connect.

    Additional notes: They were connected to another server (teamspeak 3, they're on there all the time) and were able to successfully connect to a minecraft server last week. Monitoring the server's performance shows it's clearly not being overtaxed by this (Minecraft server has been shut down, only running one game at a time).

    Been racking my brain for like the last two hours, any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    612
    Rep Power
    1
    It looks like your friend was able to see the server, but not connect with Litenetlib.
    Then the machine tries to connect with Steamnetworking and is refused.

    So I guess you have Steamnetworking disabled in your serverconfig.

    Maybe try again with that enabled and see what happens.

  3. #3
    Colony Founder meganoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3,160
    Rep Power
    1
    Did you open the ports 26900-26902 TCP and UDP ? Or generally, if you changed the port number to x, did you open ports x, x+1 and x+2 on TCP and UDP? In iptables and your router?

  4. #4
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzybub View Post
    It looks like your friend was able to see the server, but not connect with Litenetlib.
    Then the machine tries to connect with Steamnetworking and is refused.

    So I guess you have Steamnetworking disabled in your serverconfig.

    Maybe try again with that enabled and see what happens.
    I can give that a shot, though everything I've read said my setup method generally should have that disabled (which it currently is). It should be noted that I had a total of 4 people attempt to connect, all of whom had just installed the game for the first time (as did I).

    Quote Originally Posted by meganoth View Post
    Did you open the ports 26900-26902 TCP and UDP ? Or generally, if you changed the port number to x, did you open ports x, x+1 and x+2 on TCP and UDP? In iptables and your router?
    I am using the default ports and they are all open, of that I am certain. TCP 26900 and UDP 26900-26902. I don't mind screenshotting anything relevant, but I'd imagine the issue would only be in my router settings, given the fact that folks can't connect externally, though my router's settings are kinda idiot proof if you know what you're doing.

  5. #5
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    612
    Rep Power
    1
    According to SylenThunder's Dedicated server FAQ (as of Dec. 2018)

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...481#post426481

    You need:
    BasePort+3 open so for the default that would be 26900-26903
    also 270xx UDP Outbound

  6. #6
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzybub View Post
    According to SylenThunder's Dedicated server FAQ (as of Dec. 2018)

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...481#post426481

    You need:
    BasePort+3 open so for the default that would be 26900-26903
    also 270xx UDP Outbound
    Opened the additional port (26903), did not open the UDP port as I have no interest in registering my server with the public list. Attempting to leave steam networking on while disabling LiteNetLib (why not try it I guess).

  7. #7
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    612
    Rep Power
    1
    If it's not the game, and not the router, maybe it's the Ubuntu firewall?
    Or permissions on the server?
    I have an 18.04 server and players can connect, but when I type this
    in a terminal "sudo ufw status verbose" my result says "inactive".

    (ufw is the ubuntu firewall).

    So I guess I'm blocking nothing in the firewall. Anyway type that and
    see what your result is.

    Also, have you done any whitelisting or blacklisting in serveradmin.xml?
    Here also I have no entries and players can connect.

  8. #8
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Oddly enough, disabling LiteNetLib is what ended up fixing it. Some minor connection issues but overall, everything worked.

  9. #9
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    612
    Rep Power
    1
    Sweet! I hear LiteNetLib has a lot of timeouts, but I don't really understand why.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •