Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Dedicated Server Troubleshoot

  1. #1
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Dedicated Server Troubleshoot

    Hi,

    I have been trying to setup dedicated on my PC for the past few days.
    Here is where I am at

    1. I am able to host the server and join myself, but when I try to input my ip instead of joining locally, fail to join b/c unable to retrieve server info

    2. I 'think' I did the port forwarding correctly (I did it with previous versions, but a18 I am running to issues)
    I have tested my port being open with online port testers (portcheckers and yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/)
    Ports are opened after I launch the server

    3. I digged out the log in SP and MP, and it seems like that the port does not show in the MP section. Wondering anyone has as successful dedicated server log I can take look at?
    In comparison:
    SP
    INF [Steamworks.NET] Lobby creation succeeded, LobbyID=xxxxxxxxxx, server SteamID=xxxxxxx, server public IP=xxxxxxx, server port=26900

    MP
    INF [Steamworks.NET] GameServer.LogOn successful, SteamID=90131083510764552, public IP=xxxxxxxx

    server port is missing in the line of MP, is this suppose to happen?

    Here is the relevant server config
    <property name="ServerPort" value="26900"/> <This port has been tested>
    <property name="ServerVisibility" value="2"/>
    <property name="ServerDisabledNetworkProtocols" value="SteamNetworking"/>
    <property name="ServerMaxWorldTransferSpeedKiBs" value="512"/>

    I tried to troubleshoot as much as I can. Please tell me what have I done wrong?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    9,168
    Rep Power
    1
    What ports/protocols did you forward?

  3. #3
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    What ports/protocols did you forward?
    https://paste.pics/674218084face63afa537c6d0d01a24a

  4. #4
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    9,168
    Rep Power
    1
    Ok, now you need 27000-27100 TCP/UDP. Then if that doesn't work, remove SteamNetworking from the disabled protocols.

  5. #5
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    Ok, now you need 27000-27100 TCP/UDP. Then if that doesn't work, remove SteamNetworking from the disabled protocols.
    https://paste.pics/07411800d53546b66c0efcc0a2de1300

    <!-- Networking -->
    <property name="ServerPort" value="26900"/>
    <property name="ServerVisibility" value="2"/>
    <property name="ServerDisabledNetworkProtocols" value=""/>
    <property name="ServerMaxWorldTransferSpeedKiBs" value="512"/>

    Sadly it doesn't work. May I also ask why you want me to open additional ports?

  6. #6
    Reconstructionist Beelzybub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    637
    Rep Power
    1
    I think 26903 also. So 26900-26903 for UDP & TCP.

    Also, is that a typo? You have 2700/27100 for TCP, I think you mean 27000/27100

  7. #7
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzybub View Post
    I think 26903 also. So 26900-26903 for UDP & TCP.

    Also, is that a typo? You have 2700/27100 for TCP, I think you mean 27000/27100
    Yes, that was a typo. I made the changes but still no good.
    https://paste.pics/9e95b477bb8c6145427d7f810613ef68

  8. #8
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    So I ran a few more tests, and something interesting turned out.
    I invite my friend through steam with the current setup, while I am still in the server.
    He is able to join.

    Then we both disconnected from the server, and then since he joined as friend and favorites it, he is able to re-join without my invite.
    This is what it is shown on his side
    https://paste.pics/d7486ec7d802a01cf2513f9a69694525

    Another interesting fact is that he is now able to join by punching in the same IP. as he was previously unable to.

    To repeat the test, I asked another friend of mine to test (never tested before) and now he is able to join without me inviting.
    Still, I am unable to join through IP.

    I am happy that it is resolved somehow, but I will like to know a bit more about this networking issue.
    Please let me know what other solutions/methods you have in mind

  9. #9
    Reconstructionist
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    588
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by aysta View Post
    Still, I am unable to join through IP.
    What IP are you trying to join? Your public internet IP or the LAN-IP of your server?

    If you try to connect to your public ip from within your own network, your router might cause that issue. Some models (depending on settings of course) recognize that the target adress of your request is their own IP and then don't route the request to the internet and have it coming back but drop it or try to redirect it directly what does not work, as it bypasses your port forwards and so you don't have the real local ip of the target.

    In short words: You can not connect to your own network.

    If you want to test accessibility of a hosted service behind a router, always test it from a different network, not from your own. You can connect to the LAN-IP directly.

  10. #10
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    9,168
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by aysta View Post
    May I also ask why you want me to open additional ports?
    Those are ports that the Steam client uses for server traffic.


    Looks like they've tightened up the range now though, and you only need 27015--27030.
    Source

  11. #11
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SylenThunder View Post
    Those are ports that the Steam client uses for server traffic.


    Looks like they've tightened up the range now though, and you only need 27015--27030.
    Source
    Thanks.
    Now I run into another problem. So zombies stop moving. They are spawning, and they are able to attack, but they are not moving.
    Funny thing is, if I run the server instead of dedicated server, the problem ceases to exist. Please advice.

  12. #12
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Liesel Weppen View Post
    What IP are you trying to join? Your public internet IP or the LAN-IP of your server?

    If you try to connect to your public ip from within your own network, your router might cause that issue. Some models (depending on settings of course) recognize that the target adress of your request is their own IP and then don't route the request to the internet and have it coming back but drop it or try to redirect it directly what does not work, as it bypasses your port forwards and so you don't have the real local ip of the target.

    In short words: You can not connect to your own network.

    If you want to test accessibility of a hosted service behind a router, always test it from a different network, not from your own. You can connect to the LAN-IP directly.
    Interesting. I didn't know router has this kind of property. I will keep that in mind

  13. #13
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    Fixed the non-moving zombies
    Apparently my mod from 2017 still exists, but didnt kick in for unknown reason until midway of my games.

    Thanks for all the help and guide, and see you all under the red moon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •