Page 246 of 246 FirstFirst ... 146196236244245246
Results 3,676 to 3,690 of 3690

Thread: Compo-Pack for Random Gen

  1. #3676
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    Hi - sry for the late answere, but i was so in love playing the new A18-CP-RWG

    yeah - ofc I tried Nitrogen in A18 and yes, ofc I played around with it.
    But I dicided to go with the RWGMIXER instead of NITROGEN in A18 !!!

    I seriously thought back and forth and back and forth which generator would generate the better world for CP !?

    Every Generator has its own pro's and con's - non of them is really perfekt !!!
    (best would be a mix between both of them - LOL)

    yes u are right, the towns look amazing in Nitrogen - but there is only this one township over and over across the map
    With RWGMIXER I have the ability to make different towntypes that surely differs from each other.

    the rural farms in Nitrogen are also looking very nice and I really love them - but these also every time look alike the same.


    There are much more points to tell about, but I will finish here...


    ...finally I decided to use the RWGMIXER, because I really have more control over the Generation. The biggest decision-point for me was the Ability to use the multiple-township-system I wrote for the RWGMIXER. My goal was (and will ever be) to deliver a world in which every town differs to each other. Also my goal is to have every single POI just one single time on the map and also some towns that follow a speciffic Theming (like Asiatown, HillBillyVillage, big City with huge buildings and skyscrapers, or just a common OR modern town ... )

    If these points are fullfilled not only one town is looking amazing, but also all towns and POI's on the whole map do.
    And with RWGMIXER Iam actally closer to that concept of "The perfect map" IMO

    but maybe when there will be more functions and features in NITROGEN in future I decide its better to use that for COMPOPACK.


    I didnt scratched the surface - there so much more to talk about when it comes to world-Generation, but I hope u understand now y it is like it is
    Just wanted to mention some tricks one can do with the prefablist for NitroGen currently:

    In the prefablist definition there are some markers that can be used to customize towns a bit more.

    unique -> special marker to spawn POI only once at most in the world (as long as not all POIs of a specific zone type are unique)

    oldwest
    hillbillytrailer and hillbillyjunk (both types are spawned at those trailerparks / rednecks in the UI)

    -> those could be re-purposed to create 2 smaller settlements of a certain type like an asia-town, assigning the new POIs to this zone
    (and assigning the vanilla oldwest / hillbilly buildings to the normal city zones)

    -------------

    How many specific POI zone types / themes are in the Compo-Pack?
    I can see Asian style buildings and a Casino. The other POIs kind of fit thematically into the current zones like citycenter (skyscrapers), downtown, smalltown, houses, mountain, farm, alone and industrial

    --------------

    I have quickly compiled a prefablist with the CompoPack POIs.

    There are some really nice buildings in it:
    Here chilling in a cosy lodge in the mountains.

    lodge.jpg

    Some POIs might be a bit over the top thematically. Its would probably make sense to separate the prefablists into "Apocalypse" and "Fun".

    The lists is not yet filtered for zone types. As each POI needs to be assigned to a zone, to not look totally random. (basically cropping out zone-markers for POIs where they cant possibly belong to)

    if anyone likes to dabble with cleaning up the prefablist, here is the raw version:

    prefablistCompoPackRAW.txt

    The dimensions are taken from the XMLs and Binary definitions. So if there are any offset bugs in the POI definitions, it might need some manual editing. But it looked good in my test.


    -----
    And here is a preliminary version combining CompoPack and the original Vanilla Prefabs (copy all prefabs into the same folder in 7DtD)
    prefablist_CompoPack.txt
    Last edited by Damocles; 4 Hours Ago at 06:35 PM.

  2. #3677
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    44
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    to 1:
    this should not happen - maybe u had a very bad seed or something went wrong during rwg-generation

    to 2:
    I need the name or a discribtion of the prefab or even better picture pls
    Makes sense sometimes rwg gives some unexpected results - thanks...

    2) I will get you a picture when I get home... it is an amazing house with a two car garage and picket fence. The house has flowers all around the boarder, snow biome trees, and a garden in the back with with yucca, corns, potato, etc

    The garage has a work bench and two table saws (all working), just outside the back of the garage, is a basement entrance. There are two working cement mixers, two firges, stacks of cobblestone, cement, and rocks. There is also a metal door - break it and go down - you find a working chem station and a secret vault door - through that is daft traps, Motion sensor, dates, etc


    Real nice setup and love the detail and effort - I would honestly love to have this setup in my end game for living... however, I just want to remove it from my mix as it makes the game too easy for my style... I guess I could just ignore it, but would prefer to remove from my config...

  3. #3678
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    Just wanted to mention some tricks one can do with the prefablist for NitroGen currently:

    In the prefablist definition there are some markers that can be used to customize towns a bit more.

    unique -> special marker to spawn POI only once at most in the world (as long as not all POIs of a specific zone type are unique)

    oldwest
    hillbillytrailer and hillbillyjunk (both types are spawned at those trailerparks / rednecks in the UI)

    -> those could be re-purposed to create 2 smaller settlements of a certain type like an asia-town, assigning the new POIs to this zone
    (and assigning the vanilla oldwest / hillbilly buildings to the normal city zones)

    -------------

    How many specific POI zone types / themes are in the Compo-Pack?
    I can see Asian style buildings and a Casino. The other POIs kind of fit thematically into the current zones like citycenter (skyscrapers), downtown, smalltown, houses, mountain, farm, alone and industrial

    --------------

    I have quickly compiled a prefablist with the CompoPack POIs.

    There are some really nice buildings in it:
    Here chilling in a cosy lodge in the mountains.

    lodge.jpg

    Some POIs might be a bit over the top thematically. Its would probably make sense to separate the prefablists into "Apocalypse" and "Fun".

    The lists is not yet filtered for zone types. As each POI needs to be assigned to a zone, to not look totally random. (basically cropping out zone-markers for POIs where they cant possibly belong to)

    if anyone likes to dabble with cleaning up the prefablist, here is the raw version:

    prefablistCompoPackRAW.txt

    The dimensions are taken from the XMLs and Binary definitions. So if there are any offset bugs in the POI definitions, it might need some manual editing. But it looked good in my test.


    -----
    And here is a preliminary version combining CompoPack and the original Vanilla Prefabs (copy all prefabs into the same folder in 7DtD)
    prefablist_CompoPack.txt
    Hi Damocles - thx for the hot Infos
    I will def check out what u have said about the specializing in the prefabs-list this weekend

    I also saw this before and asked myself if I could use this unique-group placeholding for another group from my CP
    But if I would set this unique-group to my Asiatown-POIs - I probably would lose all other prefabs that are actaully also assigned to that group - And that wouldn't be a step forward IMO

    Best thing would be if the NITROGEN-TOOL would allow custom-groups. Idk if this is possible and make sense
    Maybe if there would be some precoded zonegroups for free Usage (e.g. Zone01, Zone02 , Zone03) ???

    My mainquestion is:
    Is it possible to have a town just consisting from the prefabs of one group (topic: Asiatown) ???
    Because this special prefab-set awaits a special unique handling IMO:
    1. Non of the Asia-prefabs should appear in any other place except Asiatown
    2. No other Prefab should spawn in Asiatown except the ones I specially allowed them to
    (kinda same rules counts for almost every township that I use in CP)

    here are the different townships I actually have:
    - Asiatown (should be a small town because of the low amount of prefabs here)
    - OldWesttown (wildwest-theming)
    - RustyRuraltown (kinda HillBilly-theme)
    - newtown (where all the new livinghouses and archtectural Constructions life)
    - bigCitytown (skyscrapers, big Houses, should be a big town (min 700by700)
    - destroyedtown (a victimized town when the catastrophy happend)
    - Commontown1 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)
    - Commontown2 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)
    - Commontown3 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)

    - (more groups are planed)

    Iam not sure if Nitrogen can accomblish all this unique wishes !?
    Last edited by Magoli; 2 Hours Ago at 07:58 PM.

  4. #3679
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    Hi Damocles - thx for the hot Infos
    I will def check out what u have said about the specializing in the prefabs-list this weekend

    I also saw this before and asked myself if I could use this unique-group placeholding for another group from my CP
    But if I would set this unique-group to my Asiatown-POIs - I probably would lose all other prefabs that are actaully also assigned to that group - And that wouldn't be a step forward IMO

    Best thing would be if the NITROGEN-TOOL would allow custom-groups. Idk if this is possible and make sense
    Maybe if there would be some precoded zonegroups for free Usage (e.g. Zone01, Zone02 , Zone03) ???

    My mainquestion is:
    Is it possible to have a town just consisting from the prefabs of one group (topic: Asiatown) ???
    Because this special prefab-set awaits a special unique handling IMO:
    1. Non of the Asia-prefabs should appear in any other place except Asiatown
    2. No other Prefab should spawn in Asiatown except the ones I specially allowed them to
    (kinda same rules counts for almost every township that I use in CP)

    here are the different townships I actually have:
    - Asiatown (should be a small town because of the low amount of prefabs here)
    - OldWesttown (wildwest-theming)
    - RustyRuraltown (kinda HillBilly-theme)
    - newtown (where all the new livinghouses and archtectural Constructions life)
    - bigCitytown (skyscrapers, big Houses, should be a big town (min 700by700)
    - destroyedtown (a victimized town when the catastrophy happend)
    - Commontown1 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)
    - Commontown2 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)
    - Commontown3 (a usual Living-town we know from Vanilla-RWG - with its own unique prefabset)

    - (more groups are planed)

    Iam not sure if Nitrogen can accomblish all this unique wishes !?
    Its all just a question of adding new zones, and placement logic. (Cities have a citycenter, downtown, housing, industrial) Smaller settlements like farms have only the "farm" POIs.

    Currently its hardcoded. I can see how to this can be made more configurable, without going overboard with complexity in the code.

    I would probably go with generic "zone_A" , "zone_B" , "zone_C" as custom zones, that create compact smaller settlements like the oldwest towns in NitroGen.
    Then you can assign the special POIs to that zone, and it will only spawn those in a new settlement.
    Or assign POIs to multiple zones, so they can share structures.

    And some dropdown for "Mod Settements size" like:
    "small" (3 to 6)
    "medium" (6 to 10)
    "large" (10 to 18)
    Last edited by Damocles; 2 Hours Ago at 08:16 PM.

  5. #3680
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Skippy5 View Post
    Makes sense sometimes rwg gives some unexpected results - thanks...

    2) I will get you a picture when I get home... it is an amazing house with a two car garage and picket fence. The house has flowers all around the boarder, snow biome trees, and a garden in the back with with yucca, corns, potato, etc

    The garage has a work bench and two table saws (all working), just outside the back of the garage, is a basement entrance. There are two working cement mixers, two firges, stacks of cobblestone, cement, and rocks. There is also a metal door - break it and go down - you find a working chem station and a secret vault door - through that is daft traps, Motion sensor, dates, etc


    Real nice setup and love the detail and effort - I would honestly love to have this setup in my end game for living... however, I just want to remove it from my mix as it makes the game too easy for my style... I guess I could just ignore it, but would prefer to remove from my config...
    yo - nobody loves OP POI's !!!
    post the pic here and I will remove/change all these workstations from the prefab

  6. #3681
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,371
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    yo - nobody loves OP POI's !!!
    post the pic here and I will remove/change all these workstations from the prefab
    Don't remove cause 1 person doesn't like it lol. Faurly simple for the end user to remove that prefab him/herself.

  7. #3682
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    Its all just a question of adding new zones, and placement logic. (Cities have a citycenter, downtown, housing, industrial) Smaller settlements like farms have only the "farm" POIs.

    Currently its hardcoded. I can see how to this can be made more configurable, without going overboard with complexity in the code.

    I would probably go with generic "zone_A" , "zone_B" , "zone_C" as custom zones, that create compact smaller settlements like the oldwest towns in NitroGen.
    Then you can assign the special POIs to that zone, and it will only spawn those in a new settlement.

    And some dropdown for "Mod Settements size" like:
    "small" (3 to 6)
    "medium" (6 to 10)
    "large" (10 to 18)
    yeah - cool - dont need the custom-zones when there are some generic zones to work with

    I havent read in fully in ur thread - just read the first 5 and last 2 sides so far - but I will do this weekend

    maybe than i understand what u mean with:
    And some dropdown for "Mod Settements size" like:
    "small" (3 to 6)
    "medium" (6 to 10)
    "large" (10 to 18)
    right now I have no clue what this could be - LOL - sry


    Another topic are the Prefabs that are assigned to speciffic biomes (esp. snow or dessert)
    I think I read that NITROGEN dont handles with the "Allowed_Biomes" from the xml-files - is this correct ?
    This means all biome-speciffic POI's should be removed from the prefabslist (or redone to make them spawn universal)
    (IMO it belongs 10-20 prefabs in the CP !)

    Another topic is the biome-splatmap (or what it is called!)
    I saw in ur default-maps are no ownstanding wasteland and burnt_forest biomes - just partitional some little areas
    But that wouldnt be a problem, because I could use a own biome-splatmap - right ?

  8. #3683
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    There is no biome filter for placement in Nitrogen, as 98% of the (gen-usable) vanilla prefabs work pretty well in any biome. Eg not being visually off.

    How many of your prefabs are biome specific? Especially regarding the soil type.

  9. #3684
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    22,387
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    There is no biome filter for placement in Nitrogen, as 98% of the (gen-usable) vanilla prefabs work pretty well in any biome. Eg not being visually off.

    How many of your prefabs are biome specific? Especially regarding the soil type.
    Every one that's incorrectly using a specific soil type instead of terrainFiller. Me, if I was magoli, I'd see if Pille can include the batch ability to run every prefab through a folder to process for a block change,and replace EVERY instance of a specific soil with terrainfiller. =) Warning, it could lead to interesting results. ;-)

    Or go through them one by one and to them.

    - - - Updated - - -

    @Mag: RWG has disappointed you for several alpha's now, and with no end in sight. I would encourage you to dig deeper into NitroGen, as it is more likely to do what you want, especially with a receptive developer (Damocles) to possibly add in features you might want.

    Just saying. You do a lot of work and you get more frustrated each alpha. That makes me sad.

  10. #3685
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    Every one that's incorrectly using a specific soil type instead of terrainFiller. Me, if I was magoli, I'd see if Pille can include the batch ability to run every prefab through a folder to process for a block change,and replace EVERY instance of a specific soil with terrainfiller. =) Warning, it could lead to interesting results. ;-)

    Or go through them one by one and to them.

    - - - Updated - - -

    @Mag: RWG has disappointed you for several alpha's now, and with no end in sight. I would encourage you to dig deeper into NitroGen, as it is more likely to do what you want, especially with a receptive developer (Damocles) to possibly add in features you might want.

    Just saying. You do a lot of work and you get more frustrated each alpha. That makes me sad.
    yes ur right - A16 and A17 was grab !!! A15-CP was IMO the best looking and most variety world ever !!!
    but Iam not frustrated anymore - I very love A18 at all
    (the RWG-world is ok and I have more control over RWG again, also love all the new little changes like what they did with shematics, gunparts, getting xp, also performance is ok and microstutters and lags are almost gone - ofc there are some Issues, but for now I enjoy playing)

    Like I said before - It was a hard race between NITRGEN and RWGMIXER:

    after perspecting all pros and cons of both the finall result was 51% for RWGMIXER - 49% for NITROGEN

    But if Damocles includes these extra generic zones for me, then I think it would be the better tool to generate a unique world, where towns are different from each other AND no stupid repeatings over and over again

  11. #3686
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    There is no biome filter for placement in Nitrogen, as 98% of the (gen-usable) vanilla prefabs work pretty well in any biome. Eg not being visually off.

    How many of your prefabs are biome specific? Especially regarding the soil type.
    tbh right now I just remember a few of them that are really made to be in a speciffic biome
    (snow-taverne, my private-beach-club should not be in snow, guppys rest-area is designed to be in dessert, and few other ones)

    but there are plenty of CP-prefabs that dont uses terrainfiller, but this shouldn't be a problem right now.I can fix them to be more universal, when the variety of different towns on the map has reached a level of almost real looking lands

    But ur right - about 95% of the prefabs can spawn in every biome and look ok and not displaced !

  12. #3687
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    When placing the POIs, NitroGen is drawing a random one (with the proper zone) from the list, and checks if it was used before in this region.
    Its skips several times repeating POIs, until it gives up and takes the next one.

    This makes POIs not repeat (mostly) in the same location. ... no 10 radio-towers...

    The more POIs are available for a zone, the less likely it is to see any one repeating.

    (Ok, I could write that logic a bit more fancy, but it works quite well, and i like when code keeps simple)

  13. #3688
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,627
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by stallionsden View Post
    Don't remove cause 1 person doesn't like it lol. Faurly simple for the end user to remove that prefab him/herself.
    remove was the wrong word tbh

    I should say:

    First I check how many of the OP stuff is in the prefab and how hard/danger is it to reach there
    Then I decide with heart and brain what to do
    maybe Iam gonna trimm some Loot or change a workstation to lootable
    maybe I dont do nothing

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Damocles View Post
    When placing the POIs, NitroGen is drawing a random one (with the proper zone) from the list, and checks if it was used before in this region.
    Its skips several times repeating POIs, until it gives up and takes the next one.

    This makes POIs not repeat (mostly) in the same location. ... no 10 radio-towers...

    The more POIs are available for a zone, the less likely it is to see any one repeating.

    (Ok, I could write that logic a bit more fancy, but it works quite well, and i like when code keeps simple)
    sounds fantastic

    thx again for the uploaded CP-prefablists - I def will check them on weekend

  14. #3689
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    tbh right now I just remember a few of them that are really made to be in a speciffic biome
    (snow-taverne, my private-beach-club should not be in snow, guppys rest-area is designed to be in dessert, and few other ones)

    but there are plenty of CP-prefabs that dont uses terrainfiller, but this shouldn't be a problem right now.I can fix them to be more universal, when the variety of different towns on the map has reached a level of almost real looking lands

    But ur right - about 95% of the prefabs can spawn in every biome and look ok and not displaced !
    I mostly control the placement with the zones. Mountain-zones will spawn POIs high up, wich are usually either snow or forest. There are only POIs in "mountain" that could exist in those location (huts, camps). The placement is depending on the hight of the area.

    Other POIs that are town like only spawn in cities (citycenter, downtown) etc.

  15. #3690
    Inventor Damocles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    sounds fantastic

    thx again for the uploaded CP-prefablists - I def will check them on weekend
    I generated an 8k world, and had a look at the CompoPack POIs. There some really nice ones in there. I also did not find one placed wrong (y-offset).
    I liked the medival castle especially. Very nice craftsmanship.

    Some POIs are really high quality (fitting seamlessly into the vanilla quality POIs). Some are a bit less refined.

    Is there a reason that the vanilla POIs have a copy? Why not just use the original references?
    Last edited by Damocles; 47 Minutes Ago at 09:56 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •