Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: [MOD] Zombie Transmogrifier

  1. #1
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1

    [MOD] Zombie Transmogrifier

    The Zombie Transmogrifier shakes things up in the apocalypse by adding a random twists to the spawned in zombies. Hal9000's Run in Dark mod has been expanded to include more random elements in the world.

    • Random Walk Types - No more adding the same zombies in the entityclasses; This mod randomizes all spawned in zombies to various Walk Types
    • Random Approach Speeds - Everyone walks, shuffles and runs at different speeds. Did the apocalypse change that? Hell no!
    • Random Heights - Was the apocalypse based in Kamino? Hell no! Random sizes for all the zombies
    • Random Run in Dark - There's a small chance the next zombie you meet in the burnt out house can run... Will you be ready for them?
    • Head Shots matter - This feature enables bonus multipliers to head shots, and reduces damage done to the body. <property name="HeadShots" value="true" />
    • HandItem Support - Similar to the zombie vomit, we can now equip weapons through the GetBareHndItem()


    Heavily commented code allows and encourages for more community expansion ideas and tweaks.

    This mod extends the EntityZombie, EntityZombieCop, and EntityZombieCrawler classes. It includes a part of Hal9000's Helper, in order to properly extend the classes.

    Browser the Mod Here:https://github.com/7D2DSDX/Mods/tree...Transmogrifier

    Or Download the complete set of mods here: https://github.com/7D2DSDX/Mods/archive/master.zip
    Last edited by sphereii; 11-13-2018 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Added new features

  2. #2
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    0
    This is a fantastic addition. It really does make a difference with the variety. Such as big bertha the spoon (shovel) carrier does something different other than lumber around. Horde night was fun

    Thanks again for all the hard work that's been put in by all the contributors.

    SDX has really changed the game for me. SDX = more fun!

    It's such a neat solution to maintaining mods and integrating everything together.

  3. #3
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    I am really happy that you are enjoying the SDX experience so much, and I can't wait to see some of the things you'll do with this.

    The Zombie Transmogrifier is a perfect example of the successful evolution of a base SDX mod, and extended to do things it was never intended or thought of doing. I'm excited to see what the next extension will look like.

  4. #4
    Ranger
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    313
    Rep Power
    0
    Unfortunately I think this is the cause of a pretty gamestopping bug. I kept getting locked into the console by a Keynotfoundexception almost every time the game tried to restore sleepers, and it starts happening at GS1:

    KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary.
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[System.Int32,System.String].get_Item (Int32 key) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at SleeperVolume.HQ (.World ) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at SleeperVolume.Tick (.World _world) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at World.QUC () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at World.OnUpdateTick (Single _partialTicks, ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at GameManager.BC () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at GameManager.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

    (Filename: Line: -1)

    I searched for causes and found this thread: https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...the-dictionary

    So I tried replacing SteveCrawler and SteveCrawlerFeral in the sleeper gamestages with a different zed. I'm using this mod on top of Valmod, it adds 1 more zombie (and that happens to be a crawler) to the sleeper stages, so I replaced that one as well. When that didn't help, I replaced regular Steve too. No dice. But since this mod can make any zed into a crawler, I finally tried setting the crawler class from EntityZombieCrawlSDX, Mods back to EntityZombieCrawl. Since then, no more console popping up. I even set the class back two more times to confirm, the console error came back immediately.

  5. #5
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by owl79 View Post
    Unfortunately I think this is the cause of a pretty gamestopping bug. I kept getting locked into the console by a Keynotfoundexception almost every time the game tried to restore sleepers, and it starts happening at GS1:

    KeyNotFoundException: The given key was not present in the dictionary.
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[System.Int32,System.String].get_Item (Int32 key) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at SleeperVolume.HQ (.World ) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at SleeperVolume.Tick (.World _world) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at World.QUC () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at World.OnUpdateTick (Single _partialTicks, ArraySegment`1 _activeChunks) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at GameManager.BC () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
    at GameManager.Update () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

    (Filename: Line: -1)

    I searched for causes and found this thread: https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...the-dictionary

    So I tried replacing SteveCrawler and SteveCrawlerFeral in the sleeper gamestages with a different zed. I'm using this mod on top of Valmod, it adds 1 more zombie (and that happens to be a crawler) to the sleeper stages, so I replaced that one as well. When that didn't help, I replaced regular Steve too. No dice. But since this mod can make any zed into a crawler, I finally tried setting the crawler class from EntityZombieCrawlSDX, Mods back to EntityZombieCrawl. Since then, no more console popping up. I even set the class back two more times to confirm, the console error came back immediately.
    Hmm, strange, I haven't seen that error before. I may just remove the crawler from the SDX, as you did, since there's little value in watching a crawler.. well, run.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,779
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sphereii View Post
    Hmm, strange, I haven't seen that error before. I may just remove the crawler from the SDX, as you did, since there's little value in watching a crawler.. well, run.
    That bug is not caused by this mod. In Starvation we had the same error, and fixed it the same way you suggested. We have not used this mod, and we do not alter the crawlers properties in any way. We believe this is a vanilla bug related to the model.

  7. #7
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    146
    Rep Power
    1
    Can this mod be run server side only? or does the client need SDX as well?

  8. #8
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dracos99 View Post
    Can this mod be run server side only? or does the client need SDX as well?
    It needs SDX on both client and server.

  9. #9
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    New Update!

    - Most options are XML exposed now
    - Includes HeadShots Only option

  10. #10
    Scavenger RyanJames1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    Rep Power
    0
    I absolutely love this mod. Thank you so much for making this!

    Anyhow, I'm wondering if there is code to manually select the zombies height? ...or even better; a range of heights (ie: 0.8,1.2). If there isn't already I think this would be a fantastic addition to the mod. I love the randomness for some of the zeds, others can become comical if too small or too big. Turning it off for some zombies works fine but having the ability to chose would be much better.

    Quick second question: Does the headshot code automatically increase decap chance?

  11. #11
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJames1978 View Post
    I absolutely love this mod. Thank you so much for making this!

    Anyhow, I'm wondering if there is code to manually select the zombies height? ...or even better; a range of heights (ie: 0.8,1.2). If there isn't already I think this would be a fantastic addition to the mod. I love the randomness for some of the zeds, others can become comical if too small or too big. Turning it off for some zombies works fine but having the ability to chose would be much better.

    Quick second question: Does the headshot code automatically increase decap chance?
    Yes, there should already be random heights added, available through the XML to toggle on and off

    The head code adds a multiplier, and most vanilla entities will lose their heads to die, but it doesn't always happen.

  12. #12
    Scavenger RyanJames1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sphereii View Post
    Yes, there should already be random heights added, available through the XML to toggle on and off

    The head code adds a multiplier, and most vanilla entities will lose their heads to die, but it doesn't always happen.
    Nice, thank you. But what I meant was a definable scale in the xml, not just the ability to toggle on and off. Something like this:

    Code:
        <!-- Available Command -->
        <property name="RandomSize" value="false" />
    
        <!-- Commands I would like to see -->
        <property name="CustomSize" value="1.2" />
    
        <!-- Or -->
        <property name="CustomSizeRange" value="0.8,1.2" />
    I do appologize if this is already available somewhere else or not a fitting request for the mod. Just curious if it's something that is possible as it gives me some really neat ideas. And will this mod work with animals if I were to change the Class to EntityAnimalHal?

    Thank you so much
    Last edited by RyanJames1978; 10-13-2018 at 05:09 AM.

  13. #13
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJames1978 View Post
    Nice, thank you. But what I meant was a definable scale in the xml, not just the ability to toggle on and off. Something like this:

    Code:
        <!-- Available Command -->
        <property name="RandomSize" value="false" />
    
        <!-- Commands I would like to see -->
        <property name="CustomSize" value="1.2" />
    
        <!-- Or -->
        <property name="CustomSizeRange" value="0.8,1.2" />
    I do appologize if this is already available somewhere else or not a fitting request for the mod. Just curious if it's something that is possible as it gives me some really neat ideas. And will this mod work with animals if I were to change the Class to EntityAnimalHal?

    Thank you so much
    No, it's just a toggle now. There's a line in the code that defines the sizes it can do. I picked this method, rather than a true random, because it allowed you to be more fine controlled on the differences.

    Code:
         if (this.blRandomSize)
            {
                // This is the distributed random heigh multiplier. Add or adjust values as you see fit. By default, it's just a small adjustment.
                float[] numbers = new float[9] {0.8f, 0.8f, 0.9f, 0.9f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.1f, 1.1f};
                int randomIndex = random.Next(0, numbers.Length);
                this.flScale = numbers[randomIndex];
    
                // scale down the zombies, or upscale them
                this.gameObject.transform.localScale = new Vector3(this.flScale, this.flScale, this.flScale);
            }
    Animals are a bit different; the EntityAnimalHal doesn't have this code in it, so it wouldn't work. Maybe in A17 I'll look at expanding it.

  14. #14
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,646
    Rep Power
    1
    Updated the description to include the XML syntax for enable head-shots matter, and to show support for allowing the zombies to hold weapons though the GetHandItem call.

  15. #15
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    MotherRussia
    Posts
    1,972
    Rep Power
    1
    Hello sphereii!

    I want to ask. Is there a possibility to assign zombie height(constant) through .xml ?

    (i just want to make bigger of that guy in the Hawaiian shirt)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •