Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 13.8 City-Spawning bugs

  1. #1
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,434
    Rep Power
    1

    13.8 City-Spawning bugs

    A13.8 RWG-Issues:

    - The Terrainfiller seems to DONT work anymore. Or it is deactived - I dont know.
    - When I wanted to do a mapflight my map appeared somewhere offscreen !!! Couldnt use it !!!
    Its the first time I got this Issue !!

    - In the Cities the Curbs are missing on some cityblocks !!!

    - The Towns are still not filled well

    - There are nasty 90degree-cliffs between the street and the Hubs (no matter if town,city, or customHubs)

  2. #2
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,835
    Rep Power
    1
    Prefab rules have a bug.

    This is why some buildings never show up in cities when they should. The same happens with wilderness prefab rules but its harder to show in a screenshot.

    p.s. right click and open in new tab to get the image at full size for better detail.


    Code:
    <hub_rule name="spawntest">
    <hub_type value="city"/>
    <width value="1000, 1000" />
    <height value="1000, 1000" />
    <path_material value="asphalt" /> 
    <path_radius value="7" />
    <prefab_rule name="spawntest" prob="1"/>
    </hub_rule>
    
    ...
    
    <prefab_rule name="spawntest">
    <prefab rule="cityBlocks" lot_type="CityBlock" />
    <prefab rule="megaCity" />
    </prefab_rule>
    
    <prefab_rule name="megaCity">
    <prefab rule="none" />
    <prefab name="megacity_01" />
    <prefab name="megacity_02" />
    <prefab name="megacity_03" />
    <prefab name="megacity_04" />
    <prefab name="megacity_05" />
    <prefab name="megacity_06" />
    <prefab name="megacity_07" />
    <prefab name="megacity_08" />
    <prefab name="megacity_09" />
    <prefab name="megacity_10" />
    </prefab_rule>
    
    <prefab_rule name="cityBlocks">
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_quartered"/>
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_half"/>
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_t"/>
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_full"/>
    </prefab_rule>
    With the <prefab rule="none" /> all the megacity_# prefabs spawn, with no commented out cityBlocks, rg_waste_hub_blk_quartered never spawns.




    Code:
    <hub_rule name="spawntest">
    <hub_type value="city"/>
    <width value="1000, 1000" />
    <height value="1000, 1000" />
    <path_material value="asphalt" /> 
    <path_radius value="7" />
    <prefab_rule name="spawntest" prob="1"/>
    </hub_rule>
    
    ...
    
    <prefab_rule name="spawntest">
    <prefab rule="cityBlocks" lot_type="CityBlock" />
    <prefab rule="megaCity" />
    </prefab_rule>
    
    <prefab_rule name="megaCity">
    <!-- <prefab rule="none" />-->
    <prefab name="megacity_01" />
    <prefab name="megacity_02" />
    <prefab name="megacity_03" />
    <prefab name="megacity_04" />
    <prefab name="megacity_05" />
    <prefab name="megacity_06" />
    <prefab name="megacity_07" />
    <prefab name="megacity_08" />
    <prefab name="megacity_09" />
    <prefab name="megacity_10" />
    </prefab_rule>
    
    <prefab_rule name="cityBlocks">
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_quartered"/>
    <!--
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_half"/>
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_t"/>
    <prefab name="rg_waste_hub_blk_full"/>
    -->
    </prefab_rule>
    With <prefab rule="none" /> commented out megacity_01 never spawns, with the bottom 3 cityBlocks commented out rg_waste_hub_blk_quartered does spawn.




    Code:
    <prefab_rule name="spawntest">
    <prefab rule="cityBlocks" lot_type="CityBlock" />
    <prefab rule="megaCity13" />
    <prefab rule="megaCity46" />
    <prefab rule="megaCity70" />
    </prefab_rule>
    
    <prefab_rule name="megaCity13">
    <prefab rule="none" />
    <prefab name="megacity_01" />
    <prefab name="megacity_02" />
    <prefab name="megacity_03" />
    </prefab_rule>
    <prefab_rule name="megaCity46">
    <prefab rule="none" />
    <prefab name="megacity_04" />
    <prefab name="megacity_05" />
    <prefab name="megacity_06" />
    </prefab_rule>
    <prefab_rule name="megaCity70">
    <prefab rule="none" />
    <prefab name="megacity_07" />
    <prefab name="megacity_08" />
    <prefab name="megacity_09" />
    <prefab name="megacity_10" />
    </prefab_rule>
    Prefab megacity_2, megacity_3, megacity_4, megacity_6 never spawn


  3. #3
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    0
    Something seems to be wrong with the placement of buildings now. In 2 different seeds I created after the update, almost any building I came along was either
    - floating in the air and thus crumbling when trying to enter, or Zed's whacking them.
    - placed several blocks above or below the surrounding's terrain surface, leading to the cliffs effect described by Magoli above.
    From the way the floating buildings were placed it looks as if before placing a building, the implementation identifies the highest block on the terrain in question, then uses that height level as a reference for the placement. The problem with this currently is however, that the space below that level isn't filled up after the building's been placed, creating huge holes below it.

  4. #4
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok after a wipe and reinstallation of the game, I haven't had the problem again (yet) (tried 3 more new seeds). It might be seed-dependent, since I can still reproduce it with the older seeds I created yesterday.
    Example:
    Seed name: 13.8_b7 05-02-16 2135
    Location: 2615 N 8532 W

  5. #5
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,434
    Rep Power
    1
    some complete cityblocks are 1 block offset too.
    see the picture here:


    http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/305485758898968017/49FB37B95697269264D8A4042E091FB460A3239A/



    the left cityblock is 1 block more in the street !!! (It overlapses the street)

    the right cityblock is 1 block beneath the street - and there is a 1line of terrain showin up from bottom to the end of city !!!

    btw: this was a pure Vanilla-game !!!
    Last edited by Magoli; 02-06-2016 at 10:38 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •