Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 100

Thread: A16 - 7DaysProfileEditor

  1. #46
    Reconstructionist mdf25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    591
    Rep Power
    1
    Awesome, so I commented out the line of XML and the tool loads now. Now I get a new crash when it tries to load my save into the editor...


    Time Stamp: 27/04/2017 07:53:26
    Message: An item with the same key has already been added.
    Source: mscorlib
    Inner Exception:
    Stack Trace: at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentException(Exceptio nResource resource)
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.Insert(TKe y key, TValue value, Boolean add)
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.Add(TKey key, TValue value)
    at SevenDaysProfileEditor.Skills.SkillBinder..ctor(Sk ill skill, Value`1 playerLevel, List`1 recipeBinderList)
    at SevenDaysProfileEditor.Skills.SkillsTab..ctor(Play erDataFile playerDataFile, List`1 recipes)
    at SevenDaysProfileEditor.GUI.PlayerTab..ctor(PlayerD ataFile playerDataFile, String path, Int32 selectedIndex)
    at SevenDaysProfileEditor.GUI.MainMenuActions.OpenFil e(String fileName, PlayerDataFile playerDataFile, Int32 selectedIndex)
    Target Site: Void ThrowArgumentException(System.ExceptionResource)


    I'm thinking because I tried to open this one before it's gone a bit loopy?

    Where do the keys get stored and I could probably remove said key to make it work (unless deleting and redownloading the package would solve it?)

  2. #47
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry, I caught your post late yesterday, so after confirming the program loads, I didn't try to open your save with it.

    Only data the program saves when it runs is the location of the game exe, so it can look up other files it needs (namely xmls), so the progran should work fine regardless of what happend in the previous runs.

    The error appears when loading skills from the save into the program. There must be some kind of duplicate somewhere. Maybe the mod you're using has the skill with the same name? I think that might cause it.

    I'll know more when I get home and can look further into it.

  3. #48
    Reconstructionist mdf25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    591
    Rep Power
    1
    No need to apologise, I'm just amazed that this tool can do what it does, you've done a fine job. As I said on my vanilla save I tested it and it works wonderfully.

    The Starvation save looks quite different to a vanilla save, as it does add a couple new skills, and quite a lot of new quests and buffs in the mod itself - there seems to be a bit of extra info in the Starvation file near the beginning.

    I really appreciate the help!

  4. #49
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mdf25 View Post
    No need to apologise, I'm just amazed that this tool can do what it does, you've done a fine job. As I said on my vanilla save I tested it and it works wonderfully.

    The Starvation save looks quite different to a vanilla save, as it does add a couple new skills, and quite a lot of new quests and buffs in the mod itself - there seems to be a bit of extra info in the Starvation file near the beginning.

    I really appreciate the help!
    I really appreciate your appreciation.

    Anyway, I know what's wrong. And it's not my fault. Yay! That always makes me happy.

    Code:
    <crafting_skill name="Deep Water" exp_to_level="150" icon="fishing" description_key="deepWaterDesc" title_key="deepWater" max_level="7" group="Fishing">
    			<requirement skill_level="1" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="40" />
    			<requirement skill_level="2" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="50" />
    			<requirement skill_level="3" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="60" />
    			<requirement skill_level="4" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="70" />
    			<requirement skill_level="5" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="80" />
    			<requirement skill_level="6" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="90" />
    			<requirement skill_level="7" required_skill_name="Fisherman" required_skill_level="100" />
    			<recipe name="fishingLure3" unlock_level="1" />
    			<recipe name="improvedCane" unlock_level="1" />
    			<recipe name="bambooRaft" unlock_level="2" />
    			<recipe name="barge" unlock_level="5" />
    			<recipe name="barge" unlock_level="5" />
    			<effect name="CraftingTime">
    				<multiply skill_level="1,2" value="1.00,0.76" />
    				<multiply skill_level="2,4" value="0.76,0.66" />
    				<multiply skill_level="4,5" value="0.66,0.59" />
    				<multiply skill_level="5,6" value="0.59,0.53" />
    				<multiply skill_level="6,7" value="0.53,0.47" />
    			</effect>
    			<effect name="CraftingQuality">
    				<setvalue skill_level="1,1" value="350,416" />
    				<setvalue skill_level="1,4" value="416,520" />
    				<setvalue skill_level="4,6" value="520,575" />
    				<setvalue skill_level="6,7" value="575,600" />
    			</effect>
    			<effect name="RepairTime">
    				<multiply skill_level="1,2" value="1.00,0.61" />
    				<multiply skill_level="2,3" value="0.61,0.54" />
    				<multiply skill_level="3,4" value="0.54,0.48" />
    				<multiply skill_level="4,5" value="0.48,0.43" />
    				<multiply skill_level="5,6" value="0.43,0.39" />
    				<multiply skill_level="6,7" value="0.39,0.35" />
    			</effect>
    			<effect name="RepairAmount">
    				<add skill_level="1,2" value="1,27" />
    				<add skill_level="2,3" value="27,31" />
    				<add skill_level="3,4" value="31,35" />
    				<add skill_level="4,5" value="35,38" />
    				<add skill_level="5,6" value="38,41" />
    				<add skill_level="6,7" value="41,43" />
    			</effect>
    			<effect name="RepairQualityLoss">
    				<multiply skill_level="1,2" value="1.00,0.53" />
    				<multiply skill_level="2,3" value="0.53,0.44" />
    				<multiply skill_level="3,4" value="0.44,0.38" />
    				<multiply skill_level="4,5" value="0.38,0.32" />
    				<multiply skill_level="5,6" value="0.32,0.27" />
    				<multiply skill_level="6,7" value="0.27,0.22" />
    			</effect>
    		</crafting_skill>
    See anything fishy (I'm so, so sorry) about it? (Hint, hint, look at the "barge" recipe).

    No my friend, you are not drunk, there are indeed two barges there. Unless, you see four, then you might have a problem (I'm still so very sorry).

    The program adds these entries to a dictionary of sorts, and uses the name as the dictionary key. Each dictionary key needs to be unique. And therein lies our problem - we try to introduce a duplicate (Oh my god, please don't hate me).

    Anyway, this is a violation of xml rules and while I could write a really robust program that handles all kind of input, I'm just to lazy to do it (I promise I won't make bad [something resembling a pun, but not really a pun] again). Besides, this might even be better, since it detects any mistakes made by modders. =)

    (Sorry.)

    P.S. Remove duplicate and it's clear sailing from there (Sorry, not sorry. I lied. You can hate all you want.).
    Last edited by Karlovsky120; 04-27-2017 at 07:18 PM. Reason: Yeah, still not sorry.

  5. #50
    Reconstructionist mdf25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    591
    Rep Power
    1
    It worked! Woohoo! Thanks so much for this tool. I've reverted the XMLs now but I'll report both these things on the Starvation forums. I think more people should know about this tool in order to test their XMLs, it actually makes a great validation tool!

    Where can I donate to this project?

  6. #51
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    It just checks for SOME data in SOME xmls, so it isn't really comprehensive. It will detect mistakes in those parts, but the rest could be a real mess.

    I thought about creating a donation button, but I decided against it. This was something done for fun and to learn.

    I don't want people to have any expectations of me, or the project. I will update the program and provide support for as long as it's interesting to me (and I don't really think it won't be in any foreseeable future, but who knows). By putting donations into the mix, I'll feel obligated to work on it and maintain it. Eh, maybe it's not even about that, I'm just fighting my inner greed I guess. Maybe I lose one day.

    That all being said, this program will always remain free and open source, so even if I decide to abandon it, I'd have no problem with someone else taking over. Hell, if anyone wants to work on it, they can, and I'll include any improvements to the release version, as long as they actually are improvements.

  7. #52
    Refugee
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0
    First of all, thank you for this tool you made, its really useful and it avoids to restart chars.
    You said that people can download your source for maybe helping making a better GUI, well...

    ...when i download your files, my MVS13 alerts me tons of errors that files are missing, whatever i did with MVS-13
    it didnt work. What program did you used to make this app? Why is your upload incomplete?


    Regards...

  8. #53
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    I made it using MVS15. I'll have to check (which I won't be able to do for a few days) what's going on exactly.

    You could just create a solution with two projects. One is the save manipulator and the other is the actual editor.

    Just copy the proper source file to each one and reference the manipulator in the editor.

    I also used a utility that combined the two projects into one at compile time, resulting with a single exe, instead of a dll and an exe. You could try get it as a NuGet package via the MVS command line. This is the package:

    https://www.nuget.org/packages/ilmerge


    EDIT: I know whats wrong, I didn't include the source of the manipulator with the editor. I'll fix it when I can. For now, just create the solution with two projects and download the source files for both the manipulator and the editor (they have separate github pages) and reference the manipulator in the editor.
    Last edited by Karlovsky120; 06-11-2017 at 11:56 AM.

  9. #54
    Refugee
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0
    aah ok, so i'll wait till you uploaded the missing files.
    btw i also use MVS13.
    MY main-focus is the GUI what allows invalid values that (can) creates errors in game.
    Of course when im done one day I'll send you the files to check before they go online.

    Regards...
    Last edited by 7DaysSurviver; 06-11-2017 at 09:24 PM.

  10. #55
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    I lied. I made it using MVS14. I don't know if it will work with the MVS13.

    Everything you need to compile and run the program should now be in the repository. Even if the solution file won't work, you should be able to create a new solution and reconstruct it using the files provided.

    Also, if you want to create a GUI that will allow illegal values, you could use the existing one and just add a flag settable via some menu that, if true, would ignore any restrictions I (or the game) imposed on the values. Might save you a lot of work and make it easier for future users of the program.

  11. #56
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    any ETAs on A16 support at least in experimental mode maybe?
    i've got skills screwed up after update in my profile (like negative skills so it's not working properly) and need to fix it.

    however haven't found any manual way of editing it. (may be u will share the way how to put misc construction skill to zero? i've tried console giveselfskillxp #skillname# 0 but it stays beyond limits still...

  12. #57
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    156
    Rep Power
    0
    I won't be supporting any experimental versions of 7DTD.

    Once a new version is officially out, I'll update the progran which will then work only for the newest version.

    You could get Visual Studio and use the debugger to step through the progran as it reads the file - once you see it reads the appropriate skill, note the position in the file and edit it with a hex editor. Although, that a lot of work for someone who hasn't done anything similar before.

    That's the best I can do.

  13. #58
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Karlovsky120 View Post
    I won't be supporting any experimental versions of 7DTD.
    Once a new version is officially out, I'll update the progran which will then work only for the newest version.
    You could get Visual Studio and use the debugger to step through the progran as it reads the file - once you see it reads the appropriate skill, note the position in the file and edit it with a hex editor. Although, that a lot of work for someone who hasn't done anything similar before.
    That's the best I can do.
    Thank you for that! not many people react like you, really appreciate! last time, i used VS a long long time ago, when i was young and beautiful! and now just no time for starting it again and refresh my debugging and sourcing skills. i'll wait some time i think, as it's not very much annoying currently. and that game takes so many time IRL. that's what annoying!

  14. #59
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm happy to give a fixing it up for A16 experimental a crack, need to figure out how it works first

  15. #60
    Reconstructionist Kalarro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    602
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by AdmiralTriggerHappy View Post
    I'm happy to give a fixing it up for A16 experimental a crack, need to figure out how it works first
    Please do. It's needed to fix the Misc Crafting bug after the last experimental version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •