Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 65

Thread: SDX Persistent Arrows

  1. #16
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Carmela View Post
    Love it! What I've been waiting for. thank you.


    I did try uncommenting the crossbow stuff.
    But when I run the game with it uncommented, I can't fire the crossbow at all. I load the ammo, zoom, and hit fire and nothing happens. Happen to have any ideas why it would do that? Just figured I'd ask. (I'm a modder, so I'm familiar with xml formatting and I checked all the tags and everything, no errors at all in the output log, and I don't have any other mods running with it).
    Thank you!
    Hello Carmela,

    Hmm as I guess it's probably something to do with the draw time. The bow has it and I noticed the pimps fixed the issue where you could click the left mouse to instantly fire the bow without drawing. That fix probably means the crossbow is waiting for a draw strength value that's never provided as it's using the bow code. I prefer the challenge of the bow so never really tested the crossbow stuff. It might make it into a future update or the scripts for everything are included in the mod so some other modder may look at it and expand on the idea. There's plenty of room for improvements.

  2. #17
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    126
    Rep Power
    0
    Really appreciate the response(s). Thanks, Hal -- it sort of makes more sense, I get what you're saying. If I knew what I was doing at all with scripting, I would totally be all over this to see if that was the issue, but XMLs are pretty much my limit, sadly. haha
    Oh, well, I guess we'll see if someone else comes up with a fix or anything.

    Appreciate the help.

  3. #18
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    39
    Rep Power
    0
    This idea is really cool, and I love it, but most of the time I cannot use it. When I am playing with it sometimes it will work for a couple of shots, but most of the time it glitches on the very first shot. Technically it still works, the arrow fires, sticks, and can be retrieved. However, it inevitably throws the following error causing me to have to close the control panel. Once it happens it does it with every single arrow fired ... here is the error:

    "ArgumentException: an element with the same key already exists in the dictionary."

    Only other thing I have noticed is that usually I can see another arrow nearby that cannot be retrieved when this happens. I am using other SDX mods alongside this so it could be an interaction with one of those, but other than loading one at a time and testing each time (starting with this one) I do not know how to find out which one it is. I know that is probably what I am going to have to do,l but I am hoping for a "Oh yeah, fix it like this" sudden realization that might save me time.

    Thanks yall.

  4. #19
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Izbenn View Post
    This idea is really cool, and I love it, but most of the time I cannot use it. When I am playing with it sometimes it will work for a couple of shots, but most of the time it glitches on the very first shot. Technically it still works, the arrow fires, sticks, and can be retrieved. However, it inevitably throws the following error causing me to have to close the control panel. Once it happens it does it with every single arrow fired ... here is the error:

    "ArgumentException: an element with the same key already exists in the dictionary."

    Only other thing I have noticed is that usually I can see another arrow nearby that cannot be retrieved when this happens. I am using other SDX mods alongside this so it could be an interaction with one of those, but other than loading one at a time and testing each time (starting with this one) I do not know how to find out which one it is. I know that is probably what I am going to have to do,l but I am hoping for a "Oh yeah, fix it like this" sudden realization that might save me time.

    Thanks yall.
    Hello Izbenn,

    Yes it sounds like something is conflicting and you'll need to go through and check each mod. I'd focus on any other weapon/ranged mod you have but it could be any. When the error appears if you have a look in the output_log.txt file and find the error copy all the error here (including the text above and below it so I can see the call stack trace) as that may point to where the error is being thrown in the code.

  5. #20
    Leader
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    6,219
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by HAL9000 View Post
    Hello Izbenn,

    Yes it sounds like something is conflicting and you'll need to go through and check each mod. I'd focus on any other weapon/ranged mod you have but it could be any. When the error appears if you have a look in the output_log.txt file and find the error copy all the error here (including the text above and below it so I can see the call stack trace) as that may point to where the error is being thrown in the code.
    yeh i have found some sdx mods can conflict. spent the last two days fixing it. Well 1 day fixing it then trying to make another removing all current sdx mods from folder and breaking game lol. then forgetting which mod I had to put down the bottom of the load order lol....

  6. #21
    Survivor GARRthePIRATE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    68
    Rep Power
    0
    This is effeminately of my top favorite mods! When prioritizing this goes to the top. Thanks for making this mod!

    Also, you mentioned that there are some funky physics at work and I wanted to mention that I have since adding this mod watched a Zed sky rocket upon death. This has not happened much and I am also not complaining. I found it rather entertaining.

  7. #22
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by GARRthePIRATE View Post
    This is effeminately of my top favorite mods! When prioritizing this goes to the top. Thanks for making this mod!

    Also, you mentioned that there are some funky physics at work and I wanted to mention that I have since adding this mod watched a Zed sky rocket upon death. This has not happened much and I am also not complaining. I found it rather entertaining.
    Glad you like it GARR. Yeah it seems certain points of the body cause odd behaviour. I still haven't found an easy way of replicating it to test and debug though.

  8. #23
    Survivor GARRthePIRATE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    68
    Rep Power
    0
    {are persistent shells a potential thing?}

    NVMD
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...asing-Ejection
    Last edited by GARRthePIRATE; 07-28-2016 at 09:14 PM. Reason: Answered my own question

  9. #24
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Yes, that's the only reliable way. Having them spawn in the world could cause too much lag unless you limited the number of casings that were made.

  10. #25
    Inventor Carlzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    786
    Rep Power
    1
    They do spawn in the world, but only if a bag.AddItem() and inventory.AddItem() return false, and they have a decay time of 60 seconds, so they're not technically persistent.

    Otherwise, it'd be server overload with 8 players who have automatic weapons and tons of ammo...
    Last edited by Carlzilla; 07-30-2016 at 07:56 PM.

  11. #26
    Zombie Hunter KorruptkSwades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    400
    Rep Power
    0
    hi ! is there a way to make this work without using SDX ?

  12. #27
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by KorruptkSwades View Post
    hi ! is there a way to make this work without using SDX ?
    Nope

  13. #28
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois, USA.
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    0
    This needs to be added to the game. Instead of just being a mod.

  14. #29
    Colony Founder Xtrakicking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Behind your fridge
    Posts
    4,099
    Rep Power
    1
    Hey, just commenting to ask if this is still compatible with current A15 build.

  15. #30
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,912
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrakicking View Post
    Hey, just commenting to ask if this is still compatible with current A15 build.
    This version isn't but the A15 one is lurking in the shadows waiting for the RC of SDX 7 (which is the version A15 will need)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •