Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 20 of 20

Thread: SUPPORT FAQ: Information and Common Solutions

  1. #16
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,314
    Rep Power
    1

    Why are only 8 players supported? When can we have more?

    I'm going to refer to a recent post my madmole on this....

    Quote Originally Posted by madmole View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sy Tarn View Post
    speaking of which where say on the list is optimizing for 32 players?
    Its not on the list. This was originally a SP game but we decided to support 8 coop, then later added 8 dedi. At some point if we can make some optimizations we'll increase it some, but optimizations can be pie in the sky, so we are never going to promise support for an unknown. Besides, most people who play this game play 2-4 player pve with friends. Its not a pvp game and never will be. The goal was to make the zombies such a threat that people would have to band together to survive and wouldn't have TIME to kill other players because of impending doom.

    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Blackgryphon View Post
    ROFL No, it's not. In fact, it's 136 SqKm SMALLER than the default map size for A16. I did the math. Most servers, especially the good ones, run at 50 people playing at once. There is no way a map this tiny is going to work for that. I know you have said that "the game is made for 8 people" before. But, here's the thing, you make the game for your player base, not for you. And I can promise you that your player base doesn't want tiny little 64 sqkm maps. Now, if your goal is to stop people from playing the game, then by all means, continue the way you are going with A17.
    It was not designed for 8 people just because we felt like it. That number was so players could have a good experience based on the performance of the game. Every player adds overhead and slows down the server. Too many and it becomes a lag fest, then we get the blame.
    Last edited by SylenThunder; 12-22-2018 at 06:52 PM.

  2. #17
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,314
    Rep Power
    1

    How Much RAM Does the Game Use?

    OK, so using Process Explorer to monitor solely Private memory allocated by the client. This is only the RAM being used by the process, not shared, virtual, or the page file.

    Now, the system for this test...
    Intel Core i7-3930K
    16GB RAM
    GTX660Ti

    For this test, I logged into a MP server I play on regularly, went from my base into the nearest town. Then killed a few Z's.

    Starting Up 3.2GB
    On Server Selection Screen 3.3GB
    Connecting to the server 5.4GB
    In-game Forest biome 5.7GB
    Approaching an average town 6.2GB
    Exploring the town 6.5GB
    Back on the startup screen 6.0GB
    After closing the client, before release 2.8GB


    Then I started a new Navezgane map...


    Starting Up 3.2GB
    On Server Selection Screen 3.3GB
    Connecting to the server 4.2GB
    In-game NW Wasteland biome 5.2GB
    In-game Forest biome 5.9GB
    In-game farm / Diersville approach 6.3GB
    Diersville Hospital after travelling through center 6.6GB
    Exploring the town and killing Z's 6.9GB
    Back on the startup screen 6.2GB
    After closing the client, before release 2.5GB

    So very similar results. I spent a bit longer in-game doing this test, and traveled greater distances. This likely accounts for the slightly larger numbers. It also probably gives a more accurate example.

    I would imagine that if you have less RAM than this available, it's just going to start dumping to swap/pagefile/whatever you want to call it. I'll have to set up a different config to test on the laptop that only has 8GB RAM, and build another PC with only 4GB RAM.

  3. #18
    Tracker Junuxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Maybe
    Posts
    243
    Rep Power
    1

    Restore a Corrupted Save

    This method may possibly/partially restore a save game that is corrupted by not exiting the client correctly.


    1. Go to C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\7DaysToDie\Saves\Random Gen\[seed]\Player
    2. Remove [number].ttp
    3. Rename [number].ttp.bak to [number].ttp


    Player profile backup restored. Your items and everything you've built is still gone, AFAIK that's not backed up. But it's still better than having to start over entirely.
    Last edited by SylenThunder; 02-09-2018 at 11:38 AM.

  4. #19
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,314
    Rep Power
    1

    Why All This Lag?


    WHY ALL THIS LAG?


    First off, we're going to define the most common complaint, LAG.
    Quote Originally Posted by Urban Dictionary
    not to be confused with latency (the time it takes to send a packet to and recieve a response packet from a server along a network), lag is impaired computer functionality (slow application responses or reduced/choppy framerates) resulting from high latency, packet loss, or low-preformance (generally video) hardware

    So you can see, it's a pretty broad term, and can be easily confused. As a result, we won't use it in this context. We're going to separate "Lag" as "Latency" relating to a delay in the data transmission across the internet, and "FPS" as relating to the slowness of your PC to keep up.

    This is an older article, but it explains a bit the different between Lag (latency) and low FPS.
    Lag vs FPS
    Also...
    How to get rid of Lag guide.



    Now that we've cleared that up, we're going to get on with Latency, which is the real cause for the slow responses from the servers, and your disconnections.

    Now where where everyone gets really stupid. (No offense is meant here. Really.) Most people seem to think there's some magical connection between the port on their computer, and the port directly attached to the server. This Is Wrong.

    Your data takes several stops between your PC and the server. Each stop is a cause for latency in the signal.

    Oh, almost forgot, you guys may not know what Latency is yet...
    Quote Originally Posted by Urban Dictionary
    Latency is a term used for the time it takes for a packet of data to be sent by an application, travel to and be received by another application. Higher latency means longer time taken, meaning more delay of the requested action.

    So, each step your data takes has a chance to slow it down. And it's not just your data either, if it's a regional router hub, it's handling the data for many millions of people.

    So let's break this down with a sample traceroute...
    I have my network sitting behind another network, then it goes to my ISP and off to the servers. Here's the path...
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracert to Server
    D:\PWI\PWI~Files>tracert pwigc2.perfectworld.com

    Tracing route to pwigc2.perfectworld.com [66.151.133.71]
    over a maximum of 16 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.15.1 My Router
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254 My Gateway
    3 11 ms 10 ms 9 ms 76.250.208.2 My ISP
    4 * * * Request timed out. Regional Gateway
    5 * * * Request timed out. Regional Gateway
    6 * * * Request timed out. Regional Gateway
    7 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms 12.83.32.169 Regional Gateway
    8 69 ms 69 ms 69 ms 12.122.85.85 Regional Gateway
    9 69 ms 69 ms 70 ms 12.91.70.6 Regional Gateway
    10 70 ms 72 ms 71 ms 66.151.144.80 Regional Gateway
    11 71 ms 72 ms 71 ms 64.95.143.190 PWE's ISP
    12 72 ms 72 ms 72 ms 66.151.133.71 Server*

    Trace complete.
    * You're not actually hitting the server itself, this is just a load-balancing firewall. The actual server consists of an array of blades. Each one is an individual set of instances. But I digress...

    Now, each of those stops is a point of failure. The larger the number is, the higher the latency.
    In my example hops 4, 5, and 6 have a * instead of a number. This means that the packets were dropped. In this particular case, I happen to know that it's because they don't return ping requests, and not because there's any issue. However it could just as easily be because the latency is so high, that the tool stopped waiting for a response. When that occurs, you will typically see much higher numbers on the other side of it.

    If you look at this example, you can see where there is an issue with packets being lost and high latency.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracert to Heavens Tear
    D:\PWI\PWI~Files>tracert -h 16 pwieast1.perfectworld.com

    Tracing route to pwieast1.perfectworld.com [74.201.183.20]
    over a maximum of 16 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.15.1
    2 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
    3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 76-250-208-2.lightspeed.livnmi.sbcglobal.net [76.250.208.2]
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms 12.83.32.129
    8 21 ms 19 ms 19 ms ggr4.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.133.33]
    9 * * 330 ms chi-bb1-link.telia.net [213.248.87.253]
    10 404 ms 422 ms 411 ms nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.246.163]
    11 189 ms 203 ms 220 ms nyk-b6-link.telia.net [80.91.254.32]
    12 266 ms 272 ms 297 ms internap-ic-150761-nyk-b5.c.telia.net [213.248.81.150]
    13 315 ms 333 ms 351 ms border1.pc1-bbnet1.nyj001.pnap.net [216.52.95.9]

    Trace complete.
    In this example, I took multiple samples and it showed that the Regional Router at Hop 9 was having some issues. It's spiking on latency, and is often dropping packets.
    In this example, hop 13 is the Regional router before PWE's ISP, 14 is the ISP, and 15 is the firewall.

    So, in this example, where is PWE to blame? Can the blame be put on your network connection or ISP?
    Nope it's neither!. It's completely outside of anyone's control.
    In this particular example an extremely large number of people were getting disconnected and were experiencing high latency.
    Of course they were. Look a the latency on all those Routers in the big New York hub. That's nothing wrong with the servers or PWE's connection. Though it could be argued that the pnap servers are partially PWE's fault since PWE uses that company for distribution balancing of the data.

    Common causes for latency...
    Your End
    The World
    PWE

    You're using Wireless
    There's a lot of streaming traffic on your local network.
    You have a bad cable going from the wall to the modem.
    There's a fault in the in-house wiring.

    There's a fault in the wiring from your house to the pole.
    There's a fault in the wiring to the CO of your ISP.
    There's a fault at the CO of your ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.
    There's a fault at a Regional Hub in-between your ISP and their ISP.

    There's a fault at their ISP.
    There's a fault at their local network/computer.

    Now, just looking at the colors, you can see where the majority of the fault is going to lie. I can safely say that 98% of the time someone complains about latency, and provides me with data to track it down.., I find that the fault is either on their end, or with a regional hub. Of those, the majority is the regional hubs; particularly intersections at major undersea trunk lines.
    Last edited by SylenThunder; 03-20-2019 at 08:07 PM.

  5. #20
    Community Moderator SylenThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    SE Michigan, out in the sticks.
    Posts
    8,314
    Rep Power
    1

    Why All This Lag? Part Deux

    This is a funny list I made once for the possible causes of a high ping to the server and disconects. Each of these items has actually happened at least once to someone I've helped.

    1. You don't have the .exe files for the client set to run as administrator.
    2. You don't have the game directory set as an exception in your antivirus/security software.
    3. Your network adapter driver is out of date and needs to be refreshed.
    4. Your local area network settings are improperly configured.
    5. You have more than one firewall and don't realize it. (Common with some modems.)
    6. Your firewall settings are too strict. (VERY common with Norton360, ZoneAlarm, and Commodo firewall.)
    7. Your router is configured improperly. (Or it's just a cheap router that can't handle the traffic you're putting on it.)
    8. You have a bad network cable.
    9. You're using a wireless network connection. (Which leads to another huge list of possible issues.)
    10. You have a lot of traffic on your local network that is bogging your router/modem down. (All that streaming media eats up bandwidth ya know.)
    11. There's a fault in your router.
    12. There's a fault in your modem.
    13. You have a bad phone cord plugged into your modem.
    14. There's an issue with your house wiring.
    15. There's an issue with your outside wiring.
    16. A squirrel chewed on your phone/cable line at the pole and it's raining. (I have personally had this happen.)
    17. A switch/router at the CO for your ISP is having an issue.
    18. One of the many hubs between you and PWI is having an issue. (Most common)
    19. There is heavy sunspot activity. (Has happened within the past three years)
    20. There's a regional router outage. (This has happened more than a few times. More often occurs with trunk lines crossing large bodies of water)


    That's just a few. Sometimes, the easiest fix is something like shutting down your Modem/Router/PC for three minutes and then bringing them back up. Usually, I'll take the time to additionally perform a static discharge on my PC.



    7 Ways to Improve the Wi-Fi Signal In Your Home

    Wi-Fi problems got you down? Don’t worry, you’re not the only one. All kinds of issues can prevent you from connecting to your wireless network, from the construction of your house to interference from your neighbors and even just old equipment.

    So how can you speed up your home wireless network? We’ve assembled some tips and tricks to help you diagnose and solve some of the most common Wi-Fi problems.

    1. Router placement is key

    Where you place your router in your home makes a huge difference in signal quality, Entrepreneur.com says. Avoid placing the router in corner rooms, or worse yet, your basement. The more walls, piping, or ducting the signal passes through, the weaker the signal is going to be. The router should be placed as close to the center of the room as possible for optimal performance.

    Radio signals should be able to make it through walls without much problem, but if you’re in a room with thick walls, expect to have trouble connecting even with a router close by.

    2. Dual band router? Use it!

    Many routers come with both 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi connectivity. USA Today recommends you use the 5GHz band whenever possible. With so many wireless networks out there, and Bluetooth becoming more common (it, too, operates in the 2.4GHz band), there is a lot of interference for your router to overcome at times.

    We recommend you use the 5GHz band for video streaming and gaming, as data speeds are slightly faster. The 2.4GHz band should work well enough for everyday web use though.

    3. Does everybody need to be wireless?

    As more and more Wi-Fi enabled devices are added to the network, your router will slow the connection speeds of everyone to ensure all devices have enough bandwidth to connect, B&H Photo & Video says. If this is happening, consider networking the old fashioned way.

    Devices closest to the router should be connected via ethernet cable rather than through Wi-Fi. Almost all Wi-Fi routers include at least two — and usually four — wired ethernet jacks. Yes, it’s not as pretty, but your wireless speeds should improve, not to mention those jacked-in devices will be cruising.

    4. Lock it down!

    B&H also brings up another good point, and that’s wireless security. Lock your wireless network down with a password. Anyone can connect to a password-free network, and mooch off of your Internet (i.e., clog up your bandwidth). It’s also a security risk, as hackers may be able to access data on improperly secured devices, PCWorld warns. If you have the option for “public access” (i.e., an open access version of your network that allows guests to connect without a password, but not access the main network), turn it off. Just give your trusted guests your password when they need to connect to the Internet.

    Note: I recently got an email from AT&T stating I was torrenting movies. Turns out they pushed an upgrade which forced the guest wifi mode on, and someone was borrowing my network. There's more to worry about than just your local data.

    5. Consider linking routers together

    Even with proper placement, large homes or older buildings may have trouble with getting Wi-Fi to reach everywhere. MakeUseOf recommends linking two routers together in order to increase range. There are a few negatives of doing so, such as the fact that you may need to connect the second router via ethernet cable to the original one, but if you’re having problems getting Wi-Fi signals to your entire home, it may be the only option.

    6. Maybe it’s time to upgrade

    Wi-Fi routers are real workhorses, often operating almost continuously for years without issues. But like any electronic device, they’ll eventually wear out and begin to fail. ITProPortal points out that there’s other benefits to getting a new router: new wireless technologies. Especially if you’ve upgraded a lot of your gadgets and computers recently, there’s a good chance that a years-old router isn’t able to take advantage of the newer wireless technologies that are available.

    Of course, sometimes all you’ll need to do is reset the router to fix slowness — but if that doesn’t work, maybe you’ve outgrown the capabilities of the router itself.

    7. Try a better antenna

    Some wireless routers allow you to replace the stock antennas with better ones, Yahoo reports. There are a variety of options for those routers that can, just make sure they’re compatible with your router. Buyer beware: Try to buy these better antennas from the companies themselves rather than ones made by a third-party that are “compatible” with your router. Sometimes the quality of these antennas found on eBay and other sites are quite low.

    Source​​

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •