Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips for new players

Colony Founder

Tips for new players

I know that for a lot of who are new to the game we have a lot to learn of how to do things, or even what not to do.

Reading the posts and doing some searching, I find tips that are spread out.
    Watching youtube videos I find conflicting information. I hope it is okay to start this thread and it is in the right place. Could the mods move it if it isn't?

I have been writing down in a notebook tips to help me. I am new to sandbox games, take medication that affects my memory and am over 60, so have a lot to learn and keep forgetting what I have learned.

I am going to list the tips that I have found, watched on videos and from my son (who is playing on console) that I hope will be helpful. None are ones that I have learned myself, but gathered from experienced players, so thanks to all of the players here and the ones who have made videos that have given me assistance. I will add more as I learn them from others.

Adding this at the top. These tips for alpha 14.8. When Alpha 15 is released, I don't know what will change so be prepared for some of these tips to maybe not work. Trail and error time then.

Tips:

Adding this so if any one who hasn't read this will know early on about spamming on axes and other tools. If you are on a server and you make them and drop them it can cause lagging. It would be best to make a secure chest and put them in it and then destroy it, or place then in a chest and put it on a frame and then destroy the frame, which destroys what was in it.

When searching for loot, take everything in the cabinets, toilets (yes, even the turds) and what you don't want or need toss them. Leaving something in those coolers, trash bags and the rest keeps them from respawning.