Page 147 of 147 FirstFirst ... 4797137145146147
Results 2,191 to 2,201 of 2201

Thread: The 7D2D Mod Launcher - A Mod Launcher for 7 Days to Die

  1. #2191
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by zootal View Post
    The program itself will run under Wine, but installing modlets chokes on a dot.net svn checkout compatibility problem. I might look into that if I have a chance, but I suspect some call related to svn access is not yet implemented on the wine side.

    So I tried installing a mod, Taza's Grave. It would not accept the directory for my current 7D2D install, I enter the directory and it just ignores it (in retrospect, it probably did not recognize my existing install because it's the LINUX version of 7D2D and I'm pretty sure it's looking for the Windows version). I had to select Download From Steam. This, however, worked. It appears to use steamcmd or the windows version, whatever that is. It updated steamcmd and then downloaded 7D2D from Steam. And then I realized that it downloads the *Windows* version of 7D2D LOL, so at this point I think I just hit a dead end.

    My guess is that this would have to be written to specifically include Linux compatibility before we could use it under Linux. If it wasn't for the dot.net dependency, it might be an easy port, but to make it run natively under Linux you pretty much have to get rid of all of the Windows specific calls. And that requires some good Linux know-how and a butt-ton of time and effort...at this point it's probably not worth the effort.
    You could replace the Windows version with a local, clean copy of the Linux version. Then go back to the mod launcher and let it manage the mod for you. It may not be able to start it though, but you could create a symlink to start it.

  2. #2192
    Refugee Flashepix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0
    It's no problem. It does ask me to redownload the game and mod. I had to do a fresh install so I reinstalled the launcher, game and mod. I will have to wait till it does it again to upload the log file for you. Strange thing is it's usually good for a few days and than suddenly it will do it again. Btw sorry for the late response back. It's been a long busy last few days for me. I will keep you updated and post the log if it happens again. Thanks

  3. #2193
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    95
    Rep Power
    0
    How do I direct the mod launcher to the downloaded mod, in particular War of the Walkers new version?

    Thanks

  4. #2194
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bellatori View Post
    How do I direct the mod launcher to the downloaded mod, in particular War of the Walkers new version?

    Thanks
    I'm sorry for the delay.

    Do you already have a copy of the game + mod, and you'd like for the mod to take over maintenance of it? This can be a bit tricky, as the Mod Launcher, when it downloads a mod, keeps some data on the local copy, and remote copy. This tells the mod launcher when to update or not, and it's not really easy to replicate manually.

  5. #2195
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    I cant get the launcher to install on my Win7 PC. I get the error "The windows installer service could not be accessed."error.JPG

  6. #2196
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by QckSilverDragon View Post
    I cant get the launcher to install on my Win7 PC. I get the error "The windows installer service could not be accessed."error.JPG
    I have not heard about this issue before. I did a quick google and you may have to check your Windows Installer: https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/...r-message-when

  7. #2197
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sphereii View Post
    I have not heard about this issue before. I did a quick google and you may have to check your Windows Installer: https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/...r-message-when
    I tried several of those options from a diff site and they didnt help. I can try some of the extra solutions on the site you linked.

  8. #2198
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey, i've been trying to install WOTW on my fresh install of 7d2d for the last two days now with no luck. I've went through about 3 clean installs of 7d2d and the mod launcher. Basically what happens is I install the mod, pre-sync and leave it to do its thing, and then when I press "Play Mod" it just takes me to a vanilla version of the game and freezes on "loading blocks" in the main menu like a mod was never installed. It did this for ravenhearst too, not just WOTW. i'm at my wits end, all I want to do is play with mods. Any help?

    I tried running the game as admin, disable SSL, but it always brings me to the vanilla game and freeze on "loading blocks", any insight would be awesome! Been wanting to play 7d2d with mods for a while now

  9. #2199
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,670
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by kingvar View Post
    Hey, i've been trying to install WOTW on my fresh install of 7d2d for the last two days now with no luck. I've went through about 3 clean installs of 7d2d and the mod launcher. Basically what happens is I install the mod, pre-sync and leave it to do its thing, and then when I press "Play Mod" it just takes me to a vanilla version of the game and freezes on "loading blocks" in the main menu like a mod was never installed. It did this for ravenhearst too, not just WOTW. i'm at my wits end, all I want to do is play with mods. Any help?

    I tried running the game as admin, disable SSL, but it always brings me to the vanilla game and freeze on "loading blocks", any insight would be awesome! Been wanting to play 7d2d with mods for a while now
    Sorry for the trouble.

    Can you try to do another install, and when it's installed and you re-run it, go back to the Mod Launcher and click on View -> Log Files, then click on Upload Log file. This will give you a pastebin.com URL with a log file of any errors. If you can send me that link, I'll take a look.

  10. #2200
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Just wondering if anyone has a link or tutorial on how to use mods on Nitrado server...
    Many thanks
    Trying to use ComSen plus a few modlets

  11. #2201
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    I hate asking for help as I am very much a noob and will need quite a bit of explanations I am assuming, but I would love to be able to get Darkness Falls mod. However, I know very little about how to go about it.

    I have read thru this threads initial posts, and scrolled thru some more, without finding a ''dummy's'' explanation. I did figure out I needed the MOD launcher, and got that done.

    I am assuming next step would be to find the Darkness Falls files, which I have yet to find.

    And the following step would be? (I would also need this to work for Multiplayer as we are usually playing with more than 1 in our games.)

    If anyone could guide me thru this, it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •