Page 2 of 147 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 2197

Thread: The 7D2D Mod Launcher - A Mod Launcher for 7 Days to Die

  1. #16
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Thanks Rizzano, for the kind words.

    I added a new config, available if you click on File -> Load Defaults again. This will load up a listing of previous alphas for you to play with, if you wanted to revisit some older versions of the game.

    This includes Alpha 14.7 (for when 15 drops), 13.8, 12.5, 11.6, and 10.4. Also include the other beta branches, like the experimental branches with the different versions of unity.

    To be clear, these are not modded, but rather just the base game. You'll want to use Advanced more, and use the Download From Steam functionality for these to work properly. It won't affect your current games.



    The Launcher configs have a <Version></Version tag which can specify which version of the game they are made for, which is read when you are downloading from Steam. So if your mod breaks on Alpha 15, we can specify alpha14.7 in the configs to make sure the players get the right version of the game, paired with your mods.

    Enjoy the walk down memory lane,
    -SphereII

  2. #17
    Colony Founder JaxTeller718's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Ravenhearst
    Posts
    4,328
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sphereii View Post
    Thanks Rizzano, for the kind words.

    I added a new config, available if you click on File -> Load Defaults again. This will load up a listing of previous alphas for you to play with, if you wanted to revisit some older versions of the game.

    This includes Alpha 14.7 (for when 15 drops), 13.8, 12.5, 11.6, and 10.4. Also include the other beta branches, like the experimental branches with the different versions of unity.

    To be clear, these are not modded, but rather just the base game. You'll want to use Advanced more, and use the Download From Steam functionality for these to work properly. It won't affect your current games.



    The Launcher configs have a <Version></Version tag which can specify which version of the game they are made for, which is read when you are downloading from Steam. So if your mod breaks on Alpha 15, we can specify alpha14.7 in the configs to make sure the players get the right version of the game, paired with your mods.

    Enjoy the walk down memory lane,
    -SphereII
    OMG, more amazing work! I am SO going to load up an old alpha and relive some of the past.

    You simply can NOT stop amazing can you? Is there a limit to your awesomeness?

  3. #18
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Thanks Jax!

    And thanks for pointing me towards Pacco's Headbanger SDX mod, so I thought I'd try to get it working in the Mod Launcher as a proof of concept.

    Good news! It was successful! There's no need to download or install SDX for this to work.



    It's a rather large download, so any player who runs it the first time, may want to uncheck the "Refresh Mods Automatically" before playing again, otherwise it will try to re-download

    I add 2 configurations: Head Banger's, and Head Banger's + PSG-1 DLC. I've also included the bloom and fog removal, as well as the 1-block crouch.

    If you are interested in trying out this awesome SDX mod, in the Mod launcher, click on Open URL, and copy and paste this: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Sp...eadBangers.xml

    Here's a short album of screenshots I took of it. But by all means, check out Pacco's video link to really see the mod shine!

    -SphereII

  4. #19
    Ranger Latheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Greater Seattle
    Posts
    303
    Rep Power
    0
    I've tinkered with LathMod Revised to come up with a ModLauncher-compatible zip file, but I'm not sure I understand the process properly. I use Envul.com to host my mod, and the download mod button changes the link location each time I make an update. For example, LathMod 3.51 used https://envul.com/download/1/531, but 3.52 uses https://envul.com/download/1/536/. I guess what I'm asking is, does the mod launcher compensates for the difference in download link locations?

    I like the way Envul handles the mods, so I'd rather not switch over to DropBox or something.

  5. #20
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Hey Latheos

    Yeah, we noticed that envul produces a new link each time it gets an update. That could be fine, if you were just interested in a one-shot release, but for ongoing projects, it's challenging.

    You could always update the Download link in the Launcher's config, but that is kind of tedious.

    Have you checked out StompyNZ's 7Days2Mod github project? A lot of the current mods are coming from that. It allows you easily make changes and see changes, and the launcher supports it.

    -SphereII

  6. #21
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,896
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Latheos View Post
    I've tinkered with LathMod Revised to come up with a ModLauncher-compatible zip file, but I'm not sure I understand the process properly. I use Envul.com to host my mod, and the download mod button changes the link location each time I make an update. For example, LathMod 3.51 used https://envul.com/download/1/531, but 3.52 uses https://envul.com/download/1/536/. I guess what I'm asking is, does the mod launcher compensates for the difference in download link locations?

    I like the way Envul handles the mods, so I'd rather not switch over to DropBox or something.
    check out guthub, it is way better than envul for hosting your mods

    An intro vid I made about a week after I started using github.

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...ration-on-mods

    The short version is:
    Make an account at github.com
    download the desktop client at http://desktop.github.com
    create a repo in the client
    add your mod files to the repo folder on your machine
    Commit the changes
    Click publish (or sync if already published)
    done.

    any time you want to update you mod, just update the local files, use the desktop client to commit and sync, done.

    If you want your mod in the 7days2mod org then I can either fork it from your account (but that currently requires an update merge from my side when you make changes) or I can add you as a member to the org and you can create mods in the org yourself.

    org can be found at: https://github.com/7days2mod
    Last edited by StompyNZ; 08-25-2016 at 11:35 PM.

  7. #22
    Ranger Latheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Greater Seattle
    Posts
    303
    Rep Power
    0
    I'd glanced over it a while back, but it sounds like I'd be better served by taking a closer look, and possibly switching to that. I'm all for cutting down on the amount of work needed to keep my mod up to date.

  8. #23
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,896
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Latheos View Post
    I'd glanced over it a while back, but it sounds like I'd be better served by taking a closer look, and possibly switching to that. I'm all for cutting down on the amount of work needed to keep my mod up to date.
    Add me on steam if you need any help
    Val has been finding it really handy to use and saves on a lot of effort of zipping and updating links etc

  9. #24
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    HELP>>>>

    Quote Originally Posted by sphereii View Post
    I looked into it, and seems to be mostly modded XML and .DLL files.

    I followed the instructions and installed SDX, and tested the Double Barrel shotgun mod, as well as Hal's Turrent, Lawn Mower, and Michonne's Katana mod. I then created diff between the SDX installed folder, and my baseline, and generated a zip file ( using Beyond Compare 4).

    The zip file in question is this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/q4...ax/SDXTest.zip

    I created a sample 7D2D Launcher config, which can be found here: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Sp...master/SDX.xml

    You can copy and paste that link, then, in the Launcher, click on "Open URL", and paste it in. You'll then have a new SDX mod available in the launcher.

    Config Example:


    Game Screen:


    By providing pre-made zip files, and configs, we can create mods that contains groupings of SDX mods, without the user needing to use the FrontEnd or installing SDX itself. It does not appear as if you need to update Settings.ini either.

    For instance, if Spider has all the mods installed, and working, he could create a zip file of just the changed files, and share them.

    It may not be ideal, or as easy as adding custom icons or XML changes, but then again, the SDX process is slightly more complex.

    End users may not be able to make their own combinations without using SDX and FrontEnd, but we could provide some pre-made SDX mod combinations to get a good feel for them, and give it some more exposure.

    Server Administrators could create these packages, and allow their clients to easily connect to their servers.

    -SphereII
    I follows everything and got the SDX tab installed then hit the copy fuction but when i try to PLAY it doesnt load and crashes..i have to force shut it down. any ideas sorry for small pics the uploader killed them

    Screenshot 2016-08-26 01.14.28.jpgScreenshot 2016-08-26 01.15.46.jpg
    Last edited by coastie222; 08-26-2016 at 05:23 AM.

  10. #25
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by coastie222 View Post
    I follows everything and got the SDX tab installed then hit the copy fuction but when i try to PLAY it doesnt load and crashes..i have to force shut it down. any ideas sorry for small pics the uploader killed them

    Screenshot 2016-08-26 01.14.28.jpgScreenshot 2016-08-26 01.15.46.jpg
    Hey coastie222

    I did some more testing last night with the DLC of HeadBangers, and I was getting a similar error. I removed it from the Configuration until I could figure it out.

    Would you mind trying Head Bangers, without the PSG?

    -SphereII

  11. #26
    Zombie Hunter rsv777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    418
    Rep Power
    0
    Awesome work, thanks for this!

  12. #27
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Thanks rsv777!

    I added Pacco's SDX mod HeadBanger to the default. Click on File -> Load Defaults to get the new listing.

    Reminder, it's a large download. After your initial play, remember to uncheck "Refresh Mods Automatically" to avoid re-downloading it on the second play.

    -SphereII

  13. #28
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, I found this launcher by random forum lurking and actually I got one question.


    Maybe I totally misunderstood, I get the fact this downloads mods automatically and let#s you play with them without the whole XML file overriding hassle but can I combine mods with this easily as well? Like let's say I would like to play with clockwork project, steel mod and valmods expansion?

    Can I use the launcher to download them in a way which will save me hours of ID editing and XML reading so that nothing important gets overridden?

  14. #29
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Hey Xireka

    The 7D2D Mod Launcher allows you to download existing mods, which you can use along with prefab mods. However, you wouldn't be able to use Valmar's Overhaul and A Clockwork Project together in a combined mod.

    The Launcher simply replaces completed files, and does not do any merges, unless it's a specific patch format. The Patch format should really only be used for binary files, and not XML files.

    XML item ids would colide between different mods. Even if we could renumber them (which is technically possible), we would blow the id limits in the block.xml, as well as other XML files.

    I hope this clarifies things a bit for you,
    -SphereII

  15. #30
    Colony Founder sphereii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,665
    Rep Power
    1
    Hey all

    Small update to the 7D2D Mod Launcher that you should receive on your next start up.

    Changes include loading the Default list automatically (no more clicking on File -> Load Defaults, and also included two new copy hooks to make deploying mods fasting for SDX mods.


    Enjoy,
    -SphereII

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •