Page 107 of 107 FirstFirst ... 75797105106107
Results 1,591 to 1,597 of 1597

Thread: Botman server manager official support thread

  1. #1591
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    The bot's github repo has been updated. Here is the changelog..

    Bug fixes, new commands, A17.2 compatibility fixes.

    The player archiver is working now so I have removed the block on the command /archive players. The archiver works very slowly on purpose to avoid disrupting the bot's normal functions. It will never archive admins, donors or players that are currently known to the server (via the lkp console command).
    The bot makes a backup of its data before running the archiver so you can easily restore the bot if the archived data causes issues for you.

    Added new command /set say uses name (the default), or /set say uses nick (your nickname on IRC). Normally if you type say hello (on IRC), in game the bot will use your player name, but it can use your IRC nickname instead if you want that.

    The bot can now use Alloc's web API to send commands to the server and telnet to monitor the server at the same time. This avoids an issue in the API where it will randomly skip lines which causes the bot to miss stuff. This seems to happen mainly on very busy servers and could have other causes such as large mods. I have not been able to prevent it happening so the next best fix is to not use the API to monitor server traffic. The API is much better for sending commands to the server than telnet due to the result of each command being returned without all of the noise that comes with telnet traffic.
    To use this feature you can tell the bot /read log using telnet. The bot will automatically enable this feature if your bot knows the API port and you haven't told the bot that telnet is disabled.

    Fixed a bug with the hardcoded give commands. They weren't specifying a quantity which used to be fine but in A17 it now requires a quality and no longer assumes a quantity of 1.

    The /bloodmoon, /day7 and when feral commands now says things like "Feral hordes are expected in about 5 days" when your server is using the new random horde setting.

    If your server is using random hordes, the bot will not despawn zombies prior to the bloodmoon starting even if you told it to do that as it doesn't know when the horde starts until it spawns.

    Fixed the /info command to be compatible with A17.2 changes. It now reports all of the new zombie movement settings.

    Fixed a typo in the command /remove zombies before bloodmoon. It wasn't disabling the feature even though it said it was.

    The bot will automatically delay a server reboot when it detects the bloodmoon starting.

    Added command /quick fix shop. It does the same job as /fix shop but doesn't bother reading all the spawnable items known to the server and just re-validates the items in the shop against the list that the bot already has.

    The command /make maze is working again but it currently creates a ton of extra server traffic. Do not use this when your server is busy. You can /cancel maze to stop it but that won't stop the extra traffic. I will recode it to defer the chunk recalc (or whatever the calc does) until after the maze is complete and have it applied to a larger area instead of per block.

    I have attempted to fix a very old bot bug involving logging in to IRC. Previously it recorded that you were authenticated on the shared bots database but now it uses the local bot database. This should prevent the bot getting confused when you are known to multiple linked bots.

    Fixed a bug that prevented the bot reporting screamers and airdrops. The airdrop now triggers a PM up to 2000 blocks away.

    Some servers have been having an issue where the bot forgets what mods are installed. I have previously coded a fix for this and this time I have coded it so that once the bot knows Alloc's mod and the BC mod are installed it records that fact and won't forget that again until you reset the bot. This does mean that if the mods are removed in the meantime the bot will continue to think they are there and will try to use them but this is better than not using them when they are in fact present.

  2. #1592
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there, I'm trying to use the location command /location {name} currency {item name} to make an area that you can only enter if you have an item in your inventory. In my case my test set up is location "1" is set up and when I type "/location 1 currency foodEgg" it displays the location info but doesn't do anything else.

    I'm sure I'm missing something, or doing something wrong.

  3. #1593
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Deadpanh View Post
    Hi there, I'm trying to use the location command /location {name} currency {item name} to make an area that you can only enter if you have an item in your inventory. In my case my test set up is location "1" is set up and when I type "/location 1 currency foodEgg" it displays the location info but doesn't do anything else.

    I'm sure I'm missing something, or doing something wrong.
    This used to be a feature. I'll add the code that makes it work again.

  4. #1594
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    Off topic.

    Hi guys! I'm involved in a startup weekend and my team has a very short survey that we're hoping to get some responses for.

    Its short and nothing to do with the game. Thanks in advance if you do the survey. Its just a couple of easy questions.


    [EDIT] Thanks to anyone who took the survey. My team has heaps of data now

    [SUPER EDIT] My team won the event! We also won the people's choice award. Tomorrow I'm being interviewed on the radio. FUN!

    [EDIT] You know.. the radio. Old people listen to it xD
    Last edited by Smegzor; 1 Week Ago at 10:35 PM.

  5. #1595
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    I have updated the bot's github repo with the next bot update which is currently being tested. I think it is ready for release to the main a17 code branch so I will be pushing it to that shortly.

    Here is the changelog..

    Bug fixes and new stuff

    New command /set death cost {cash}
    Set a cost penalty for dying. The player's cash balance won't drop below zero.

    You can now set an inventory watch timer on an individual player with /set watch player {name} timer {seconds}.

    Fixed bad command help for the command /who visited. The correct syntax is /who visited player {name} days {number} hours {number} range {number} height {number}. Note: some parts are optional.

    You can now flag a region as a reset zone by giving the bot the x and z number of the region.
    eg. to set region r.-12.4.7rg as a reset zone use /add reset -12 4 or alternatively /remove reset -12 4
    You can do this from IRC or in-game. From IRC you would type cmd /add reset -12 4

    Fixed a small bug in the command /setup map so that if you tell it show players or show claims it sets all of the necessary permissions for that and not just some of them.

    Fixed the bot's claim scanner to be compatible with A17.2 It WAS compatible with A17.2 but the Pimps removed a feature. The bot now reads all player claims every 5 minutes as well as individually at other times.

  6. #1596
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    Hi guys!

    I have updated the a17 code branch and instructed bots using the a17test branch to switch over to it.
    Also the command help on my website has been updated.

  7. #1597
    Inventor Smegzor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    923
    Rep Power
    1
    The bot works best using Alloc's web API to send commands to the server while monitoring server activity via telnet.
    You can check how your bot is communicating with the server with the command /bot info (or from IRC with the command, bot info).

    On IRC you can check that your bot has access to Alloc's web API by typing server. You will see various details including a link to your server's live map. If the link does not work, there are a few possible causes; you do not have Alloc's mod installed or there's an issue with it, or you have not told the bot the port of your server's control panel (the bot should automatically discover the correct port via telnet), or your live map is not accessible from the internet.

    If you need to tell the bot the port number of your map, what you actually need to tell the bot is the port number of the server's control panel. The command for this is /set web panel port 8080, or from IRC type, set api port 8080.

    Assuming everything is fine with Alloc's mod and the live map, you can force your bot to use the API by telling the bot, use api. You should also tell it to monitor the server via telnet with the in-game command, /read log using telnet. You can send this in-game command to the bot from IRC with cmd /read log using telnet.

    If you need to, you can also tell the bot /fix bot (or on IRC, fix bot). The bot will do a bunch of stuff and will be busy for 1 or more minutes.

    If you have any issues with the bot even after all of this, you can tell your bot /restart bot (or on IRC just type restart bot).

    Should you need to revert any of these settings for any reason, you can tell the bot, use telnet. Also if you want the bot to use the API to monitor the server and not use telnet at all, tell the bot /read log using api
    Last edited by Smegzor; 1 Day Ago at 12:51 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •