Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 89

Thread: [Known Issue] Player Reset / Wipe and Bugged Inventory

  1. #1
    Awesome Incarnate Clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Navezgane
    Posts
    7,566
    Rep Power
    1

    [Known Issue] Player Reset / Wipe and Bugged Inventory

    [PATCH 7 - FIX FOUND] - First fix only took for some users, some issues still persisting.
    [IN PROGRESS - WORKING ON NEW FIX, SAVES REQUESTED TO HELP, ISSUE MAY PERSIST AFTER PATCH 9]

    [UPDATE - The team are still working to find the source of this issue for those it still continues for, in the mean time, I wanted to highlight the workaround Ignoringmywife1 found works for them - "What works for me when I'm the host is to kill my friend, then the host picks the backpack up and gives the contents back to the person who it belongs to (if you want). Worked for me every time. You won't get you stuff or your stats back but the resets on them will stop."]


    NOTE: If this happens to you in a NEW game AFTER patch 7, please submit a new report about it as it means the fix didn't take or there could be two things causing the same error.

    This issue occurs when a data exchange from a client to a host sends some bad data. This data overwrites the previous save data about the client that is maintained by the host, causing the client to hit level 1 again. Unfortunately because the save data is overwritten there is no way to retrieve the lost levels and stats.

    The other issue that can sometimes occur in tandem with the levels wipe, is where the inventory also becomes bugged - the game believes he inventory is full when it is not. This presents the same issue as mentioned above, however, because there is currently no way to delete a player from the game to allow them to start fresh, there is no way to remove the inventory data for that player from the save.

    Players who experience this should have no issue joining or creating games with the same players again, but the save this occurred in can not be restored (unless you are on PS4 and have a backup)

    The fix: The team have been working on a fix for this issue so bad data will not be saved or overwrite any saves. However this fix with only prevent the issues mentioned above from happening again, rather than restoring saves.

    Clare

    ------- UPDATE --------

    Anyone who is on PS4, who had this occur for them for the FIRST time AFTER Patch 9 was released, could you please send me a copy of the save file it occurs for your on:

    To get the file:
    1) Turn on PS4
    2) Insert an External USB Drive into one of the 2 USB ports on the front of the PS4.
    3) In the main menu, go to “Settings”
    4) Click on “Application Saved Data Management”
    5) Select “Saved Data in System Storage”
    6) Select "Copy to USB Storage Device"
    7) Select 7 Days to Die
    8) Select all files and press "Copy"
    9) Wait until transfer is complete
    10) Remove External Drive
    11) Zip up all files copied to USB drive including ".bin" and "Profile" files
    12) Upload the files to your Dropbox or other cloud file service
    13) Email the download link to [email protected] with user name in title so i can match to reports
    14) PM me here to let me know you sent it.

    We do not fix individual files, but we believe a save may help us confirm a fix for this issue. When sending the file, please include if you can when you started the save, and when the issue first occurred.

    Thank you,
    Clare
    Last edited by Clare; 03-05-2018 at 07:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Canukistan
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    [PS4] Fix Status?

    Hello,

    I'd like to know if this was remedied in v1.09 on PS4. I had this happen to me when I reconnected to a game my friend was hosting. The world was created in v1.07. I disconnected from the world in v1.07, then reconnected a few days later in v1.08 with wiped inventory and progress. I played after loosing my data so have since accumulated new levels on my character in v1.08. I stored all my inventory in chests before logging off in v1.08. I haven't been back on since but intend to reconnect to the same game in v1.09 tomorrow. I'll try to remember to follow up this comment with what I find when I do reconnect weather my data is lost again or not.

    My inventory was not bugged, the game started as if I was new to the server upon reconnecting in v1.08. I did not spawn on the bedroll i placed in v1.07, just random spawn with initial quest reset in v1.08. I could use my inventory, it did not respond as if it were full in v1.08.

    Thanks for your time,

    Mark

    PS: sorry for the redundancy of the version numbers and such, trying to keep things clear as mud.

  3. #3
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Canukistan
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    [PS4] RE: Fix Status?

    Hello again,

    Just to follow up I rejoined on that server today in v1.09 and my character was again reset. Another player on the same server with us had the same issue. Possibly the resets are because of the updates? I haven't had a chance to join twice on the same version of the game since the first time I got wiped. I did rejoin after the initial game was created once in v1.07 and had no issues. Every time since then I've been wiped, but, it has always been after an update.

    Thanks again,

    Mark

  4. #4
    Awesome Incarnate Clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Navezgane
    Posts
    7,566
    Rep Power
    1
    The fix for this will be in the next patch, the team are still testing it and making sure it's good for release. I'm sorry it keeps happening to your character. Because of the nature of the bug, with data being sent badly / not matching with data the host expected, it is possible that it would be more frequent after a patch for some. But it has occurred for others between patches too.

    For future ref, if bugs in the Confirmed area are fixed, they are usually moved to the Fixed section soon after.

  5. #5
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Clare View Post
    The fix for this will be in the next patch, the team are still testing it and making sure it's good for release. I'm sorry it keeps happening to your character. Because of the nature of the bug, with data being sent badly / not matching with data the host expected, it is possible that it would be more frequent after a patch for some. But it has occurred for others between patches too.

    For future ref, if bugs in the Confirmed area are fixed, they are usually moved to the Fixed section soon after.
    I hope so. Because I want to play this game normaly with no resets. This is unfair for the players, I was on level 7 2 days ago, after I turned off the game and start the "same game" on the SAME SERVER, my account was reseted. And today this happened twice. Please, this is enough.................

  6. #6
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Update?

    Is there any update on this issue? This kind of destroys game play.

  7. #7
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0
    Clare, are there any updates on this? I've had it happen to me on two occasions on two different hosts and it's starting to get unbelievably annoying. You guys need to push the update for PS4 as soon as possible or I'm just going to quit the game altogether, I can't keep losing my work because of an error on your guys end that you know the fix for but won't release it.

  8. #8
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Xbox One

    Hi, will there also be a fix for this on Xbox one? Me and two other friends play on a regular basis and when the game creator invites us we find our character's reset and far away from our last location. I hope the fix comes soon as it is very annoying.

  9. #9
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Come on guys, this is a month and a half old and a REALLY big issue. You'd think this would be pretty high priority. Can you at least update us on the status of the fix?

  10. #10
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey guys,

    Please see this thread about the bug as well. The patch 1.10 should have fixed this issue and I have asked fellow gamers affected to post on their new gaming experience. I have yet to get a game going again with friends but plan to start this weekend.

    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...racter-deleted

    Have fun,

  11. #11
    Awesome Incarnate Clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Navezgane
    Posts
    7,566
    Rep Power
    1
    As JediPimpin stated this should have been fixed in 1.10. However I am leaving this in confirmed for a week or so to ensure there's no new reports.

    If this happens to you in a NEW game AFTER patch 7, please submit a new report about it as it means the fix didn't take or there could be two things causing the same error.

  12. #12
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    In a NEW game? So, what you're saying is if I join the world I helped build and spent time on it could still happen?

  13. #13
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Since the last two patches...

    Quote Originally Posted by bufsabres2909 View Post
    Hi, will there also be a fix for this on Xbox one? Me and two other friends play on a regular basis and when the game creator invites us we find our character's reset and far away from our last location. I hope the fix comes soon as it is very annoying.
    My Sons and I have been playing since the game's release to the Xbox One with minimal problems. But for the last several weeks, (Two or three updates ago...) everytime we return to an established world, the other players NOT hosting the game have to restart their characters from level one with only the starting equipment and an uncompleted tutorial to redo.

    We're going to play minecraft again until they fix this problem. It's a shame because we really enjoy the game.

  14. #14
    Community Moderator MutilatorJuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Inside a rice-krispy treat
    Posts
    1,583
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by AbominationMTP View Post
    My Sons and I have been playing since the game's release to the Xbox One with minimal problems. But for the last several weeks, (Two or three updates ago...) everytime we return to an established world, the other players NOT hosting the game have to restart their characters from level one with only the starting equipment and an uncompleted tutorial to redo.

    We're going to play minecraft again until they fix this problem. It's a shame because we really enjoy the game.
    Why? Didn't you read the new patch notes? They seem to have found a fix for this. So the time you spent making an account and posting this is likely moot. Read before you seethe.

  15. #15
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Bug occurred after the update to v1.10.10

    Me and my brother started a new game on Wednesday(a day after the update), then returned to the game on Friday without any problems, but when we played today my character was wiped.
    All of this happened after the update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •