Page 52 of 58 FirstFirst ... 2425051525354 ... LastLast
Results 766 to 780 of 859

Thread: Prefab Editor (Alpha)

  1. #766
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,649
    Rep Power
    1
    It better, because I paid good money and I....

    Oh wait, it's free and you owe me nothing; carry on. =)

    -gup

  2. #767
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    146
    Rep Power
    0

    Is there a way to set <poi lights to ''lit'' ?

    Hey

    I designed a huge prefab. Now i m searching for a way to set the light to ''on''

    In Hals prefab editor i did this in alpha 15. but now on a 16 the editor wont work so i found pills editor.

    Are we able to set the poi lights to ''on'' so that they are lit ?

    We tryed conecting them to solanr banks but it ends up in a huge lag.....

  3. #768
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    1
    I should really add FAQs to the op.^^ Yes you can.

    1. Select the light block.
    2. Write the value '2' into the meta text field.
    3. Press the button 'meta' and save the prefab.


  4. #769
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,649
    Rep Power
    1
    Maybe instead of "2" label the meta tags for their uses in that certain block?

  5. #770
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    146
    Rep Power
    0
    perfekt thank you ... after it works i tryed same with turrents and gen for infinit power and gas and ammo for my prefab but it wount work .. ( after i gave the prefab trader prot. i wont have acces to refill the turrets and gens...think i have to make a new '' block '' for turrets and gens and electric fenses.

    Does your prefab editor also generates a distant view ???

  6. #771
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Casualjin View Post
    perfekt thank you ... after it works i tryed same with turrents and gen for infinit power and gas and ammo for my prefab but it wount work ..
    I wish we had this kind of feature but it's not supported by the game atm.



    Quote Originally Posted by Casualjin View Post
    Does your prefab editor also generates a distant view ???
    No, distant meshes for prefabs can be created using Hal's tool:
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...-Prefab-Editor


    @Guppy

    Someday Guppy. Need to overcome my laziness.
    Last edited by Pille; 02-21-2018 at 07:28 PM.

  7. #772
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,649
    Rep Power
    1
    In light of the new block format (no id numbers) in a17, I hope you're planning ahead and also figuring out a converter.
    Last edited by Guppycur; 02-22-2018 at 09:23 PM.

  8. #773
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    In light of the new block format (no id numbers) in a17, I hope you're planning ahead and also figuring out a converter.
    I dunno what you're talking about. lol I thought we got more block ids? There is a comment from Gazz....

    <block id="2051" name="cntCupboardCornerCNRRed">
    <property name="Extends" value="cntCupboardCabinetRedTopClosed" param1="CustomIcon,Place"/>
    <property name="Model" value="cupboard_corner"/>
    </block>
    Last edited by Pille; 02-22-2018 at 10:07 PM.

  9. #774
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,649
    Rep Power
    1
    Yeh now it's no block id's. Check nearer to his last few messages on the dev diary.

  10. #775
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    244
    Rep Power
    1
    What's the Spawner thing in the XML tab?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, does search work at all? It's always an empty tab for me.

  11. #776
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    244
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    Just a short preview:

    There are new options for the xRay-Mode.
    This isn't out yet, is it? It would have helped me SO MUCH right now!

  12. #777
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    244
    Rep Power
    1
    And while I'm taking advantage of such an incredible tool being provided at no cost to myself, could we get a recent files feature, please?

  13. #778
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    1
    @Guppycur
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    Yeh now it's no block id's. Check nearer to his last few messages on the dev diary.
    Are you referring to this randomly dropped piece of information?
    Spoiler: 
    [code]<block name="cntToilet02">
    <property name="Extends" value="cntToilet01"/>
    <property name="Model" value="Plumbing/toilet02" param1="main_mesh"/>
    </block>

    <block name="cntToilet03">
    <property name="Extends" value="cntToilet01"/>
    <property name="Model" value="Plumbing/toilet03" param1="main_mesh"/>
    </block>
    This is rather useless since we don't know how the new system works. I cannot plan ahead.



    @dcsobral

    Quote Originally Posted by dcsobral View Post
    What's the Spawner thing in the XML tab?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, does search work at all? It's always an empty tab for me.
    To be honest, I can't remember what the spawner thing is. Afaik, it no longer works in A16.

    The search tab is not implemented yet.


    Quote Originally Posted by dcsobral View Post
    This isn't out yet, is it? It would have helped me SO MUCH right now!
    There are still some limitations I am trying to eliminate. I'll try to release a small updates on this weekend...

    Quote Originally Posted by dcsobral View Post
    And while I'm taking advantage of such an incredible tool being provided at no cost to myself, could we get a recent files feature, please?
    This feature is planned.
    Last edited by Pille; 02-23-2018 at 01:41 PM.

  14. #779
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,649
    Rep Power
    1
    It works by block name. And it's not random information if you know where to look.

  15. #780
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    244
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    It works by block name. And it's not random information if you know where to look.
    The old system was stupid to begin with. It's not just modders that suffered, but TFP themselves. I bet there were just one or two people working on blocks and items, or they'd have dropped it long ago.

    It's not hard: assign the IDs when first loading the XMLs, or when creating the world. Save name/id table on world, and whenever loading a game, load that and then assign IDs for whatever remains unassigned. The IDs are probably used internally for cross references, so there's some work there too, but even that can easily be fixed by adding another level of indirection (every problem in programming can be fixed by adding indirection, except too much indirection ).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •