Page 1 of 59 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 873

Thread: Prefab Editor (Alpha)

  1. #1
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1

    Prefab Editor (Alpha)

    Hi all,

    I am looking for some testers for my new prefab editor. It's not finished yet but should be ready for first tests.


    Download (v0.47):

    Download link (Windows 32 bit):

    Mediafire - 32 bit

    OR

    Dropbox - 32 bit


    Download link (Windows 64 bit):

    Mediafire - 64 bit

    OR

    Dropbox - 64 bit



    Instructions:

    Thanks to Guppy, Slaan and Jackelmyer we have these video tutorials (roughly sorted by difficulty of the topic in ascending order):

    Jackelmyer's Tutorial - Basic Usage

    Guppycur's Tutorial - Part 1 - Navigation
    Guppycur's Tutorial - Part 2 - Sleeper Volumes, Removing Columns, X-Ray mode, and more
    Guppycur's Tutorial - Part 3 - A16 Pille and Hal Import Export
    Guppycur's Tutorial - Part 4 - Sleeper Volumes

    Slaan's Tutorial - Adding sleepers to a custom prefab


    There's also a nice how-to created by Jackelmyer:

    Jackelmyer's Tutorial - Getting Started Prefabbing



    How-To and FAQ

    How to use the Sleeper Generator
    How to rotate prefabs



    Shortcuts:

    Spoiler: 

    Switch current layer:
    Plus, Minus (+, -)
    Mouse wheel

    Change zoom:
    Ctrl + mouse wheel

    Shortcut for block picker:
    Middle mouse button

    Switch to select mode:
    1

    Switch to drag mode:
    2

    Switch to paint mode:
    3

    Switch to top view:
    a

    Switch to side view 1:
    s

    Switch to side view 2:
    d

    Select block:
    Left click

    Select an area:
    Right click and keep the mouse button pressed

    Select several areas / blocks:
    Mouse buttons + ctrl

    Copy selected blocks:
    ctrl + c

    Insert selected blocks:
    ctrl + v

    Cut selected blocks:
    Ctrl + X

    Show copied blocks:
    v

    Count selected blocks:
    Shift + C


    Hints:

    *The maximum size of a prefab in this version is 1024 x 1024 x 256 blocks (length x width x height). Using these settings the program will consume ~12 - 14 GB ram (not optimized).
    *You have to update the editor after downloading it to get the latest version.
    *I recommend you to use these settings:






    Screenshot of the user interface:




    Feel free to post bugs or suggestions.

    Cheers
    Pille




    Changelogs (v0.3x):

    Click Here.



    Preview (v0.45):






    Known issues:
    - The editor doesn't show default textures (textures of unpainted blocks)
    - Texture / paint rendering is incorrect for certain blocks (e.g. ramps)
    - You can paint everything (even air). That shouldn't prevent the prefab from loading but may increase the size of the prefab file.
    Last edited by Pille; 1 Week Ago at 03:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Colony Founder xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,210
    Rep Power
    1
    Looks to be a useful tool. Nice work. Fairly intuitive to use.

    The coordinates in the cells is nice, but if you could use a smaller font it might not spill over into the adjoining cells.

    The coordinate system was a bit unclear, typically x,y,z indicates x=right to left, Y equals up and down, and Z is front to back. It "seems" you are using x,z,y in the top view, and I have not quite figured out how the side views correlate back to the top view exactly. For example, i locate a wall torch on the top view. Select it with the cursor, then switch to a side view and its not on that tab until I hunt around for it. Having the other tabs reorient based on the selection made in the previous tab would be a great additional feature.

    The prefab tab text is cutoff on the left side of the window.


    Thanks for adding this to the communities tools!

  3. #3
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by xyth View Post
    The coordinate system was a bit unclear, typically x,y,z indicates x=right to left, Y equals up and down, and Z is front to back. It "seems" you are using x,z,y in the top
    So I guess I have to make two versions. One for European users and one for Americans.^^


    Quote Originally Posted by xyth View Post
    I have not quite figured out how the side views correlate back to the top view exactly. For example, i locate a wall torch on the top view. Select it with the cursor, then switch to a side view and its not on that tab until I hunt around for it. Having the other tabs reorient based on the selection made in the previous tab would be a great additional feature.
    Yeah I know that's a bit annoying. I am going to implement it in the next versions.


    Quote Originally Posted by xyth View Post
    The coordinates in the cells is nice, but if you could use a smaller font it might not spill over into the adjoining cells.
    ...
    The prefab tab text is cutoff on the left side of the window.
    That's interesting. Must be related to the windows scaling. I will try to fix this.

    Thank you for your feedback!
    Last edited by Pille; 05-07-2017 at 02:28 PM.

  4. #4
    Colony Founder xyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,210
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    So I guess I have to make two versions. One for European users and one for Americans.^^
    Its not worth making 2 versions over. We Americans adjust to driving on the wrong side of the road just fine ;-)

  5. #5
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,987
    Rep Power
    1
    How is xyz different across the pond? I thought that was math...

  6. #6
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by xyth View Post
    Its not worth making 2 versions over. We Americans adjust to driving on the wrong side of the road just fine ;-)
    I was just kidding.^^ It's easy to add a switch that changes the axes labels. So no problem...

    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    How is xyz different across the pond? I thought that was math...
    Afaik "we" use this system in mathematical and non-mathematical contexts:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coordi..._Spherical.svg

    Until now, I thought the strange axes labeling was a special fun pimp feature.
    Last edited by Pille; 05-07-2017 at 09:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Colony Founder HAL9000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,871
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    I was just kidding.^^ It's easy to add a switch that changes the axes labels. So no problem...


    Afaik "we" use this system in mathematical and non-mathematical contexts:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coordi..._Spherical.svg

    Until now, I thought the strange axes labeling was a special fun pimp feature.
    That's a good lookin' alpha Pille. Nice work!

    It's not a TFP thing, it's a Unity (and gaming in general) thing. It's a bit of a head scratcher for a while but now the alternative is the weird seeming one to me ^^ It also didn't help me having a top-down perspective on the prefab but the x,y of the screen co-ordinate to think about.

  8. #8
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,987
    Rep Power
    1
    Just as soon as I'm caught up on work, I'm testing the CRAP out of this.

  9. #9
    Colony Founder Spectral Force's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The land between two rivers.
    Posts
    1,480
    Rep Power
    1
    I'm going to look at this tonight. Down the line, would it be possible to export the prefab into a 3D printable format? You know for us aspiring 3d printing people.

    Also, would it be feasible to add in a way to rotate the work space? Clockwise/counter clockwise, sometimes it helps looking at things for a different vantage point.
    Last edited by Spectral Force; 05-08-2017 at 04:42 PM.

  10. #10
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1
    @HAL9000
    Thanks Hal. I am not entirely happy with it but I guess it takes more time to reach the functionality of your editor.

    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    Just as soon as I'm caught up on work, I'm testing the CRAP out of this.
    You make me feel bad about my own work.

    Quote Originally Posted by Spectral Force View Post
    I'm going to look at this tonight. Down the line, would it be possible to export the prefab into a 3D printable format? You know for us aspiring 3d printing people.
    There is one essential problem with exporting a prefab into a 3d format. The program doesn't know the block shapes and meaning of block rotations atm. So all block would be converted into cubes. It's an interessting idea to incorporate this information into the program. However, that will take awhile. So when A16 is out, I will do some tests.


    Quote Originally Posted by Spectral Force View Post
    Also, would it be feasible to add in a way to rotate the work space? Clockwise/counter clockwise, sometimes it helps looking at things for a different vantage point.
    Mhh I thought this feature was already implemented (see red arrow (rotation slider)):

    Last edited by Pille; 05-09-2017 at 04:13 AM.

  11. #11
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    MotherRussia
    Posts
    1,389
    Rep Power
    1
    But.... why is called "zombie.exe" ?
    Last edited by n2n1; 05-08-2017 at 08:36 PM.

  12. #12
    Colony Founder Spectral Force's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The land between two rivers.
    Posts
    1,480
    Rep Power
    1
    You might want to put the zip somewhere else to download like a google drive, dropbox, etc...

  13. #13
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1
    @Spectral Force
    The new mediafire link should work witout captchas or waiting time.


    Quote Originally Posted by n2n1 View Post
    But.... why is called "zombie.exe" ?
    The linux version crashes often and creates so called zombie processes:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zombie_process

    That's why there is no linux version atm but I am still looking for a better name and for a solution to this problem.^^
    Last edited by Pille; 05-09-2017 at 04:28 AM.

  14. #14
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,833
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    How is xyz different across the pond? I thought that was math...
    I personally prefer the x,y being the top down view co-ords and z as the height.

    Means if you don't want height you can still use x,y,(null) as a way to represent a 2d co-ord, rather than x,(null),z

    I guess it's a bit like mouse invert vs not..... are you looking down at the world (my preference) vs looking into the world (towards the horizon, unity system)

    - - - Updated - - -

    @pille

    It's looking good in the screenshots, i'd def host it on dropbox or github over mediafire (aka spamfire) tho

  15. #15
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,309
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by StompyNZ View Post
    @pille

    It's looking good in the screenshots, i'd def host it on dropbox or github over mediafire (aka spamfire) tho
    Don't worry, it's a direct download. So you don't need to visit spamfire.^^ Dropbox is okay but they deactived my public folder.
    Last edited by Pille; 05-09-2017 at 05:09 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •