Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 64

Thread: A16 (b105) Hang at "creating character" during reload

  1. #1
    Refugee kingdombragg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0

    A16 (b105) Hang at "creating character" during reload

    The install files have been verified on Steam and it is a new world and character. The first load (random gen SP) was fine and there were no problems during play. Trying to continue the save, the loading screen hung at "creating player" and would not proceed (left for over 10 mins and had to end process in task manager).

    To confirm the issue, I deleted the character and world to start fresh. First load on creation was fine, but trying to reload after quit, the game got stuck at creating player again.

    https://pastebin.com/dVPW5zmN

    Win 10 Creators Update
    i7-6700HQ
    16 GB RAM
    NVIDIA GTX 960M

    RESOLVED (by Gruggly): Start the game by launching 7days from the steam folder using 7dlauncher.exe
    Last edited by kingdombragg; 06-14-2017 at 11:26 AM. Reason: RESOLVED

  2. #2
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0
    +1,same to me

  3. #3
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Landycs_Lam View Post
    +1,same to me
    Was an earlier post regarding the same thing, the guy reinstalled, I did the same and it worked until I quit and tried to play again.

  4. #4
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here


    AMD FX-9590 @ 3.4Ghz
    ASUS 970 ProGaming/Aura
    GTX 950 2Gb
    8Gb DDR3
    Antec EA-500D 500W
    Win 10 64-bit

  5. #5
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    0
    I've also had this (in more than one world).
    My most recent game loaded fine over a few play sessions but it broke just now.

  6. #6
    Refugee kingdombragg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0
    EXTRA INFO: I used the game launcher tools to clear everything including registry entries and I was able to reload an extant world a few times. However, after exiting the game for about 3 hours, the problem has started happening again.

    https://pastebin.com/b18i4mQF
    Last edited by kingdombragg; 06-12-2017 at 02:41 PM. Reason: Added log

  7. #7
    Refugee
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Same issue

    I was able to get the save game to load by launching 7days from the steam folder using 7dlauncher.exe

  8. #8
    Refugee kingdombragg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0

    Resolved

    Thanks Gruggly, using the launcher worked for me as well.

  9. #9
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    "Saved game, quit, and cannot reload the game. After "Initializing World" I get "Creating Player..." and it's been sitting there for several minutes. Will try a reboot just for giggles." - jdifran

    Then madmole comes back with..
    "It sometimes defaults to some old empty non valid character presets, go to the character selection and pick a valid one that has a good preview, like Clint or something."

    I chose Clint and it's been working for me flawlessly ever since.

    Link to that Posting (Solution on Page 5)
    https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...-is-out!/page5

    So this is an alternative solution.

  10. #10
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    vienna
    Posts
    50
    Rep Power
    0
    Had this happen 2 times, simply started again and then it worked.

  11. #11
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    0
    This is still happening in b112

    (new world, new character profile)

  12. #12
    Refugee Pope1777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ipswich. U.K
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpoycustards View Post
    This is still happening in b112

    (new world, new character profile)
    Same here.

  13. #13
    Zombie Hunter LewZephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    449
    Rep Power
    1
    Have had this issue myself and a few others on the server as well. This does not happen to everyone.
    Also when it has happen to me, when I do get back into the world, I am missing the first quest.
    This can be remedied by going into creative mode and giving yourself the beginner quest book.

  14. #14
    Ranger jdifran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    327
    Rep Power
    1
    It still happens to me intermittently. Sometimes it takes several tries to get in (like right now). Sometimes it seems I need to reboot the PC after a long play session before I can get in, but today I just got home early, booted up the PC, and I'm 0 for 2.

  15. #15
    Hunter
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    140
    Rep Power
    0
    Same issue here. Got the problem in A16.0 in half of my attempts, but now it fails everytime. Having a high use of RAM, too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •