Page 1 of 36 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 538

Thread: A16 (stable) rwgmixer re done top to bottom! (refined)

  1. #1
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1

    A16 (stable) rwgmixer re done top to bottom! (refined) with compo pack +extras

    Update for Sep 3rd 2017...
    New Terrain Gen and Hubs.
    *World does not have large water bodies. They have been replaced with poi "Water" sources (Don't worry! Plenty to find in Cities/Towns and the wilds) hope you enjoy!*

    Aug 31 2017:
    RWGMIXER +++
    Link: -> A16.3(b12) RWGmixer +++ with Vanilla Poi's and Accent Poi's
    Link: -> A16.3(b12) RWGmixer +++ with Compo Pack28 Poi's and Accent Poi's

    Important Note: Please read the commented area near the top of the RWGmixer to learn how to run 3 different terrain gens.
    This RWGmixer has 3 different terrain generators that you can choose from.
    • "TinFlatsMap" for more flat areas
    • "TinMoreMNTMap" for more mountains than "TinFlatMap" areas
    • "TinNomadMap" for more mountains/hills fewer Hubs than "TinMoreMNTmap"

    Each "Subtly" unique to give you a different flavor of worlds beyond what One terrain gen can give you.
    For the New RWGmixer:
    Each cell has a unique feature.
    RuralCells obviously will have Rural hubs but the roads will be dirt and have dirt paths leading to poi's.
    TownCells will have asphalt roads in the hubs, except the smallest town hub will be dirt and have gravel paths leading to those poi's in that cell.
    CityCells will have asphalt roads in hubs and asphalt paths leading to those poi's.

    Open spoilers for old terrain gen:
    Update for July 26th 2017... Updated with new hub street layout much much better... Not a need to re D/l if you're enjoying the game as is. Only if you want the new stuff now
    Spoiler: 
    RWGmixer with Compo Pack plus vanilla plus accent pois.
    RWGmixer Vanilla pois and accent pois.
    Select which best fits your needs.
    (down load link fixed... srry for any inconvenience)
    Link->RWGmixer with Compo Pack & Accent pois
    Link->RWGmixer with Accent pois (vanilla pois)

    Spoiler: 
    *Special Note* Aug 8th 2017: Mag has redone the compo pack with many fixes to blocks and prefabs in general. If you are already using my rwgmixer with compo pack. Simply d/l the new compo pack and replace the new prefab folder with the old. Restart a new world.

    Use this Link->COMPOPACK_27

    ->The compo pack comes with a rwgmixer but don't use it if you want to keep my terrain gen. TY<-


    Link-> rwgmixer with Compo Pack and much more!

    Just got the Okay to add the compo pack! TYVM to Mag and all who are involved. So stop in the compo thread and give them a big TY's.

    This is a large D/L since it includes the prefab folder and both The "Water" and "No Water" builds.
    Also included: New Hubs and Cell additions and street layouts along with the itemized pois for each hub type.
    Hubs included:
    • Rural small
    • Rural large
    • Town small
    • Town Large
    • City small
    • City Large (and corresponding Cell make up).

    Also initialized the other modules in the terrain gen to accent the landscape a touch more

    The link contains a main folder and two folders inside along with a prefab folder. One folder contains the rwgmixer with "water" and the other is a set up for "No" to "little water" (random is random and I can't adjust for every possible combination but it should be very unusual for you to get a world with any major water... I hope!).
    *Don't forget* swap the prefab folder as well



    V***********Extras Section:***********V

    Updated Sep3rd 2017: Complimentary Biomes.xml for the A16 (stable) rwgmixer.xml
    Link ->Biomes and Weathersurvival.xml A16.3(b12) Sep,3 2017
    Biomes.xml can be used as a stand alone as well as the weathersurvival.xml but work together really well.
    Updated to make the clay sub biomes smaller and less prevalent. Decreased decoration load times slightly.

    Link-> More Animals than A16 but less than A15
    Desc: A nice blend of A15 and A16 animal population (imo)

    Link-> New Spawning system for A16
    Desc: New spawn system (pairs well with the animals spawning).

    Link-> Buff's and Items.xml A16.3(b12) Sep 5, 2017
    Desc:
    Refined Bleed scheme.
    buff.xml:
    • MinBleeding: delivers 1 damage per 3 seconds over 60 seconds.
    • Bleeding: delivers 1 damage per 2 seconds over 60 seconds.
    • MaxBleeding: (is vanilla bleed) delivers 1 damage per second over 60 seconds.

    If you get "minbleed" it has a chance to go to "bleed" or "maxbleed" if you continue to get hit without applying first aid of any type.
    If you get "bleed" it has a chance to go to "maxbleed" if you continue to get hit without applying first aid of any type (wont downgrade to min).
    "maxbleed" is tops.
    *Bleeding is required in order to get infected*

    Items.xml redone zed hand damage and added the new bleeds and Infection scheme.

    Herbal Antibiotics cures infection stage2.

    ***Note: Both the item and Buff.xmls are need to run this.***

    ^***********Extras Section:***********^

    [Pics to follow as time goes on]
    (Pics from redone Biome.xml)
    Attachment 21981Attachment 21982Attachment 21983Attachment 21984Attachment 21985
    -> Link to more pics <-

    I hope you Enjoy it.
    If you do use this in a mod just a TY and a nod, would be appreciated that's it... or a wink :P

    Notes: What I am trying to accomplish with the mods I put out.

    Basically, you won't really find what most other mods do as compared to mine. These are nothing more then what I perceive as "Enhancements" to the original game. You won't find complex reworks of systems (f.e. progression, 20 different crafting stations, New crafting recipes, totally different perks etc,.) So you will always be able to load up my mods and play with the majority of the original systems in play... and just that, play the game (mostly) as TFP intended.

    So TY all who are trying out what I am making and the critiques you've been making I really appreciate the input.

    Special shout out to n2n1 for turning me onto the burnt forest particle effect.
    Last edited by Tin; 09-05-2017 at 06:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    43
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank for this Tin!

    I can confirm with an i7 7700k, 980ti, 32GB of RAM it really does take 10+ minutes to load. The result is pretty amazing though, good job.

    Unfortunately, the RAM usage is quite high (~20GB for me) and is not realistic for my friends and I to play together. I've been screwing with the RWGmixer settings to just sort of normalize everything a bit (less crazy mountains, less water-- not no water, just less, fewer areas at max height). This is my first foray into the RWGmixer.xml, and while I read through the A15 almost in it's entirety to try and glean some useful information, it looks like too much has changed.

    I'm curious if you could shed some light for me on how I'd go about changing the following:

    1. Fewer Mountains
    2. Slightly less water
    3. Less area at max height (though this may come with fewer mountains)


    I've been beating my head against a wall trying settings one at a time and the best I did was create wide sweeping valleys (neat in their own right, but I do like some cliffs). I'm also mostly okay with vanilla biomes and hubs right now.

    Any direction you could lend would be amazing!

    Thanks

    p.s. Totally using your mixer for my private games

  3. #3
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by abarham View Post
    Thank for this Tin!

    I can confirm with an i7 7700k, 980ti, 32GB of RAM it really does take 10+ minutes to load. The result is pretty amazing though, good job.

    Unfortunately, the RAM usage is quite high (~20GB for me) and is not realistic for my friends and I to play together. I've been screwing with the RWGmixer settings to just sort of normalize everything a bit (less crazy mountains, less water-- not no water, just less, fewer areas at max height). This is my first foray into the RWGmixer.xml, and while I read through the A15 almost in it's entirety to try and glean some useful information, it looks like too much has changed.

    I'm curious if you could shed some light for me on how I'd go about changing the following:

    1. Fewer Mountains
    2. Slightly less water
    3. Less area at max height (though this may come with fewer mountains)


    I've been beating my head against a wall trying settings one at a time and the best I did was create wide sweeping valleys (neat in their own right, but I do like some cliffs). I'm also mostly okay with vanilla biomes and hubs right now.

    Any direction you could lend would be amazing!

    Thanks

    p.s. Totally using your mixer for my private games
    Just to let you know..
    Once you load the world initially-
    Log out and exit totally from the game/ shut down server (if using one)-
    Restart everything and the the ram usage will be cut drastically-

    It's just something on the very initial loading that is the major issue.


    If you want to lessen the water and mountains on the "Vanilla" terrain gen, then very carefully (it will take a lot of reloading and tweaking)

    Code:
    <module name="scaleBiasOutput" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="landMntWater2"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="255"/>
    </module>
    [cheap way] Lower the "scale":Not this one ^ but...

    The ones that are of a set.. VV
    All module sets like:
    Code:
    <module name="mountainsBase" type="FastNoise" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="0.25"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsT" type="FastTurbulence">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsBase"/>
    	<property name="power" value="5"/>
    	<property name="frequency" value="0.25"/>
    	<property name="roughness" value="8"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsScaled" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsT"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="1.3"/>
    	<property name="bias" value="-0.4"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsOutput" type="ClampOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsScaled"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,1.3"/>
    </module>
    I consider this ^ 1 set of modules, you'll find <property name="scale" value="1.3"/> within them.

    Some of the modules that are for the water in 'Vanilla' are not stand alone and affect other modules so it'll be a bit tricky.

    Your best bet, if you really want to get into everything, is go through the Libnoise tutorials to get a handle on how things are set up * just type into your browser search and you'll find it pretty quick *
    If you have the tutorial and the rwgmixer side by side, you can see how TFP went about setting things up as opposed to how Libnoise does it. You'll find they're pretty similar for the most parts.
    *just an FYI* not everything in Libnoise is used in TFP version. TFP version if heavily modified to their needs.

    Then start messing around with the vanilla set up till you get comfortable to start building your own modules.
    If you search in your browser 7d2d rwgmixer it should take you to a thread that is all about the rwgmixer and throughout it will be a product of many ppl works and experiments concerning it.
    Hope this helps you some

  4. #4
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0
    Really loving this so far. The cities actually feel like cities, the ground is flat enough to build on without much hassle, water is truly scarce (I haven't found any ponds or rivers), and the mountains actually look like mountain ranges rather than confused hills or ridges.

    Tried it out in SP first and it loaded up in about 10 minutes. But when I tossed it onto my dedicated (i7-4790 w/16gb) it took an eternity (an hour and 15 minutes) to start up. Thankfully I was working and wasn't looking to play, otherwise I probably would have stopped it. Restarting the server though and it came back up in a matter of seconds and performance is solid. So, no harm there.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. #5
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    43
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tin View Post
    Just to let you know..
    Once you load the world initially-
    Log out and exit totally from the game/ shut down server (if using one)-
    Restart everything and the the ram usage will be cut drastically-

    It's just something on the very initial loading that is the major issue.


    If you want to lessen the water and mountains on the "Vanilla" terrain gen, then very carefully (it will take a lot of reloading and tweaking)

    Code:
    <module name="scaleBiasOutput" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="landMntWater2"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="255"/>
    </module>
    [cheap way] Lower the "scale":Not this one ^ but...

    The ones that are of a set.. VV
    All module sets like:
    Code:
    <module name="mountainsBase" type="FastNoise" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="0.25"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsT" type="FastTurbulence">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsBase"/>
    	<property name="power" value="5"/>
    	<property name="frequency" value="0.25"/>
    	<property name="roughness" value="8"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsScaled" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsT"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="1.3"/>
    	<property name="bias" value="-0.4"/>
    </module>
    <module name="mountainsOutput" type="ClampOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="mountainsScaled"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,1.3"/>
    </module>
    I consider this ^ 1 set of modules, you'll find <property name="scale" value="1.3"/> within them.

    Some of the modules that are for the water in 'Vanilla' are not stand alone and affect other modules so it'll be a bit tricky.

    Your best bet, if you really want to get into everything, is go through the Libnoise tutorials to get a handle on how things are set up * just type into your browser search and you'll find it pretty quick *
    If you have the tutorial and the rwgmixer side by side, you can see how TFP went about setting things up as opposed to how Libnoise does it. You'll find they're pretty similar for the most parts.
    *just an FYI* not everything in Libnoise is used in TFP version. TFP version if heavily modified to their needs.

    Then start messing around with the vanilla set up till you get comfortable to start building your own modules.
    If you search in your browser 7d2d rwgmixer it should take you to a thread that is all about the rwgmixer and throughout it will be a product of many ppl works and experiments concerning it.
    Hope this helps you some
    This is a phenomenal amount of information! Thanks a ton for the details, direction, and examples! Off I goooooooooooo!

  6. #6
    Survivor
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    73
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you so much!! this is a worldgen i can be proud to die within, repeatedly

  7. #7
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Comrade Kemosabe View Post
    Really loving this so far. The cities actually feel like cities, the ground is flat enough to build on without much hassle, water is truly scarce (I haven't found any ponds or rivers), and the mountains actually look like mountain ranges rather than confused hills or ridges.

    Tried it out in SP first and it loaded up in about 10 minutes. But when I tossed it onto my dedicated (i7-4790 w/16gb) it took an eternity (an hour and 15 minutes) to start up. Thankfully I was working and wasn't looking to play, otherwise I probably would have stopped it. Restarting the server though and it came back up in a matter of seconds and performance is solid. So, no harm there.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Yeah, I don't know why it's taking so long when it comes to loading it up on a server Well minus the increased size of the hubs and all but I wouldn't think it would be that long xD

    It's putting a cramp into my hub designs... grumble.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by abarham View Post
    This is a phenomenal amount of information! Thanks a ton for the details, direction, and examples! Off I goooooooooooo!
    No worries, if I can help cut the learning curve down some its all good

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by lug View Post
    Thank you so much!! this is a worldgen i can be proud to die within, repeatedly
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    MotherRussia
    Posts
    1,347
    Rep Power
    1
    Hello, I have a question
    for what purpose is <biome_intensity_generators> ?

    and , maybe, dumb question: I do want to remove sharp peaks (not to cut - but to make its mountains look like hills).
    How should i take the parameters to start experimenting ?

    PS: return to speaking about the error in "rural".
    I understand that it's not actually used... but maybe, XML-error is processed and leads to a crash. By the way - after correction, i thought, i got rid of an error which occurred in RWG-previewer.
    Last edited by n2n1; 07-14-2017 at 11:41 PM. Reason: correct language

  9. #9
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Size and shape of the biomes based off of frequencies when they get places but only for the random placed biomes. It also controls the dithering effect between biomes as well. The ones that use this rule <biome_generator range="0,1"/> in the biome list.

    It's basically does the same thing as the terrain generator except for a 2d surface.. kinda!

    Imagine a 3d landscape made of clay. Then you draw shapes on plastic wrap and color those shapes in with each colored to represent a biome. Then you take the plastic wrap and drape it over the the 3d landscape.

    Best way I can describe it...

    Probably lower the scale some for the mountains modules. Once the land reaches 162m on the map display, the land wont go flat like it used to but be forced to have a peak and dip back down. Which results in the knife edge looking mountain ranges.
    If your mountains are giving sharp peaks in general you probably want to change the frequency used to FastNoise, FastBillow, Billow (with exceptions you can use the bias property to stretch and make the peaks more blunt at the tops. The RidgedMultifractal and FastRidgedMultifractal will naturally make sharp cuts and lines in the terrain, mountains and their peaks (again you can tweak the bias to make it more blunt except the peaks that reach 162m).

    edit: you can also lower the frequencies down as well but do so a little at a time. Example: if you had a frequency of 0.25 my next try would be 0.025 and see what I got. If that made it too flat for my liking I would then go 0.125 and cut the middle and then keep cutting the middle +/- and on and on till I found the sweet spot.
    Generally there is no reason to go beyond the thousandths mark (0.001), something that low in a frequency is pretty much flat for the terrain generator.
    Last edited by Tin; 07-14-2017 at 11:48 PM.

  10. #10
    Colony Founder n2n1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    MotherRussia
    Posts
    1,347
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Tin View Post
    Size and shape of the biomes based off of frequencies when they get places but only for the random placed biomes. It also controls the dithering effect between biomes as well. The ones that use this rule <biome_generator range="0,1"/> in the biome list.

    It's basically does the same thing as the terrain generator except for a 2d surface.. kinda!

    Imagine a 3d landscape made of clay. Then you draw shapes on plastic wrap and color those shapes in with each colored to represent a biome. Then you take the plastic wrap and drape it over the the 3d landscape.

    Hmmm... i guess you told about <biome_generators>... but in A16 added similar sections: <biome_intensity_generators> - its purpose I do not understand. Sorry if I have not correctly formulated.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tin View Post
    Probably lower the scale some for the mountains modules. Once the land reaches 162m on the map display, the land wont go flat like it used to but be forced to have a peak and dip back down. Which results in the knife edge looking mountain ranges.
    If your mountains are giving sharp peaks in general you probably want to change the frequency used to FastNoise, FastBillow, Billow (with exceptions you can use the bias property to stretch and make the peaks more blunt at the tops. The RidgedMultifractal and FastRidgedMultifractal will naturally make sharp cuts and lines in the terrain, mountains and their peaks (again you can tweak the bias to make it more blunt except the peaks that reach 162m).

    edit: you can also lower the frequencies down as well but do so a little at a time. Example: if you had a frequency of 0.25 my next try would be 0.025 and see what I got. If that made it too flat for my liking I would then go 0.125 and cut the middle and then keep cutting the middle +/- and on and on till I found the sweet spot.
    Generally there is no reason to go beyond the thousandths mark (0.001), something that low in a frequency is pretty much flat for the terrain generator
    Yes, Thanks! I will attempt this.
    The fact is that i removed the snow-capped peaks of the mountains, and sharp peaks is not needed.
    Last edited by n2n1; 07-15-2017 at 12:13 AM.

  11. #11
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by n2n1 View Post
    Hmmm... i guess you told about <biome_generators>... but in A16 added similar sections: <biome_intensity_generators> - its purpose I do not understand. Sorry if I have not correctly formulated.
    Oops! Yeah I don't know that much about it yet, haven't really messed with it to see if it actually does anything and if so what? It's on my "To play with" list Will let you know when I tackle it.

    As for the "rural" deal, if it calls for that hub to be placed, the system see's nothing is actually there and skips it so it doesn't get hung up. If anything it would give a <wrn> deal if anything and then move on.
    Last edited by Tin; 07-15-2017 at 12:17 AM.

  12. #12
    Colony Founder LuckyStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    With your Mom
    Posts
    1,975
    Rep Power
    1
    Okay Tin so the version with water is the normal amount or is it less that vanilla still?

    I'd like smoother terrain, bigger cites, less water.

    Not really into having too many POI's since it limits the amount of building space.
    [I tend to build quite large bases.]

  13. #13
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyStar View Post
    Okay Tin so the version with water is the normal amount or is it less that vanilla still?

    I'd like smoother terrain, bigger cites, less water.

    Not really into having too many POI's since it limits the amount of building space.
    [I tend to build quite large bases.]
    Less water than Vanilla still.
    I have already down sized the amount of wilderness poi's to off set the bigger city sizes. You'll have plenty of open flat areas to build in, with or without a full active server of ppl to play with.

  14. #14
    Colony Founder LuckyStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    With your Mom
    Posts
    1,975
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Tin View Post
    Less water than Vanilla still.
    I have already down sized the amount of wilderness poi's to off set the bigger city sizes. You'll have plenty of open flat areas to build in, with or without a full active server of ppl to play with.
    Hey that's great news!

    Can't wait to try it.... [after I spend the next 10 hours editing XML's ... yuck!]

    I tried your last one for A16 Experimental and it was lovely. I really enjoyed the changes you made.

    Thanks for all your effort Tin.

  15. #15
    Leader Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyStar View Post
    Hey that's great news!

    Can't wait to try it.... [after I spend the next 10 hours editing XML's ... yuck!]

    I tried your last one for A16 Experimental and it was lovely. I really enjoyed the changes you made.

    Thanks for all your effort Tin.
    Yeah, this one I got more super flat areas in the world to encourage the hubs to grow more. I also tweaked the water a bit to make it more natural looking without increasing how often they appeared in the world. I had a new hub layout built but it grew the hubs too big, to the point I even had issues loading it, so I had to stick with the older one I did.. for now >.> till they get the loading straighten out more.

    Now that I got the rwgmixer pretty close to how I want it, I am working on "infection" and "bleeding" for the buffs to add to the world later. I also still need to work on the biomes and redo the decorations, weather condition scheme (which is almost done), redid the spawning system some and tweaked the entities groups and classes... Basically putting together a minor mod.
    ..Plus I need to incorporate this into the "limited mining world" mod at some point, so ppl on lower end machines can hopefully play it better.

    Damn I still have a bit of work ahead of me. xD

    oh! and thanks for the words of encouragement
    Last edited by Tin; 07-16-2017 at 02:54 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •