Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 26343536
Results 526 to 532 of 532

Thread: A16 (stable) rwgmixer re done top to bottom! (refined)

  1. #526
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Silent Hill
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello! So far I'm very happy with RWG mixer from OP post! I edited it a bit to get more cities.
    The question is - how do I get water back? I Found amount of water bodies in A16 about right.

    Edit:
    Well the towns are amazing but terrain is kinda meh - its very flat, boring, a lot of empty areas of...nothingness. So what I did: I copied <terrain_generator name="vanilla" use_old_final="false"> from original rwgmixer.xml <terrain_generators> section and got perfect results. Very uncommon, beatifull, landscapes combined with new awesome cities.

    Author, please leave in vanilla option in next releases.
    Last edited by SonicSonedit; 2 Weeks Ago at 09:51 AM.

  2. #527
    Colony Founder Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    4,634
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SonicSonedit View Post
    Hello! So far I'm very happy with RWG mixer from OP post! I edited it a bit to get more cities.
    The question is - how do I get water back? I Found amount of water bodies in A16 about right.

    Edit:
    Well the towns are amazing but terrain is kinda meh - its very flat, boring, a lot of empty areas of...nothingness. So what I did: I copied <terrain_generator name="vanilla" use_old_final="false"> from original rwgmixer.xml <terrain_generators> section and got perfect results. Very uncommon, beatifull, landscapes combined with new awesome cities.

    Author, please leave in vanilla option in next releases.
    This is an older mod and more of experiments to showcase different things that could be done and to help ppl kinda tailor things to how they want them. There's also 3 different terrain gens that can be used and the "how to" are in the files themselves in commented areas. I have a new mod located https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...he-Dying-Lands

    edit: and as far as the town n such being spread out that's just how I like it. I didn't like the fact you can get everything so close together. An easy fix is just lowering the cell_size="" in the rwgmixer.
    Last edited by Tin; 2 Weeks Ago at 05:00 PM.

  3. #528
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    I downloaded the spawning files and rwgmixer with biomes and weather and now when I enter cities in the console I get "spawning sleeper zombie from zombiehordestageGS148" and it does that for about 2 mins before I can close the console and continue with what I was doing.

  4. #529
    Colony Founder Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    4,634
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanPlays0 View Post
    I downloaded the spawning files and rwgmixer with biomes and weather and now when I enter cities in the console I get "spawning sleeper zombie from zombiehordestageGS148" and it does that for about 2 mins before I can close the console and continue with what I was doing.
    If you notice the spawning file is from A16.1b1 things have changed since then. In order to get everything to work properly you would need to down load everything.
    So basically: Do a file integrity check. Get all 16.4 files. Then download everything and replace it with all the download files for it to work in A16.4.

    This mod is no longer being updated (srry).

    go here -> https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...he-Dying-Lands

    Its more of a fuller mod but it has everything you want... only better done.
    Last edited by Tin; 1 Week Ago at 10:47 PM.

  5. #530
    Community Moderator Crater Creator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2,310
    Rep Power
    1
    Hey Tin. I know you've moved on from this mod but this seems like a good place to ask about the terrain generator.

    I don't know how you can determine what good bounds are for the Select module in particular. For example, here's a segment from one of the earlier versions of your code:
    Code:
    <module name="Control" type="FastNoise" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="1"/>
    </module>
    
    ...
    
    <module name="WaterBase" type="FastBillow" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="1.3"/>
    	<property name="displacement" value="-0.5"/>
    </module>
    <module name="WaterOutput" type="BiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="WaterBase"/>
    	<property name="bias" value="0.8"/>
    </module>
    <module name="Water" type="ScaleOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="WaterOutput"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="0.14"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="landMntWater" type="Select" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="controlModule" value="Control"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule1" value="Water"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule2" value="land"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,15000"/>
    	<property name="edgeFalloff" value="0.5"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="landMntWater2" type="Select" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="controlModule" value="Control"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule1" value="landMntWater"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule2" value="landMnt3"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,15000"/> <!-- want more water make the value="" closer "0,1000" etc,. -->
    	<property name="edgeFalloff" value="0.5"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="scaleBiasOutput" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="landMntWater2"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="255"/>
    </module>
    
    <output module="scaleBiasOutput"/>
    In the highlighted module, you're choosing to use 'land' instead of 'water' whenever the output of the control function is between 0 and 15,000. But the control function is using fast noise with a frequency of 1. I would assume fast noise with a frequency of 1 would output values between 0 and 1, or perhaps -1 to 1. But it goes up to at least 15,000? And I can't output the control function directly and check that out in the previewer, because anything outside the 0-255 block range is out of bounds (I think). I also don't see FastNoise defined in the libnoise documentation I've found. So, other than trial and error (which is proving really cumbersome when combining modules I don't fully understand), how do you know what the range of outputs of a given module will be?

  6. #531
    Colony Founder Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    4,634
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Crater Creator View Post
    Hey Tin. I know you've moved on from this mod but this seems like a good place to ask about the terrain generator.

    I don't know how you can determine what good bounds are for the Select module in particular. For example, here's a segment from one of the earlier versions of your code:
    Code:
    <module name="Control" type="FastNoise" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="1"/>
    </module>
    
    ...
    
    <module name="WaterBase" type="FastBillow" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="frequency" value="1.3"/>
    	<property name="displacement" value="-0.5"/>
    </module>
    <module name="WaterOutput" type="BiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="WaterBase"/>
    	<property name="bias" value="0.8"/>
    </module>
    <module name="Water" type="ScaleOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="WaterOutput"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="0.14"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="landMntWater" type="Select" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="controlModule" value="Control"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule1" value="Water"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule2" value="land"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,15000"/>
    	<property name="edgeFalloff" value="0.5"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="landMntWater2" type="Select" no_seed="true">
    	<property name="controlModule" value="Control"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule1" value="landMntWater"/>
    	<property name="sourceModule2" value="landMnt3"/>
    	<property name="bounds" value="0,15000"/> <!-- want more water make the value="" closer "0,1000" etc,. -->
    	<property name="edgeFalloff" value="0.5"/>
    </module>
    
    <module name="scaleBiasOutput" type="ScaleBiasOutput">
    	<property name="sourceModule" value="landMntWater2"/>
    	<property name="scale" value="255"/>
    </module>
    
    <output module="scaleBiasOutput"/>
    In the highlighted module, you're choosing to use 'land' instead of 'water' whenever the output of the control function is between 0 and 15,000. But the control function is using fast noise with a frequency of 1. I would assume fast noise with a frequency of 1 would output values between 0 and 1, or perhaps -1 to 1. But it goes up to at least 15,000? And I can't output the control function directly and check that out in the previewer, because anything outside the 0-255 block range is out of bounds (I think). I also don't see FastNoise defined in the libnoise documentation I've found. So, other than trial and error (which is proving really cumbersome when combining modules I don't fully understand), how do you know what the range of outputs of a given module will be?
    Just to start: The module names are just that names. Water isn't actually "water" it's just a name of the module that IF everything hits right can produce water.
    But everything you need to know is in the "Libnoise" tutorial and docs since that is what the terrain generator is based off of. So that would be your best bet to get all the answers you want as it concerns what "bounds" and the control frequencies do... And yeah, you'll need to do a lot of trial by error in adjustments and guesses at times to get the results you want. sometimes even making crazy number values like 15000
    Basically there is no one way to set up and make modules.

    I am only pointing you to the LibNoise area, not because I could never explain it nor that I don't want to help but it'll just make things easier on you to understand. I'm not the best teacher and it's just best to read it from the ppl who made it for these types of questions. The terrain generator stuff is almost all Libnoise since that was what it was based on. So it's the best place to point ppl to and by the time I got done explaining it in my way it would probably be more convoluted then it needed to be and less helpful xD

    And yeah! It's a guessing game a lot of the time but after awhile you just start to get a feel for it.

    tip1: When messing with the terrain, make a test hub that won't produce any cities or towns and make that the only thing to appear. It'll speed up the process when you're testing your tweaks.

    tip2: Have a copy of the terrain generator open as you go through it in lib to help piece everything together easier.

    tip3: Be prepared for LOTS of testing.

    tip4: pick a method and stick with it. Like are you good with music (like with musical note frequencies)? Then use the properties in that way. Are you good with and understand frequencies in electronics (sine waves)? then use the properties in that way etc,.
    Last edited by Tin; 4 Days Ago at 02:43 PM.

  7. #532
    Colony Founder Tin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    In between
    Posts
    4,634
    Rep Power
    1
    Oops!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •