Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Possible work around/ solution to MD5 error

  1. #16
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    248
    Rep Power
    1
    Jon, it is obvious from your posts that you are no fan of xbox and that is fine, but the fact remains that the xbox as it works now, is the same as it worked when 7 days was ported to it. To claim that this is somehow Microsoft's fault when it is the porting team that developed the game to work on the existing architecture and failed, that is rediculous. Sure, xbox has a crappy architecture but it had it when the game was developed, and the dev's knew what it was capable of. To claim it is Microsoft's fault and or responsibility is dishonest. If the game won't work right on xbox, don't port it, plain and simple.

    By the same token, I am an xbox user, and though I have experienced numerous MD5 errors in the past year, they have dramatically reduced in number and the game seems more stable. Whether this is due to the updates or to the way I am playing now (completely shutting down every 1-1.5 hours and using the work around if I do have a crash.) I currently have more than 100 hours without a terrain rewrite and only a half dozen crashes all of which happened because I got lazy and didn't reset.

    So, yes the problems we are experiencing on the xbox may well be due to the limited RAM, or limited save file or any one of a number of issues you point to, but that does not alleviate the problem, nor find a solution.

    The tag the team uses to identify the terrain rewrite gives a hint of the cause. The MD5 algorithm is inherently flawed, especially when dealing with large amounts of data such as what we are dealing with here. There were other algorithms that could have been used that are capable of doing the same thing with less chance of collisions (if that is what we are dealing with). Add to that, every time I have restored from the cloud my file has been good, I tend to think this is not a Microsoft problem at all, but a MD5 algorith collision problem where invalid hashes are generated (duplicate hashes for more than one file or different hashes for two of the same file) I could be wrong, but then I am only guessing, as is everyone else.

    This bug is, at best, very frustrating, and it is a 7dtd problem, not a Microsoft problem. After all, the game was ported to the console, the console wasn't built for the game.

  2. #17
    Zombie Hunter
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    439
    Rep Power
    1
    I was not going to reply to anymore md5 threads as i keep on adding fuel to the fire even though it is far from my intention.
    It may seem i am mining oilshale nonstop to fuel the infernos of game disscussion but this is not my wish.

    I mainly wanted to say from what i have read when picking a checksum for data that is constantly updated performance is a number one factor md5 may not have any lone crypto value but its proberbilty of collision when used for a checksum is low.
    Collision examples for this hash are carefully engineered but it is true that you can have 2 different data samples and calculate the same checksum.
    A stronger hash will have more complex functions thus using more cycles and increasing latency.

    If you have any info or references that shows that md5 is not usable as a integrity checksum then i would be interested in reading it.

    The console hardware cannot be changed and its the same as the unbelievable inadaquate ram from last gen, developers will have to deal with that best they can.

    MS and Sony have decided the spec for app data file size limit i am guessing they want a safe bandwidth limit of a gb being packed into there container format.

    I suppose there is only so much performance that can be set a side to wrap each indvidual gamesave in the platforms encrypted container that has its own integrity checksum that encases the worlddata container.

    If you look at time and bandwidth to encrypt a Gb of data using AES and compute a SHA for it you will see it takes a reasonable amount of resource and this needs to be a ongoing background process.
    i know 7D2D doesnt use a GB at once but i guess that is what the platforms where designed for and kept within a safe limit.

    I dont want to discourage anyone from trying to get support from the platforms but i think maybe a request to MS to be able to enable or disable auto uploads is a starting point but this is only a small help of a manual way of preventing corrupted data being uploaded.

    I also think getting an official answer for app data file limit from the platforms will be difficult if not impossible.

    Interesting sony doesnt have the limits with its own apps like cap gallery or share factory as it seems it doesnt use app data.

    In the meantime the developers are reducing the margin and believe that they can reduce this further.

  3. #18
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sTokedRecon View Post
    This is my first post and I am trying to post in the console forums so hopefully it ends up in the right place where it may be of some help to xbox users.

    Perhaps someone else has already tested this or posted in regards to this possible work around but I have not seen a similar post yet. I have not been playing for nearly as long as some players here, (only since 6/28/2017) but just recently purchased the game for xbox1 digital download. I purchased the game fully aware of the MD5 error issues that seem to plague some very devoted players. My reason for purchasing a known buggy game was that it has tons of devoted supporters on PC as well as consoles and it has a great number of aspects that I was searching for in a game. I have quickly become quite addicted to the game and was also hit by the md5 error at 38 days in and also 41 days into my first play through. Although I have abandoned (maybe only temporarily) my first play through save, I do believe I have been able to avoid the md5 error on my second play through.

    I read through quite a lot of requests from players asking for the ability to 'manually save' because they think the cloud saves are not working properly or becoming corrupted. So I thought... "Did anyone confirm that there was anything wrong with the cloud?".

    Since starting my 2nd play through, any time at all that I ever encounter some sort of crash or other similar hiccough, BEFORE RE-LAUNCHING the game, I always go into 'my games and apps' for xbox, manage game, delete the local save from CONSOLE (not the reserved space or the save from everywhere else which would be the cloud), and resume to re-launch the game, then patiently wait for the console to re-sync with the cloud saves. So far at least in single player, I have not become a continuing victim of the MD5 error that so commonly wipes out large portions of player made bases or other 'chunks' from in game.

    Please note that I do not currently have a Gold xbox Live subscription (hopefully I will soon), or otherwise I would happily attempt to recreate this possible work around for use during multiplayer.

    Again, I do not know if anyone else has attempted this method or any other that is similar for avoiding whole or partial world resets but I do hope to hear some constructive feedback on how this might be of use to the devs at TFP as well as fellow 7dtd survivors! Good luck survivors!

    sTokedRecon

    i can 100% confirm this does not work for survival multiplayer on xbox one my game did a partial base reset after a crash, so i read this thread and decided to rebuild and after every crash i was deleting the local data and letting it re sync after start up. was fine for about 10 game days and it crashed and did it again. deleting the save did nothing i still came on to basically nothing of a base left

  4. #19
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    FYI... work around does not always work...

    Cheers to you bro, your work around was better than anything the actually developers getting paid to fix the problem came up with... but I just got burned/wiped again on day 30/31. I had been burned by MD5 in a save file that I had dumped 60+hours into so I stopped playing. After hearing about this work around I thought Iíd try again... game crashed several times in the 31 (in game) days I had played. Every time I immediately exited, deleted the local save data, and waited to resync upon relaunching the game and was excited to find that I wasnít wiped/reset upon resyncing with the cloud.... but the last crash was one of those crashes where the menus go partially invisible for a few seconds then the crash happens... on that crash even after using the immediate local save file deletion method... I resyncíd with the cloud and my entire base, 7 loaded chests, forge full of steel stone and clay and A tool & die set, calipers and (canít think of the third piece but I had all three and they can all be hard/rare to find) had just found enough mechanical parts to make a work bench and had a full set of steel tools just made.... anyway... if you play and love this game you get where Iím going with this... itís that moment just before the day 35 horde where you elevate to that next level of tools and building materials to really get a sick horde pit/base rolling and it was all gone... just like that... I agree with the other community member. Stop focusing on all this new content that doesnít mean anything to anyone if the game wipes you out everytime you put 30+ hours of gameplay into it... I just canít wrap my mind around why a set of even half way talented developers canít troubleshoot such a major flaw in the way the core of this game operates.. its perfect in so many intangible ways... such a beautiful combination of game elements that you usually have to find in differential games all rolled into one... making it wonderfully addicting... hence why I gave it another shot. Sooner than later someone else is going to take this concept and a major game developer is going to do it right and everyone will forget that this is where it started... itís a real shame.

  5. #20
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    I tried this fix and it didn't work.

    Quote Originally Posted by sTokedRecon View Post
    This is my first post and I am trying to post in the console forums so hopefully it ends up in the right place where it may be of some help to xbox users.

    Perhaps someone else has already tested this or posted in regards to this possible work around but I have not seen a similar post yet. I have not been playing for nearly as long as some players here, (only since 6/28/2017) but just recently purchased the game for xbox1 digital download. I purchased the game fully aware of the MD5 error issues that seem to plague some very devoted players. My reason for purchasing a known buggy game was that it has tons of devoted supporters on PC as well as consoles and it has a great number of aspects that I was searching for in a game. I have quickly become quite addicted to the game and was also hit by the md5 error at 38 days in and also 41 days into my first play through. Although I have abandoned (maybe only temporarily) my first play through save, I do believe I have been able to avoid the md5 error on my second play through.

    I read through quite a lot of requests from players asking for the ability to 'manually save' because they think the cloud saves are not working properly or becoming corrupted. So I thought... "Did anyone confirm that there was anything wrong with the cloud?".

    Since starting my 2nd play through, any time at all that I ever encounter some sort of crash or other similar hiccough, BEFORE RE-LAUNCHING the game, I always go into 'my games and apps' for xbox, manage game, delete the local save from CONSOLE (not the reserved space or the save from everywhere else which would be the cloud), and resume to re-launch the game, then patiently wait for the console to re-sync with the cloud saves. So far at least in single player, I have not become a continuing victim of the MD5 error that so commonly wipes out large portions of player made bases or other 'chunks' from in game.

    Please note that I do not currently have a Gold xbox Live subscription (hopefully I will soon), or otherwise I would happily attempt to recreate this possible work around for use during multiplayer.

    Again, I do not know if anyone else has attempted this method or any other that is similar for avoiding whole or partial world resets but I do hope to hear some constructive feedback on how this might be of use to the devs at TFP as well as fellow 7dtd survivors! Good luck survivors!

    sTokedRecon
    My brother and I love to play this game it is frustrating when the game resets. I hope that it can be fixed. if you need more feed back let me know.

  6. #21
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by an Archangel View Post
    NO point in playing this game if you can't make any progress. how about instead of putting out more content, you all stop waisting time adding extra stuff to the game, and focouse of the BIGGEST PROBLEM.

    I'm tierd of hearing "We are sorry this happend to you." No, your not. It's not just happening to me. It's happening to EVERYONE. "We are working on it." No you are not. It's been over a year. I bet if I went to check on your progress, you all would caught with your pants down. Crashes and base wipes are happening more frequintly than ever. So no. I don't think you guys are doing anything to fix it. What ever you are doing, is making it worce. The only thing that has changed is more content. More content=more problems. Fix THE MAIN ISSUE befor moving forward, or you won't have a fan base.

    Whatever you guys have to say. I don't want to hear it. I'm tierd of your lies and excuses. I don't believe a word any of you say anymore. I have lost all faith in your teams ability. Not only in your ability to fix the problem, but in everything. I will never again buy a product with your name on it. That is how badly your team has failed.
    it is clear you have no understanding of how game development works or in 7 Days case how content progresses onto the console version.
    suffice it to say that corrupted saves happen in every game and that these corruptions happen for numerous reasons and are not limited to the developers skills or ability to produce a functioning game. even big companies like Bethesda and Activision have corruption in saves they are different however to a game like 7 Days.
    it can also come down to individual console units and how the console saves progress, it can be the communication between servers on Microsoft's notoriously ♥♥♥♥ servers.
    the Developers have no control over what Microsoft/Sony does with their company they can only at most submit error logs and details issues with suggestions on how to fix the problem.
    im angry too, i have had MD5 happen at least 25 times if not more not only on single player but with friends too, i remember me and my 3 other friends spent nearly 2 weeks day in and day out working to make an epic castle base only for an MD5 to happen right as we finished. we essentials burned away 2 weeks of out lives sacrificing sleep and sanity to get it done and its just gone.
    you need to think and research how a game specifically works and is developed before you go ripping into CS (Clare) and the devs who probably sacrifice way more time and effort than we ever do to create and fix a game for us to enjoy without charging us $50 for a DLC every 6 months like other games.

  7. #22
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    Just lost all my content, everything I bult and collected is gone. I tried the delete local and re download but still everything is gone. Is there any way my older game content could be loaded? How do I reach a human that works with the server?

    I hate the fact that after a year of game play it crashes (like usual) but takes everything I built away!

  8. #23
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Has anyone tried playing the game from disk?. I mean, uninstalling tyke downloaded version and using the disk version? And NOT downloading any updates?

  9. #24
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    I believe the console doesn't run the games off of the disc anyway, it's only used to transfer the data to your hard drive so that wouldn't work.
    I have read that playing the game in 'offline mode' on the console should work because the game won't save to the cloud, and the md5 error occurs because of a clash between the local and cloud save this might be the solution?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •