Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 47

Thread: Getting Started Prefabbing - Complete (POI Creation)

  1. #16
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,776
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Laz Man View Post
    In general, I use your editor to do macro editing (multiple rows/columns/layers of blocks + sleeper volumes) and do micro editing and painting within Hal's empty world.
    Are you using the unmoded paint tool? It's really slow, isn't it? I've created a custom brush with a bit help from Hal. This should save a lot of time:

    Spoiler: 

    <item id="1505" name="superBrush">
    <property name="Meshfile" value="Items/Tools/PaintbrushPrefab"/>
    <property name="CustomIcon" value="paintTool"/>
    <property name="Material" value="wood"/>
    <property name="RepairTools" value="wood"/>
    <property name="HoldType" value="51"/>
    <property name="DegradationBreaksAfter" value="true"/>
    <property name="Degradation" value="99999" param1="true"/>
    <property name="SoundJammed" value="ItemNeedsRepair"/>
    <property name="SoundDestroy" value="wooddestroy1"/>
    <property name="EconomicValue" value="20"/>
    <property name="CrosshairUpAfterShot" value="false"/>
    <property name="FuelValue" value="20"/>
    <property class="Action0">
    <property name="Class" value="TextureBlock"/>
    <property name="Hitmask_override" value="Melee"/>
    <property name="Sound_start" value="erase"/>
    <property name="Infinite_ammo" value="true"/>
    <property name="Magazine_items" value="paint"/>
    <property name="Range" value="15"/>
    <property name="Delay" value="0.1"/>
    <property name="RemoveTexture" value="true"/>
    <property name="DefaultTextureID" value="156"/>
    </property>
    <property class="Action1">
    <property name="Class" value="TextureBlock"/>
    <property name="Hitmask_override" value="Melee"/>
    <property name="Sound_start" value="paint"/>
    <property name="Magazine_items" value="paint"/>
    <property name="Magazine_size" value="1"/>
    <property name="Range" value="15"/>
    <property name="Delay" value="0.1"/>
    <property name="Particles_muzzle_fire" value="paint_splash2"/>
    </property>
    <property class="Attributes">
    <property name="DegradationMax" value="1500,2000"/>
    <property name="DegradationRate" value="0,0"/>
    </property>
    <property name="Group" value="Tools/Traps"/>
    <property name="ActionSkillGroup" value="Construction Tools"/>
    <property name="CraftingSkillGroup" value="craftSkillTools"/>
    <property name="RepairExpMultiplier" value="5.5"/>
    <property name="PickupJournalEntry" value="paintingTip"/>
    </item>


    It's just an indestructible fast brush.
    Last edited by Pille; 09-03-2017 at 04:15 AM.

  2. #17
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Somewhere Around LA - Nuke Bait
    Posts
    1,654
    Rep Power
    1
    Damn you Pille. I'm on my Android. lol. :-p
    Will probably use that in the near future.

    For what it's worth, I painted 95-98% of the Pet Store prefab using your editor Pille. Was way way faster once I got used to Front/Back/Top/Bottom.

    Was thinking of asking if you wanted to change that up to show the textures as East/West/North/South/Top/Bottom. Then maybe a compass overlay on the corner of the map editor that followed rotation.

    I need to use Hal's mod some more. If it is the Prefab DLL he modified, then you can probably do all the prefab building techniques in game. Which make some of the tools not needed. The TFP prefab editor is a bit clunky (sorry guys! Mad love!). But like most clunky, if I get used to it, it's likely fine. So if Hal extended that... Oooo.... Hmm.

  3. #18
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,776
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jackelmyer View Post
    Was thinking of asking if you wanted to change that up to show the textures as East/West/North/South/Top/Bottom. Then maybe a compass overlay on the corner of the map editor that followed rotation.
    Yeah maybe as an option.

  4. #19
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,615
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Pille View Post
    Yeah maybe as an option.
    Yesss - please
    that would be very helpful
    (Ich habe nämlich leider immer noch nicht ganz begriffen wie painting mit dem editor funzt)

  5. #20
    Colony Founder Pille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Milky Way
    Posts
    1,776
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Magoli View Post
    (Ich habe nämlich leider immer noch nicht ganz begriffen wie painting mit dem editor funzt)
    Don't understand what you saying but I will do my best.
    Last edited by Pille; 09-03-2017 at 01:19 PM.

  6. #21
    Super Moderator Roland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    On a Zipline
    Posts
    16,050
    Rep Power
    2
    Sticking this

  7. #22
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Somewhere Around LA - Nuke Bait
    Posts
    1,654
    Rep Power
    1
    Thanks Roland!

  8. #23
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0
    How the hell do I connect to my own dedicated server? Is there an internal port number or something?

  9. #24
    Zombie Hunter Kam R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    468
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dieselpunk View Post
    How the hell do I connect to my own dedicated server? Is there an internal port number or something?
    I didn't have to do any adjustments to ports or such really. Just give your server a recognizable name and it usually pops up first on either the normal or modded tab lists. Or even easier it should appear under the far right tab "servers on the local network". I sometimes have to go back to the main menu and then back to the servers list for it to properly refresh and show up.

  10. #25
    Colony Founder
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Somewhere Around LA - Nuke Bait
    Posts
    1,654
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dieselpunk View Post
    How the hell do I connect to my own dedicated server? Is there an internal port number or something?
    Sorry, haven't been in here for a bit. You're dedicated server should be setup as a multiplayer server, typically password protected. Then you connect to it like any other server in the list of servers, in game.

    One thing to note:. You can't be running a single player game (New Game) and the dedicated server. If you want to do that, you'll need to alter the port your dedicated server uses and that's something you'll want to Google up on how to do.

    Best of luck.

  11. #26
    Refugee
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks guys!

  12. #27
    Ranger
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    341
    Rep Power
    1
    Two tips that have been useful to me.

    First, Pilles Editor has a "Rotation to Face North" attribute under Xml. Use this to indicate which side the entrance to your building is facing, so that it will connect properly to roads and paths. It should be a number from 0 to 3, indicating how many 90 degrees turns clockwise is required to make your POI face north. Otherwise, you can also use this simple table:

    0 - POI is facing North
    1 - POI is facing West
    2 - POI is facing South
    3 - POI is facing East

    You can figure the rotation of blocks similarly:

    0 - Block is facing North
    1 - Block is facing East
    2 - Block is facing South
    3 - Block is facing West

    Note that numbers 1 and 3 for block rotation are the opposite direction of the previous attribute, because that attribute does not indicate which direction the POI is facing, but how many times to turn it to get it to face North.

  13. #28
    Tracker
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    206
    Rep Power
    1
    Once you build a prefab, how do you get it to align properly with roads? What should you do while building the prefab to ensure it works with the roads? I read the preceding post, but its not clear - I'm not asking whether the building is facing north or west, how do you get it to face the road? How far away is the road going to be? Can you make a road or driveway that will intersect with a generated road?
    Last edited by Vomkat; 11-08-2018 at 12:39 AM.

  14. #29
    Zombie Hunter Kam R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    468
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Vomkat View Post
    Once you build a prefab, how do you get it to align properly with roads? What should you do while building the prefab to ensure it works with the roads? I read the preceding post, but its not clear - I'm not asking whether the building is facing north or west, how do you get it to face the road? How far away is the road going to be? Can you make a road or driveway that will intersect with a generated road?

    If the prefab is for a town: The northern border of your prefab's area will seamlessly align with a road by default, so build the front of your prefab facing north and if you want a driveway or road connection, build the road all the way to the northern border and it will flow right into the city grid. :]

    For towns it's easy, for wilderness POI – idk, don't think it's possible to connect them with those gravel paths or even any of the country roads, but maybe the modding gurus have some input on that (I'm curious about that too ).

  15. #30
    Colony Founder Magoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,615
    Rep Power
    1
    It sounds crazy and it doesn't look that way, BUT...

    - mathematically all the wilderness-prefabs ARE connected to their paths.
    There is no single wilderness-POI without a path connected to them.

    - esthetically sometimes (always) it looks they arent connected well to their paths - this has 3 Reasons:

    1.
    The booked place (socket) for a wilderness-POI is always a perfect Square (e.g. 30by30 or 47by47)
    In this Square the engine builds a circle for placing the prefab into the world.
    U all have seen the big cliffy half earthgaps around some wilderness-POI's (big holecutter-principe)
    Also if the land is to low the engine will generate halfround humps to make the surface flat and even.
    In this flattened out circular area the engine will place the prefab.
    Here the displacement from prefab and path begins.
    Another point:
    Most of the prefab's entrances are about in the middle of the building. But the connection-point for a prefab to the path is the prefab's N/W corner.
    Here the displacement from prefab and path continues.
    But lets go further:

    2.
    Prefabs in the middle of a path:
    The connection-point from prefab to path is IMO the most northernwest corner of the prefab.
    So if the path follows south/east-direction the prefab will cross/block the path.
    The path-gen-algorythm doesn't care if the prefab is straight above it. This is not smart IMO
    Not to mention all the unwalkable pathareas like path is going through water or over that big gasps and humps on POI's i mentioned in 1.

    3.
    IMO there is no way in A16 to let the prefab's entrace pointing to the path.
    'RotationToFaceNorth'-command doesnt work anymore in wilderness IMO.
    All the wilderness-POI's are spawning in their default rotation (how they were created).


    fazit:
    most times the connection from prefab to path will look uncanny, unnatural and will be a pain for the eyes.
    adding point 1,2 and 3 together it becomes very clear again:

    the A16-rwg-world-generating-engine is grab

    sad but true - because we dont have another
    Last edited by Magoli; 11-08-2018 at 11:23 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •