View Poll Results: Alpha 17

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • A17-Exp Release: Estimated End of July/ Beginning of August 2018

    0 0%
  • -------------------------------------------------------

    0 0%
  • Feat Freeze -> Hitler Vid -> MM gameplay

    0 0%
  • -> Spider Meme -> Stream Blitz ->

    0 0%
  • -> Release Candidate -> A17-E

    0 0%
  • -------------------------------------------------------

    0 0%
  • FIRST POST UPDATED: July 11

    0 0%
  • SECOND POST UPDATED: June 29

    0 0%
  • -----------------------------------------------------

    0 0%
  • News for console versions is only announced by Clare in the console news forum.

    0 0%
Page 1511 of 1526 FirstFirst ... 5111011141114611501150915101511151215131521 ... LastLast
Results 22,651 to 22,665 of 22878

Thread: Developer Diary: Alpha 17

  1. #22651
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Houston-ish, Texas
    Posts
    17,986
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    I'm not a fan of ever writing ugly temp code. I've seen far too many case of programmers throwing code together, never going back to it and it ships in a product like that.
    ...you've seen my code? =)

  2. #22652
    Reconstructionist KingSlayerGM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    728
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    I'm not a fan of ever writing ugly temp code. I've seen far too many case of programmers throwing code together, never going back to it and it ships in a product like that.

    Writing decent code with basic optimizations in the first place is not hard once you memorize the techniques. I do it on auto pilot as I go and for the small amount of extra time up front, I don't have to go back and remember what I was doing, fix it all and retest.
    What about the files, which you mentioned, that have thousands of lines of code packed together?

  3. #22653
    Colony Founder wolfbain5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,906
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    ...you've seen my code? =)
    your code? are you trying to send him into conniptions?

  4. #22654
    Colony Founder TSBX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    "Welcome to Costco, I love you."
    Posts
    1,696
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    Which word?
    "promise" and "concerned" come to mind immediately.

  5. #22655
    Survivor fluffyrizzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JayzenFreeze View Post
    Any info one what type of bad a$$ specs are needed to play the game on all high settings? I cant even play or default settings

    EDIT: I never get an answer or even any real info about it. I cant come close to fully enjoying the graphics.
    My setup: i7-6700 @ 3.4GHz, 24 GB RAM, gtx 970, Win 10 64bit, Thermaltake 750W power supply, 2 extra fans and a Dell MB (don't remember which exactly). I also use Razer Cortex: Boost while playing. I have almost everything on the highest settings.


    I still want to add an SSD just for games, but it hasn't happened yet.

  6. #22656
    Colony Founder JayzenFreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Lost in time
    Posts
    1,750
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by fluffyrizzo View Post
    My setup: i7-6700 @ 3.4GHz, 24 GB RAM, gtx 970, Win 10 64bit, Thermaltake 750W power supply, 2 extra fans and a Dell MB (don't remember which exactly). I also use Razer Cortex: Boost while playing. I have almost everything on the highest settings.


    I still want to add an SSD just for games, but it hasn't happened yet.
    i got an AMD FX 6 core 4.4GHZ 32 GB ram gtx 970 OC edition win 7 X64 a nice SSD drive and lots of fans I use game booster as well but playing on default with reflections on my FPS averages 30-40 standing still running through trees or a building it goes to ~15 FPS a lot.

    EDIT: I dont think this game likes AMD

  7. #22657
    Ranger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Posts
    336
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by JayzenFreeze View Post
    i got an AMD FX 6 core 4.4GHZ 32 GB ram gtx 970 OC edition win 7 X64 a nice SSD drive and lots of fans I use game booster as well but playing on default with reflections on my FPS averages 30-40 standing still running through trees or a building it goes to ~15 FPS a lot.

    EDIT: I dont think this game likes AMD
    Alpha 16 doesn't like any computer.

  8. #22658
    Survivor fluffyrizzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JayzenFreeze View Post
    i got an AMD FX 6 core 4.4GHZ 32 GB ram gtx 970 OC edition win 7 X64 a nice SSD drive and lots of fans I use game booster as well but playing on default with reflections on my FPS averages 30-40 standing still running through trees or a building it goes to ~15 FPS a lot.

    EDIT: I dont think this game likes AMD
    I'm using G Skill DDR4 3000MHz Ram, maybe RAM speed is the big difference

    EDIT: just checked my ingame video options, everything is set to high. Shadow distance is low and I don't have Reflected shadows on. FPS hovering right at 60ish
    Last edited by fluffyrizzo; 2 Days Ago at 12:56 AM.

  9. #22659
    Ranger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Right here, right now!
    Posts
    336
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by fluffyrizzo View Post
    I'm using G Skill DDR4 3000MHz Ram, maybe RAM speed is the big difference
    Eh installing memory that is faster than stock doesn't do anything by itself, you have to actually enable OCing in the BIOS and or OC software.

    I have DDR4 PC-3600 in my rig and on it's own there is no benefit, I had to OC to see any benefit.
    Last edited by Xeen; 2 Days Ago at 12:51 AM.

  10. #22660
    Scavenger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    36
    Rep Power
    0
    Is 3rd person coming in a17?

  11. #22661
    Scavenger Cole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JayzenFreeze View Post
    i got an AMD FX 6 core 4.4GHZ 32 GB ram gtx 970 OC edition win 7 X64 a nice SSD drive and lots of fans I use game booster as well but playing on default with reflections on my FPS averages 30-40 standing still running through trees or a building it goes to ~15 FPS a lot.

    EDIT: I dont think this game likes AMD
    I ran A16 Exp on an AMD Phenom II x6 3.2 GHz with 16GB DDR3-1600 and a Radeon Rx 460 4GB on Med-High settings (can't remember exact settings I was using) and tended to stay around 45-50 fps except during horde night. AMD may not have been the best to run it on but they hold up fine in my experience.

  12. #22662
    Survivor compuguru992000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    0
    Phenom 2 is dual or quad core? Amd these days focuses on multithreaded code, unity games generally run better on fewer cores, high ghz, 50 cores wont change it, unity runs everything in the main thread until recently. Now if a17 uses the new unity 2018 multithreaded api, amd might start to do a lot better, intel will as well. My i7 with 1070 gtx, 2000mhz ddr2 and an ssd still stutters on high :/ a17 using the new render pipeline too maybe? Please?

  13. #22663
    Fun Pimps Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    443
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by KingSlayerGM View Post
    What about the files, which you mentioned, that have thousands of lines of code packed together?
    Never said anything about packed together. They have comments and blank lines and such as you would expect in normal non Guppy code.

  14. #22664
    Survivor TSRViper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88
    Rep Power
    1
    A lot of lines doesn’t necessarily imply crap code either...

  15. #22665
    Survivor compuguru992000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TSRViper View Post
    A lot of lines doesn’t necessarily imply crap code either...
    Usually implies redundancy and stability. Speed even if c# is used right

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by faatal View Post
    Never said anything about packed together. They have comments and blank lines and such as you would expect in normal non Guppy code.
    Faatal, using scriptable render pipeline or the multi threaded job system?

    Actually, new render pipeline makes you have to redo all materials so probably no

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •