Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: settargetfps

  1. #1
    Tracker The Lorax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    0

    settargetfps

    Does anyone here bother increasing targetfps for a dedicated server?

  2. #2
    Tracker The Lorax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    0
    bump

  3. #3
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,349
    Rep Power
    1
    Huh? Is that even a thing? Since when do servers control the clients FPS?

  4. #4
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,835
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    Huh? Is that even a thing? Since when do servers control the clients FPS?
    I would assume he means the server fps, which you can change with a console command.

    standard rate is 20 fps, which means all entities, ticking blocks etc get a tick update 20 times a seconds.

  5. #5
    Tracker The Lorax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    0
    yeah, my understanding is the same as StompyNz's. I was just wondering if anyone changes it on their servers and if so what have they found from doing so. I change it on my server from time to time, currently running it at 120 without any issue.

  6. #6
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,349
    Rep Power
    1
    Wouldn't that be called tps (ticks per second)? I mean... frames per second requires displayed images per second.

  7. #7
    Tracker The Lorax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    Wouldn't that be called tps (ticks per second)? I mean... frames per second requires displayed images per second.
    Honestly, I feel the same way. Though, through my experiences with this game and some others. Servers sometimes use "FPS" as a metric instead of Tick. To this day, I still find this confusing.

  8. #8
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    18,370
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Fox View Post
    Wouldn't that be called tps (ticks per second)? I mean... frames per second requires displayed images per second.
    It's how Alloc explained it; basically the servers heartbeat. I don't believe changing it accomplishes anything. Like, at all.

  9. #9
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,349
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    It's how Alloc explained it; basically the servers heartbeat. I don't believe changing it accomplishes anything. Like, at all.
    Maybe it just helps burn calories faster.

  10. #10
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,835
    Rep Power
    1
    ticks is a fixed value, i.e. 20 ticks per second

    frames can vary based on server load, so it includes a deltaTime variable that gives the time elapsed since the last 'frame'.

    This is used for animation and gravity for example to determine how far to move. if anim was just based on ticks then it would get weird lag effects if the server got loaded etc.

    Some things, such as AI could potentially benefit from increased target fps. I'd have to do some tests to confirm that though.


    You could think of it as 'logic frames' rather than the more common 'render frame' for fps
    Last edited by StompyNZ; 04-20-2018 at 09:45 PM.

  11. #11
    Tracker The Lorax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    0
    If you do test that out, i'd be very interested in what you find. I've been keeping my server sitting now at 100 target FPS, I have found no "major" downside to doing this (It does require more CPU usage). People on my server have said that they found fighting zombies a bit more accurate (locations and attack syncing). This is a bit anecdotal though as I haven't done any actual testing myself.
    Last edited by The Lorax; 04-23-2018 at 10:20 AM.

  12. #12
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,349
    Rep Power
    1
    I wonder... could stutter issues be related to this?

    Topic of reference: https://7daystodie.com/forums/showth...hile-at-60-fps

  13. #13
    Guppycurian Forum Whore Guppycur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Enemy for life
    Posts
    18,370
    Rep Power
    1
    Fox. You don't read the dev diary anymore, huh... Search for kinyajuus last post or three.

  14. #14
    Colony Founder StompyNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3,835
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Kinyajuu View Post
    On stuttering:
    Pre A16, stutters were caused by a couple known things and possibly unknowns.

    The first known was that the UFPS camera was updating in the wrong order sometimes causing what would look like FPS lag while your FPS would still say 60fps. That one I fixed early on in A17 development so that will no longer be an issue. This would happen when the CPU's physics update would get out of sync with the game update so it was hard to track at first. I tried some random things until I stumbled onto something that kept those calculations in order.

    The other known is Garbage Collection. Prior to A17 we made a LOT of garbage and created a lot of new structs and method level vars during run time. We have now internally all started pushing vars to class members instead of making them in the methods. While it adds a tiny bit more to ram when creating the class initially, it doesn't need to destroy it every time the method is ran. The new effect system that runs buffs, progression, items, and events uses this setup so that processing a lot in one frame won't make a crapton of garbage from all those tiny bits adding up.

    There are probably more situations and such that have stuttering but those are the main ones I know about and that we've found and started working on reducing.

    For anyone curious, below are my system stats and I never have issues with any Unity based games, or any games for that matter.

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
    Processor: AMD FX-6300 Six Core Processor (6 CPU) ~3.5GHz
    Memory: 20480MB (yeah, I had an extra 4GB ram stick laying around lol)
    Video Card: GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
    Hard Drives: 512G SSD (2 of them), 2TB HDD

    I have windows installed on one of my SSDs and I keep all my games installed on the other.
    ....

  15. #15
    Leader Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Under the snow
    Posts
    5,349
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Guppycur View Post
    Fox. You don't read the dev diary anymore, huh... Search for kinyajuus last post or three.
    I never read the dev diary, I avoid that section of the forums like a plague.



    Thanks StompyNZ for saving me from having to go there and find the post.

    It took them 3 years to acknowledge and hopefully fix the worst of them, but at least it got done which is all that matters to me. But now I understand why women nag so much... it works.
    Last edited by Fox; 04-25-2018 at 01:16 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •